We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Try the Food, It's Delish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabolts Smokehouse

Seabolts Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the Food, It's Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had the sampler & chips. I never knew fried fish could taste so good! The "samples" I got were cod, salmon, and halibut. From that day on, every piece of fried fish I eat will be compared to this one: was it as good as the fried fish at Seabolts?

I substituted a salad for the chips and was impressed that the salad wasn't iceberg based, which I very much appreciated since I prefer the greener, leafier varieties of lettuce.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    105
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best Clam Chowder that I have ever tasted!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We decided to give Seabolt's a try one day for lunch. When we arrived we discovered that the cafe was almost full. We were happy to have the hostess find us a table quickly, we thought that we would be waiting. The inside is very different than any Deli-Cafe that we have visited. There are cold cases around the room with all manner of seafood inside for sale. A person could stop in a buy Salmon, crab, mussels and many other types of seafood, take it home and cook it up themselves.
I ordered a salmon sandwich on a good deli roll, and the Clam Chowder. I am always trying clam chider, and this one was outstanding, excellent flavor and consistency. The chowder have a some bacon in it, wow, bacon in clam chider, I never would have thought of that. I told the waitress how much I enjoyed it and wished that I had ordered a bowl for lunch instead of a cup to go with my sandwich. Seabolt's also has a fish smoking business adjoining the cafe. Fisherman can bring their catch, there is a minimum weight, leave it and pick up fabulous smoked salmon, or whatever.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited this place on my visit to Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor in the recommendation of the hotel owner. I would definitely return. The best mussels and calamari I've eaten. Freshness of the seafood was evident. Great price and food. Obviously the locals all know it. Come in your jeans and enjoy the high quality of food!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroldill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This smokehouse/ fish market has a café area and great menu choices. We had crabcakes and fried prawns. Both were fresh and delicious; one of the best crabcakes ever. This is up the hill a bit from the old town shopping and seems to have a loyal local clientele. The employees were all friendly and helpful and we had a wonderful lunch here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmorhea, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh fish atmosphere with good food ample portions and friendly helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The clam chowder was the excellent! Fresh fried fish, crab cake good. Small dining area adjacent to a small smoked fish business. We enjoyed dinner and would recommend it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabolts Smokehouse also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Seabolts Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing