We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a good place to stay on Whidbey Island. We only stayed for one night to spend 2 days on Whidbey Island. This hotel is centrally located on Whidbey Island with a good variety of restaurants and stores near by. The hotel is close to both Fort Casey state park and Deception Pass state park.

Room Tip: I would recomend the higher floors. The ground level floors were a bit musty.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrousTortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Hello and Thanks for the feedback. I do apologize for not having all floors meet the high standards which we strive for daily. Your concerns will be addressed and improved upon immediately. Thanks also for mentioning the Best Western Plus as being a good place to stay when on Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor, WA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 487 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were impressed by the spacious rooms and comfortable beds and chairs of this chain hotel.
The water pressure in the shower was good.
The breakfast appeared to be well received although a little wider choice of cereal would have been welcome. No waffles or pancakes.
Hotel is situated at the north end of the town and unfortunately appeared to be directly under the flight path for the naval aircraft that fly low over the Island both early and late. This may not be a regular occurrence and would be true of all the hotels on the area.
This could be a good stopover for anyone needing to be in the area.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooks a quite busy road
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you. Your business is much appreciated and we will continue to do our very best to exceed your expectations. Your continued reservations and recommendations are an important part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.

Thanks again! We look forward to serving you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I didn't stay long, just pulled off the I5 for the night. I wasn't expecting much thought it was just a average hotel, I thought I was at a resort, very nice looking place, restaurant, cafe, very well kept.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank WILLIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are excited that we were able to exceed your expectations. Consider us home when you are visiting Oak Harbor, WA. Thank you for posting your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just completed a 14-night stay at this hotel while in Oak Harbor on business. The hotel is centrally-located on the main road (State Route 20 or WA-20) and within walking distance to many restaurants (including China City next door), an outdoor market (late afternoon/early evening), and a track.

Room 201 is next to the ice machine. The noise did not bother me so much as how dark the room is. The photos posted by management in the TA listing are definitely misleading in terms o the amount of light in the room. I mean, the sun rose by 6 a.m. and did not set until close to 9 p.m., and we had more sunny days than rain during my stay, but I still thought the room was too dark. Internet was fine until the last two nights of my stay, when I would just disconnect randomly. It was frustrating as I was trying to do reports for work. The exercise room is on the second floor and consists of two treadmills. There are no windows in the room and although there is an electric fan, the room always smelled of old sweat. You'll do better walking the track for better air circulation. At least there is a water cooler in the exercise room. The other thing I did not like about the Best Western is that the front doors are not sliding doors, so it was a challenge when check in and out with multiple luggage.

The reception staff were always nice and friendly. The computer and printer in the business center area worked when I needed them to. I loved the breakfast buffet because they served bacon ever other day (in my ideal world, bacon would be served daily). This was much better fare than the Residence Inns where I've stayed lately, where the only serve sausages. The breakfast buffet also had a variety of juices, muffins, bagels and cereal.

This is a convenient place to stay if doing business at NAS Whidbey.

Room Tip: I hear the third floor has higher ceilings and may let more light in
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCC_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Lacey1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Your experience with this Best Western Plus was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. I am sorry that we did not fulfill that promise. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Reserved this motel from our home after looking about area attractions and mileage to them. We were not disappointed with this motel. Our room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good and big selection. We enjoyed the drive to this motel and the accessibility to attractions. As always, enjoyed the evening cookies. Always a plus when returning in the evening and a warm cookie is waiting for you. No negative things to say about our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebirdsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Lacey1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were told by the booking agent that this hotel was 17 miles from Mount Veron (my husband was in the ride to conquer cancer and we wanted a hotel close to their overnight accommodation) It was 17 miles as the crow flies! And well over 45 minutes from Mount Vernon. The area and the drive to the hotel were amazing, but not as close by as we were lead to believe. Hotel was nice but front staff on arrival could have been more helpful as we arrived late and hungry and he could not suggest a place to eat that may still be open after 9pm. There were quite a few we found out. Especially a nice Mexican place. Overall the hotel was clean and quiet and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Lacey1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I do apologize for your unpleasant experience. I assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and staff will become more knowledgeable of surrounding area. Please feel welcome at this hotel in your future travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a typical experience from a chain hotel. The room the clean, the staff was friendly. The only thing that stood out was the free breakfast - a much bigger selection than I had anticipated. Not a bad place to have a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lobby.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Kudlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Lacey1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience by posting this review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
75.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
271 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Oak Harbor
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8713 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $124 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel and China City Restaurant is located on the property. King and queen bed rooms are available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing