We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This remodeled hotel is great, we actually had 1/2 of a duplex house as our room. It had everything and would be a fabulous place for a family to stay. The owner takes great care of his facility.

You can smoke outside but be careful to not place your exhausted pack or butts of cigarettes in the ash trays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great location near shopping and restaurants. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was OK. Very friendly and warm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our family of 5 (Teens x 3) decided only 3 days before on a Whidbey Island vacation trip and so we relied on Tripadvisor for guidance. The Acorn Motor Inn had outstanding & positive reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms were newly renovated, clean, quite & comfortable. Gary, the owner and his team were truly hospitable and accomodating. A great place to crash each night (we were there 3 nites) after each day of exploring the island. The Inn's central location was fantastic, close to restaurats and grocery stores. The whole family loved it! Would stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I chose this motel based upon other TripAdvisor recommendations and even then, it really exceeded my expectations. My room was completely remodeled, with a huge flat screen TV, and the decorating was much more upscale than I expected, complete with nice touches you don't expect at this type of property, like real glassware instead of cheap plastic cups. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that my 2nd floor room was absolutely quiet, despite its location next to the stairwell and on the road side of the property. Everything was sparkling clean, too. I will definitely stay here next time I come to Whidbey!

The proprietor is right there on site and obviously takes a lot of well-founded pride in his property. Insider tip: He recommended calling the motel directly for better rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The perfect location, right across from Safeway, strip malls and many restaurants. Staff is friendly and incredibly helpful. The place is clean, very reasonable and comfortable. We couldn't have been happier! We will definitely be back and I highly recommend this place if you're in town!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We chose Acorn Motor Inn as lodging based on reviews and price. We weren't disappointed. The room was not the typical hotel/motel room: oriental style linens, drapes and chairs; huge TV on the wall; tile in the bathroom. Very quiet place to sleep and comfortable beds. The breakfast was very plain, but oh well. We grabbed an English muffin and were fine. The outside of the motel looks a bit plain, but don't worry. The inside is very nice. Also, the owner let me use his office computer to check my e-mail! When booking over the phone, be patient with the owner; English is not his first language. But he is so cute- after we had taken our luggage up to our 2nd floor room (no elevator, btw), he very proudly asked "And how do you like the room? Is it nice enough?" The price was so reasonable, and we had no problem making it to the 8:45 Coupesville-PT ferry the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxAggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked into the Acorn Motor Inn looking for affordability, based on other recommendations from travelers. The outside of the inn isn't anything spectacular, but inside has just a complete overhaul. When we checked in, I asked to not stay on the 1st floor (as I was worried about noise) and the manager said only the honeymoon suite was available upstairs. For a total of $99/night, we stayed in a BEAUTIFUL and spacious 2 room suite with a king bed and jetted tub. Everything was newly redone: marble countertops, antique furniture, brand new flat screen tvs. The owner and housekeeping staff were friendly and accommodating and our stay was excellent. We will surely stay there again next time.

Room Tip: I was very nervous about staying on the 1st floor. It's quite small and there is a lot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smacelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
77.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.6 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
633 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#3 of 6 in Oak Harbor
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-3172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $97 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acorn Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing