We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Harbor Plaza just skims by....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My experience was not all the great. The check-in was a bit subpar. Not all that friendly. The room and bed was okay! The room had a microwave and fridge but I think they were props for how well they worked. I found a few things that housekeeping skipped or missed. The place seems worn and dated. The wi-fi was not as good as it should be. The same old fats and carbs at breakfast. The glass doors that face out back were nice to get the stuff in and out. I am glad I was just there for one night. The only time I got any friendly word was at check-out. A little late when it's at check out!
After a long day and an early start the next day - a friendly pleasant greeting - a room that has everything promised and in working order - and a decent breakfast to send us off in the morning. How hard is that? The Harbor Plaza just skims by on the Best Western Plus. I am being generous with just an "Average" ranking. It's like staying at a "Average" Mom and Pop hotel. I wouldn't stay here again. If I ever got stuck in Oak Harbor again I would shop around, better yet keep driving.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightingBolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 493 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

2nd visit in less than a year to Oak Harbor. Stayed in Candlewood Suites first time and this time opted for Best Western. Much better all around - larger lobby, complimentary breakfast, accomodating staff and cookies in the afternoon! The stairway layout is perplexing so I mostly used elevator. Would stay here again if and when I need to return to Oak Harbor. My stay was 3 days and I would easily have been confortable staying longer.

Room Tip: I asked for and was offered a second floor room on the back side of the hotel. Nice and relatively q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel is right on the highway, so forget about breathtaking views, but it provided everything we needed. Staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spotless and the morning free breakfast buffet was better than most. The wifi was flawless and provided a strong signal. We wish the pool and hot tub had been indoors--we weren't willing to be outside on a chilly evening to soak in the tub. Other than that, we couldn't find a thing wrong with this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside--very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel was the closest Best Western to the anacortes Ferry terminal Approximately 30 minute drive. The staff was very good and the accomodation is located close to good restauraunts. We would have preferred a Best Western closer to the ferry teminal bu that was not to be...one thing to add the pool was outdoors (not open) outdoor hot tub was operating.

Room Tip: Once again ground level, tis hotel islocated close to Whidby Island air station...plenty of jet nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitanVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Room was large and comfortable. Amenities were great. Staff was fantastic- pointed out some inexpensive touristy stuff to see along the route I had to travel the next day. The only negative part of the whole place was the PTAC heater/AC unit was kinda loud, but that may have been isolated to my room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspectorMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I recently stayed here on a work trip and enjoyed my stay.The staff were very accommodating and they were very friendly. The hotel room seemed to be clean and had the basic amenities.

I had a room that faced the back parking lot so it was very quiet and I got a good night's sleep.

Internet is a little difficult to figure out but isn't impossible to deal with.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank KellyB317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

By strangely set-up I mean the bed was in one corner of the room and TV was on the other side. You had to lay sideways on the bed to watch TV or drag the desk chair across the room to sit in front of the TV. The staff were the best part of the stay, very helpful, even if they couldn't figure out how to get the WIFI to work in the room, they certainly tried hard. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sniraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Harbor
75.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
7.2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
274 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
Swinomish Casino & Lodge
#4 of 10 in Anacortes
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acorn Motor Inn
Acorn Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Oak Harbor
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 33175 State Route 20, Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, WA 98277-8713 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harbor Plaza and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Oak Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Harbor
Price Range: $111 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Harbor - Whidbey Island Located 1 mile from NAS Whidbey Island, Base 6 miles from deseption pass bridge. AAA 3 diamond hotel and China City Restaurant is located on the property. King and queen bed rooms are available. Go whale watching or sit on one of the many beaches located on the north end of Whidbey Island. Rates vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Hotel Oak Harbor
Best Western Oak Harbor
Oak Harbor Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing