We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Harbor Plaza & Convention Center - Oak Harbor, WA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very nice place to stay with a beautiful setting among the trees. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Bed was comfortable and everything worked correctly in the room and bath. Filling breakfast with eggs, bacon, etc. but no waffles. Easy to find hotel. They even had warm freshly baked cookies upon arrival! Nice touch. We would definitely consider staying here again whenever we get back to Whidby Island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Your description of our location is excellent. I am thrilled to read your stay with us was positive and you will definitely consider staying with us again. Thank you for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 499 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have no qualms about this hotel, everything was as expected for a Best Western. Staff was friendly, and room furniture was fairly updated. Flat screen TV was a nice bonus as well. There was the standard stuff at the complementary breakfast. Oak Harbor is in no way any sort of destination, (we used it as a stopping point from Portland to Orcas Island) so staying there more than one night might have just done me in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Eva B, Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus and placing this review. If and when you are in the area we do hope you will stay with us.


I have no qualms about this hotel, everything was as expected for a Best Western. Staff was friendly, and room furniture was fairly updated. Flat screen TV was a nice bonus as well. There was the standard stuff at the complementary breakfast. Oak Harbor is in no way any sort of destination, (we used it as a stopping point from Portland to Orcas Island) so staying there more than one night might have just done me in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place boasts being voted "best accommodation on Whidbey" which as far as I can tell must just stem from the fact that the most people have stayed there. It's a fine chain hotel--comfortable beds, clean, good service, but certainly nothing special. Our room had a bit of a funky smell. Being close to the air force base we heard loud planes constantly until about 1am, but that's nothing they can control. The pool was minuscule and not tempting to us since it seemed crowded with just 2 people already in there. Breakfast was not great--the usual selection of sugary pastries and overly fluffy/watered down eggs--but it did the job. We chose this place because it was significantly cheaper than a lot of places in the area, but I think next time we might spring for a little more charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightowlcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are happy that you found the beds comfortable, clean and good service. We will investigate that funky smell you mentioned and make sure its no longer present. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at Best Western Oak Harbor for two nights in August. The hotel was clean, beds comfortable, good air conditioner and staff friendly and responsive. The first room we were given had a funky smell but they gave us another room right away, which was fine. The pool is very, very small and the water very cold but that didn't seem to bother the kids. The free breakfast was adequate, not great. A nice bonus is the Chinese restaurant next door. Good food and service and you don't have to drive to dinner. For the price, location and general cleanliness of the hotel, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunsi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We are very pleased that you found our hotel clean, beds were comfortable, good air conditioner, the staff were friendly and responsive. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

When our tour group checked in about 5 pm, none of our room keys worked and several of the rooms hadn't been cleaned. The young man at the front desk was overwhelmed. There was a sign hanging out in front that said something about it being the best motel which we figured should be removed. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the view I had of the garden area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We do apologize for the room keys not functioning and several of your rooms not ready for your arrival. This is certainly not the way we want our guests to began their stay. Our staffing procedures will be reviewed and changes implemented as necessary. Again we do sincerely apologize and Thank you for your review.


When our tour group checked in about 5 pm, none of our room keys worked and several of the rooms hadn't been cleaned. The young man at the front desk was overwhelmed. There was a sign hanging out in front that said something about it being the best motel which we figured should be removed. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the view I had of the garden area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room is clean, well maintained, and everything works. Water pressure in the shower (even on the top floor) is outstanding!! Breakfast hostess is a total sweetheart, and the breakfast was just fine.

The exercise room is a total joke, so don't waste your time with that. The pool is very plain, and appears almost an afterthought. It's very small, and ice-cold. The hot tub also is very small, and will seat four comfortably, but if there are any more, you become a little too familiar with your new friends.

The laundry is actually in another building well away from the hotel itself, but there is no charge to use it, so that's a real plus.

You have the option to ask the maid service to leave extra items (shampoo, coffee, towels, etc.) and that's a nice thing to have.

Bed pillow was nice and soft, but REALLY thick, so I had difficulty with it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side of the hotel to be away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Parsnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for the review and for pointing out areas that requires more attention. We do apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay with us. However, we will do our utmost to improve in all the areas you have mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean, nicely serviced. No issues really except that outside windows needed to be cleaned. Breakfast was ok. If I were in the area again, I would come back. It's conveniently close to Deception Pass.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCIAlumni1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you UCIAlumni 1991 for the review. You mentioned the outside windows needed to be cleaned and we will remedy this immediately. Thank you for pointing this out to us and for also indicating that you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
7.2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
9 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
455 reviews
14.6 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8713 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $100 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel and China City Restaurant is located on the property. King and queen bed rooms are available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing