We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating area was a bit small but food was decent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

While the hotel wasn't the fanciest, it was clean and quiet. We checked in a bit on the later side but all was well with our room. The decor was decent and the pillows plentiful. The kids loved diving in the pillows. There was plenty of room to set up our portable crib. At first I couldn't find the fridge and microwave, but later located them in the armoire. Although the room wasn't super fancy, it was adequate. The pool area looked nice but the pool felt cold so we didn't use it. The breakfast was decent: eggs, biscuits, bacon, toaster waffles, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, toast, etc. There wasn't enough seating in the breakfast area and they even had tables outside the room that were all full too. People were sitting on the floor to eat! Now I know it was a weekend and I hear they had 177 people to feed that day, but a few more tables and/or a bigger eating area might be an idea. Hubby also complained that the food was cold even for him, and he normally doesn't mind. Wifi was good, no complaints there. In the morning we could hear the water running to someone else's shower while in our bathroom. Didn't wake us up or anything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heatherbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, Heatherbella. Your comments are welcomed and they will assist us as we continue to strive for excellence. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 495 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a really nice Best Western Plus hotel. It has really nice 'open areas' and provides a nice breakfast. It was very disappointing that the pool area was closed for a private party from 4-7 PM. Guest rates should have been partially credited since the were barred from the pool area during prime time. The lobby computer is ex tremely slow and risky to use. It still runs under Windows XP, an operating system no longer supported by Microsoft.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Ira R, Thank You for selecting the Best Western PLUS and submitting a review. We are happy you found the Best Western PLUS to be a really nice hotel. However, WE SINCERELY APOLOGIZE for the pool not being available from 4-7 PM and disappointing you. This concern will be addressed for future events of this kind. THANK YOU once again for staying with us and do come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel, friendly people. Best hotel on our 15 day tour of the west. Lots of things to do and see. Even on a cloudy day the weather was good. Sunny days were great. A must place to visit. All places easy to get to. Trip on the ferry is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hello Jerry M, we are soo happy that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western PlUS, found it to be a Great hotel and friendly people. Thanks for such as awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Every time we stay here we have a good experience the hotel is very clean. And has always been quiet too. Even though we are going to an motorcycle event. The staff are very friendly and helpful every time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harleyd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Greetings Harleyd0, it is always so Wonderful to have you stay with us. It was very thoughtful of you to submit this kind review. Thanks for mentioning the friendly, helpful staff, the good experience every time and clean hotel. Thank you Harleyd0.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here three nights and enjoyed the nice, comfortable bed. The Hotel is close to the air base, but our sleep was not disturbed by the military aircraft using the nearby airfield. We had a ground floor room. Friends on the upper floors said that the elevator was slow, but that is only a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OldsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hi OldsGuy, Thank You for choosing the Best Western PLUS . We sincerely appreciate you staying with us for three nights, we look forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although their were a few minor problems, I've almost always stayed at Best Western and have been satisfied for the last 30 years. Oak Harbor has done an excellent job on the big items(price and quality) but probably needs a "Lead House Keeper' to do to ensure rooms meet the highest of standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Hi Ric, Best Western PLUS SINCERELY APPRECIATES YOU staying with us for the past 30 years. We also thank you for taking the time to complete this review. Your comments will assist us with implementing improvements and better procedures. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent location, friendly staff and great room experience make Oak Harbor Best Western different than other hotels around Whidbey island area. The fresh cookies and hot coffee/tea makes us surprised when we came back from raining outside. It's very easy for clients to go most of attractive place if you choose Best Western Oak Harbor. I mean, it's a 10 ~ 20 mins drive distance no matter it's for beautiful fireworks or sea view on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Greetings Lisa I, We appreciate you staying with us at the Best Western Plus and do hope you will visit us again very soon. Your review motivate us to continue to strive for excellence, Thank you so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
276 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
343 reviews
21.4 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8713 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $108 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel and China City Restaurant is located on the property. King and queen bed rooms are available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing