We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Walden House Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Newport B&B and Inns
Creston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 27, 2009

A wonderful family place. Very roomy common areas with nice touches. Rooms with themes and wonderfully appointed. Spotlessly clean, A++++

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdirondackTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greve in Chianti, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

With family located in Newport, WA, we spend a lot of time there and now it's nice to have a place to stay that is perfect in every way.
They have done a fantastic job putting this house together to make guests feel at home. It's warm and very inviting. Your hosts are wonderful and make you feel like part of the family immediately.
We spent so much time talking with the host one morning, we made him a little late with breakfast prep so we pitched in to help. Just made us feel like we were part of the family.
We had the Americano room. We walked in to a gorgeously arranged room. Everything was so clean and the theme was all red, white and blue.
Like everyone, we just want to have a clean room and comfy bed. We got a lot more from the Walden House.
The rooms were immaculate and the beds, OH MY, we just melted into them as we fell fast asleep. They didn't spare any expense. The mattresses are top of the line with lots of very perfect pillows.
They allowed us to check out the other rooms that were empty when we were there and they are just as beautifully decorated.

Now, one poster took a slight shot at their breakfast. If you are like those folks, one that feels like everything should be absolutely perfect on your vacation, then I just have one question for you. "What color is it in your world"?
Their breakfast isn't breakfast at the Ritz but why would I expect it to be when I'm out in the sticks of Newport WA. They serve you a hearty breakfast, usually of your choice, and won't stop serving you until your happy and full.
We enjoyed the company of our host and the other guests while enjoy a wonderful breakfast with lots of fruit and wonderful coffee.
It was a great way to start our day.

If your going to the Newport area, trust us, you won't regret staying with these folks. They earned our future business and I know they'll do the same for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The kind and gracious host and hostess showed me at least 7 or 8 rooms. All were nicely appointed and spotless. I enjoyed the hearty breakfast served in the kitchen overlooking the hot tub. The place is perfectly located near the center of town and steps away from spectacular hiking trails. It would be a great spot to start or finish the Selkirk Loop which spans Washington, Idaho, and Canada. Personable and informative staff.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bifso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is their first year and the property is still undergoing construction. Landscaping is zero, but the hot tub out back is great in the evening. No view, but near wooded hiking trails and pretty views of the water down the road. The property is located on the edge of town. Beds are above average and completed rooms are nicely decorated. Owners are happy to accomodate special requests. Breakfasts are "basic" with plenty of food....lacking in culinary imagination. They are trying ...

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — same breakfast we get at home & overpriced for location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificaWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
12.4 mi away
Stoneridge Resort
Stoneridge Resort
#1 of 1 in Blanchard
111 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
7.7 mi away
Inn at the Lake
Inn at the Lake
#1 of 3 in Newport
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Antler Motel
Newport Antler Motel
#3 of 5 in Newport
14 reviews
5.9 mi away
Eagle's Nest Motel
Eagle's Nest Motel
#1 of 1 in Priest River
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden House Inn

Property: The Walden House Inn
Address: 631 N Warren Ave, Newport, WA 99156-9759
Location: United States > Washington > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury rooms, covered outdoor spa, and spacious common areas make the Walden House a place you will return to again and again. A large back yard with volley ball/badminton net, and separate children play area make it ideal for weddings and reunions. A public boat launch is just 3/4 mile away. You can walk one block from the Walden house and enter 6 miles of national forest hiking/walking trails. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing