We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for location / situation. Breakfast lacking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acorn Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Oak Harbor B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for location / situation. Breakfast lacking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We are going on our 3rd stay at this Motel. Yes it's newly renovated and nice. If you ask "What's the price?" first over the phone and bargain you might get a better rate depending on the season. It is all renovated, etc. Rooms are nice, clean. Bathroom, shower are exceptional. Flat panel TV. Pillow top beds, etc. Great curtains for keeping out the light and some of the street traffic noise.

The only complaints I have is the breakfast offerings. Mediocre stuff from CostCo (hate those muffins!) and no Waffle machine, but it is enough to get you out the door and going. And the Internet WiFi is funky. Is is unlocked clear but you have to login with a one-time password good for your device (mac addr) only. They do have hard-wired ports in the room which is a great security feature for business travelers that require more security. I just can't get my traveling wireless router to work!!! :-(

And, yes, ESL (English as a Second Language) can be problematic but I had the same problem
with my immigrant grand mother! LOL!

We don't bring pets so I can't address the pet issue. Why would a pet issue be military? Seems to me they may treat PET OWNERS that don't adhere to the rules badly but not Military People!!! How does a pet owner know that their dog is not barking when they are NOT there? My neighbor would not believe me when I told him his dog barked (whined!) too much because it would stop as soon as it heard his car drive up.
It is close to the base. We usually check out a minute or two late and they don't bring it up.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet you may ask for a room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdJoeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
59
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermiston, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and myself were here for the military. We stayed at this hotel because they accepted pets. When we got here there were a million very stupid rules that had to do with the dogs. On our last day here I had to be taken to the Emergency Room. We received a call from the hotel owner stating that it was an emergency and we had to pay a fine for leaving our dogs alone in the hotel room. When we got back our dogs were laying down sleeping. They never barked, never tore anything up, never did anything they weren't supposed to do. This guy was YELLING at my veteran husband because we left the dogs alone. When we told him I had to go to the ER he said he didn't want to hear excuses. This guy is a huge jerk and everyone here speaks very poor English. We will NEVER be back here...and we are in the area A LOT for military purposes so he just lost out on a lot of money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seabeewife7n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeuthen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

A good location to discover the surroundings. Next to the hotel there is a laundry and a supermarket. The rooms were renovated recently and the hosts were friendly and helpful. A place to feel fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffinloverZeuthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very comfortable rooms with everything updated except the towels. New pillowtop beds. Friendly, helpful management. Convenient location as a base to tour the island. Convenient location for grocery store, walk to city park/beach and close to Seabolt's Seafood. Basic amenities, breakfast was enough to get us on the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Newly renovated with the highest quality Asian inspired furnishings, wallpaper, crown molding, and carpeting--all this with a huge TV, microwave, and refrigerator in room. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: No views but a wonderful stay in a convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alberta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place was great! Total update on the interior. The rooms were recently redecorated with new furniture and wallpaper.. beds are nice pillowtop style, very comfy!! Bring your hair dryer and the ammenities are sparse (no coffee maker in room). They do serve
coffee (Folgers) and Muffins bead or bagels (Costco style) in the lobby at 7am. They are the cheapest place on Oak Harbor. Its a good value for the area.
I hope they update the Exterior soon, the sign looks old and faded.

Room Tip: aarp discount and will take dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here after we got off the ferry from B.C. to Anacortes. The drive over Deception Pass was of interest and Oak Harbor has more amenities than Anacortes. The motel was beautifully decorated with new carpet, wallpaper, furnishings etc. The beds were very comfortable and it was a quiet location. Management was very kind. A great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
5.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auld Holland Inn
Auld Holland Inn
#4 of 6 in Oak Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Motor Inn

Property: Acorn Motor Inn
Address: 31530 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Motor Inn Was Completely Renovated Recently and Has #1 Luxury, New Upscale and The Most Beautiful Hotel Rooms in Oak Harbor and Whidbey Island.Free Hi-Speed Internet, free HBO channels, free continental breakfast, large flat screen TV, microwave and refrigerator in room, some kitchen units, honeymoon suite, centrally located, walk to city beach, few minutes to navy base, most reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing