We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop on the way”

Deception Pass State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$268.86*
and up
Private Deception Pass Bridge Island Tour from Seattle
More Info
$117.83*
and up
Anacortes Whale Watching
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This isn't a lie: with over 30 miles of hiking trails, this park is one of the premier hiking destinations in the country.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stop on the way”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The view is amazing, If you look for a photo opportunity better, better not come in the morning because the sun is in the "wrong direction" and will damage your photos, generally to enjoy the scenery make sure it's not foggy day. There are parking lots on both side of the bridge, one of them has also restrooms, so stopping by is quiet easy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rami_Gideoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    192
    35
    14
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marengo, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We always enjoy it.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Love the views and get to see eagles at times. But to much walking if you are disabled but you can see a lot in your car.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although we did not spend any time staying at the park, the ride from Anacortes to Deception Pass was worth the trip. The views from the bridge are spectacular. Be sure to bring a good camera for the trip. Our first visit was on a cloudy, foggy day and the distant views were limited. However, we did return on a clear, cold, crisp day and the views were wonderful. You won't have to wonder very long as to why this area got its name when you see the swirling water beneath the bridge. Worth the trip is you are in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice intro to the woods of the Pacific Northwest”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The park was socked in by fog when I visited in mid October, so unfortunately, I missed out on the vistas from the bridge. But I had a great time exploring the mossy trails around North Beach.

The campsites were pretty standard (picnic table and fire pit). There are plenty of trees and foliage between you and the next site, so unless you have very noisy neighbors, the sites stay fairly quiet. It surprised me that the campground would fill up this late in the season - so it would be a good idea to make reservations. And you can do it on-line.

I got a bonus early the next morning on my way out of the park: It was still dark and the fog was pretty thick. I had stopped near the park entrance to pull out my map when I heard two owls calling to each other in the morning mist. I just had to pull over, turn off the engine and stay a while and listen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank earthdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Northwest Beauty”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What more could you ask for? Beach, lake, camping, hiking and a beautiful bridge! ALL in ONE place! You can watch boats, birds and people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deception Pass State Park also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Langley, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Deception Pass State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing