We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neighborhood treasure”

Bailey's Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Nahcotta
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“neighborhood treasure”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Go for the sandwiches, which are well-made. But the pies and desserts are their reason for being, and they definitely make their own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Go there on a Friday for their Clam Chowder!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

On a recent trip to the Long Beach Peninsula we had lunch at Bailey's Bakery and Cafe in Nahcotta. It is a small place with limited outside seating.

My sandwich was very good...a Ham Panini offered as a Daily Special. We were there on a Friday when they offer their homemade Clam Chowder. It was VERY good. There were actually quite a few CLAMS in the Chowder. Nowadays that's unusual...!! My wife selected the Tuna Salad Wrap with a fresh Tomato Gazpacho Soup...also very tasty.

Except for Bailey's there are only a few coffee shop-type of restaurants in nearby Ocean Park. Otherwise you may have to go all the way down to the 42nd Street Cafe in Seaview for a nice lunch. We did stop at Jimilla's Seafood Market in Klipsan Beach on the way over to Bailey's, but they seem to have odd hours and may not be open for lunch any more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yummy scones!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Gotta do it...or you may miss the best scones ever. Yes it is small, but the pastries are so very yummy. If you enjoy quality, this is it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllAboutAdventure19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Sunday Morning Special”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sundays at Baileys offers the most exclusive sweet roll in the world, the soon to be famous "Thunder Buns". They melt in your mouth.
But only 24 are available each Sunday, and they typically sell out before 9:15. Sometimes people call the day ahead and pay over the phone just to make sure they get theirs.
Yes the workers and owner could be nicer and more on top of things, and the service could be quicker, but what is the rush?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottscharlton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth the stop but they could do more.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is fantastic area to visit generally. One of the largest clam producing regions in the world. Who knew? This little roadside bakery takes you back to the 1920s and 1930s. It was a nice experience overall but the owners/staff don't enhance it unfortunately. We agree with the previous reviewer here in that they seemed a bit distant, aloof and uninterested. They weren't nasty or anything but I got "the look" when I tried to find out how the avocado was applied to my grilled cheese sandwich. Fair question: Is it cut up slices or a paste or what exactly? Never mind it was a very good plain grilled cheese and the lentil and bacon soup was excellent though I should have had the cup instead of the bowl as it was huge. We also had the grilled chicken and pesto sand which which was very good as well. Total bill with drinks was $28.00. A little expensive as the other reviewer has noted.

All in all it's worth the trip because this area of Nahcoota and Oysterville is so enchanting and this is a nice little rest stop. Staff need to fight off the village mentality and embrace their guests a little and this would be the perfect experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bailey's Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing