We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better than expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Logan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We needed only a place to put our heads for 4 night, not a fancy resort. We booked the Acorn based on the preponderance of good reviews on TripAdvisor, and on the advice of one review, booked the "single room". With only one Queen bed and two quite comfortable, large chairs, it was great!

The owner, is a very pleasant (if sometimes a bit hard to understand) and helpful chap, who lowered the price by $20 per night without our asking, in return for the 4 nght stay. For the price, basic and clean would have been fine, but the room was lovely! Spotlessly clean, large, comfortable and fully renovated. I've stayed in rooms at $200/night that did not match the quality and cleanliness of the Acorn Inn.

The bed was very comfortable and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Don't be fooled by the outside. This is an older hotel, that the new owner apparently closed for a half year, to completely renovate the place. We have friends on Whidbey Island, and you can bet we'll stay there, again!

Room Tip: If there are just two of you, go for the "single room". Nicely appointed, and one bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
59
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Enjoyed the cozy comfort at this non-descript inn near Oak Harbor's historic downtown. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The interior of the hotel was recently remodeled. The colors are warm and the furnishings tastefully plush. It's very obvious that the owner takes excellent care of the place: the room was spotless and the flowers outside were gorgeous. It is an excellent value for the money. Only things I'd change: We had the large 1-bedroom suite with jetted tub. When the cleaning staff cleaned the tub, they weren't aware that the jets need to be turned straight or down, not up. The back jets were pointed up and created a bit of a mess until I could get them adjusted. Also, as large as the living room is, it needs a game or small dining table and a couple of chairs to fill the space and create a pleasant spot for in-room breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last week. Reasonable rates, close to everything in Oak Harbor and the rooms were clean.
They also have a light continental breakfast in the lobby and had microwave and refrigerator (always a plus for families with kids).
The only minor complaint I had was that the TV remote kind'a sucked.. never worked right without having to point it to a receiver in line of sight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The owners were so nice and the rooms were very clean. Highly recommended! Don't be fooled by the outside of the hotel (it looks like it was built in the 70's) the inside has been fully renovated and our room was beautiful. We will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have great internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalcielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I felt like I was taking a gamble - seeing the low price - but it was amazing! Although we had to take our luggage up the stairs, the room was quite a surprise. They have all new top quality furniture, large flat screen tv, and granite countertops and modern fixtures. The whole building seemed elegant. Breakfast is the true definition of continental - no sitting area and only pastry and juice. But for the money, who's complaining!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent location, very clean. Helpful owner offers discounts for telephone bookings in off season. He stored our bikes in laundry room overnight. Great beds. You need to get your own coffee and breakfast from the Lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecompton, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This remodeled hotel is great, we actually had 1/2 of a duplex house as our room. It had everything and would be a fabulous place for a family to stay. The owner takes great care of his facility.

You can smoke outside but be careful to not place your exhausted pack or butts of cigarettes in the ash trays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fidalgo Country Inn
Fidalgo Country Inn
#7 of 10 in Anacortes
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Property: Acorn Motor Inn
Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-3172
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing