We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nahcotta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Nahcotta B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very friendly”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Got a very personal greeting on arrival which was nice.Room was fine except for rattly bed !! The waterfront at back of hotel is lovely ..quite a wild nature reserve. Hotel is small but has a long history.Breakfast, while nice, is a little over-rated !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savystayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were committed to 2 nights stay. The breakfasts were great. Unfortunately the bathroom had not been cleaned in months with mold & mildew & the room was dusty. Overall the facility needed cleaning & maintenance. This was probably a great place in its day but it has fallen into disrepair.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atravelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very nice stay. Great breakfast. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

If you read reviews about this place and look at the details on their website you should get no surprises. Likes: Staff / owner, Breakfast, garden, Deck in the back, atmosphere, chickens, local food, advice from the staff. Dislikes: Crack in the plaster in our room, not entirely clear that we would be able to hear our neighbors go to the bathroom (but to be fair, if you read on the website, the room we had could be converted to a suite with another room), having to schedule use of the sauna.
We had a European room (bath in the hall). I was concerned about this, but there was no waiting or lack of pressure or hot water. In addition to at least one full public bath, there are at least 2 other half baths in the hotel. We received excellent advice to watch the fireworks from a third floor bar at the beach instead of hanging out in the cold at the beach. Breakfast was the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I spent a pleasant and relaxing three days at the Moby Dick Hotel while visiting the Long Beach Peninsula during the Thanksgiving Holiday. A quite rural setting in a wooded environment along with a view of Wilapa Bay made for a relaxing time. After an inspiring sunrise over the bay, a breakfast of eggs from the chicken coop and hash browns made with potatoes freshly dug from the organic garden out front gets the day started right. At night, a cosy fire in the down stairs den area makes a great way to finish the day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeluVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Very relaxing and a good place just to get away from the city!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Znugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We have a mixed review for the Moby Dick and its proprietors/staff:
The tiny town of Nahcotta does not have much going on, but what it does have is not half bad! There is a great access point for the huge public (ocean) beach, which was a wonderful 4 minute drive away for us and our 2 dogs. Truly, this was the highlight of our time there- walking the beach with them. Also, Long Beach is not that far away, and it does have plenty going on!

Unfortunately, the bay "beach" at the Moby Dick is non-existent; it is all marshy grass, then water. Also unfortunately, due to pesticide use in the bay, the Moby Dick was harvesting/serving NO oysters, something we knew before going but was still somewhat disappointing.

Our room was alright, but the fan/light quit working right almost as soon as we got there, so we used the bedside lamps for the duration of our stay (2 nights). We paid $40 extra for our dogs to stay with us.

We ate 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner there, and these, too, had their good points and bad points. The good point was the food- it was very good. The bad point was the service- it was SO SLOW. There was one lady serving everyone, and although she was pleasant, it was very hard not to get resentful when breakfast took an hour and 15 minutes each morning and we had to get our own coffee most of the time. Considering the prices at the Moby Dick, there is no good reason to have that level of service going on in their dining room.

Finally, there was a vague feeling at this hotel that "nobody was home" or that the inmates were running the asylum. :) If we hadn't chanced to run into one of the owners when we arrived, I have no idea where we would have found anyone to check us in, etc. Some guests may like this scenario, but we found it kind of strange. In the future, we will probably choose a place in Long Beach instead of the Moby Dick.

  • Liked — very comfortable bed, good food
  • Disliked — slow service in dining room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahcotta
6.8 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
8.8 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
261 reviews
10.0 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Campbell House at Klipsan Beach
0.2 mi away
Charles Nelson Guest House
Charles Nelson Guest House
#2 of 6 in Ocean Park
59 reviews
8.2 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm

Property: Moby Dick Hotel and Oyster Farm
Address: 25814 Sandridge Road, P.O. Box 82, Nahcotta, WA 98637
Location: United States > Washington > Nahcotta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nahcotta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing