We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-a-way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistlin' Jack Lodge
Reviewed November 5, 2012

While exploring Mount Rainier, we had the opportunity to stay at this great little rustic lodge. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. The location is just beautiful and the sounds of the river was so peaceful. Our dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were very good. We were there on a Firday night and enjoyed the live music and dancing in the little bar. Evidently a lot of locals enjoy it also. This will be a place that we will certainly visit again.. Thankyou Whistlin' Jack for the great visit and great hospitality...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

In keeping with other reviews of Whistlin' Jack Lodge, I would have to agree it was a mixed bag overall, although our experience was generally quite positive. Some aspects were amazing--the location, the beautiful scenery (we were there for peak foliage colors), the relative peace and quiet, the basic comfort of the cottage in which we stayed. Our unit had several beds, all of which were exceedingly comfortable and must have been fairly new. The place was relatively clean and well-supplied with the kinds of things you need to stay in a cabin for a weekend getaway. A couple of big irritations: all plumbing was excruciatingly slow, which meant that you ended up standing in several inches of water when you showered, and had to wait for water to drain when you used either the sink in the bathroom or in the kitchen. And I honestly have dishtowels that are bigger and thicker than the bath towels provided! Fortunately, there were a bunch of them; we each used several for each shower. Another major pain was the fact that there were light switches everywhere but in the most logical places, and most of them didn't actually seem to control anything. By the end of our 2-day stay, we had figured out most of them, but there were still some lights we couldn't use, and some switches that didn't seem connected to either lights or outlets. Oh well...There was a large hot tub on the deck, and it looked really inviting, although it was cold and raining or sleeting most of the time we were there, so we didn't brave it. But I did open it hopefully, and it seemed to be clean and in good working order.

Our dinner at the lodge restaurant was delicious, but the service was definitely sub-par. We were there nearly two hours from start to finish, although there were only maybe five tables occupied the entire time. The last 20 minutes or so of this time was due to the fact that our server apparently ran into some old friends (not in the restaurant itself, but in an adjoining area) and basically forgot that she was supposed to serving actual paying customers. Only the fact that it was raining outside (and we weren't eager to head back outside to trek to our cabin) kept us sitting at the table all that time! A similar thing happened when we went to check out: there were quite a few people milling around in the reception area waiting, but no one was in sight to help us. I had to go back to the restaurant to find someone to help us so we could leave. We had a better experience on Saturday afternoon eating a late lunch in the bar; the food was quite good, and the service was at least acceptable.

We wanted a relaxing time away from it all, and that's exactly what we got. Despite the inconveniences and the fact that we kept getting the message that no one wanted to let us pay them, we had a wonderfully relaxing stay, and will definitely return. To other travelers considering Whistlin' Jack's, I would encourage you to expect accommodations that may be a bit more rustic than what you're used to, but they're nicer, roomier, and more comfortable than many other places in this area! If you need more than a hot tub on the deck or the natural beauty of the river and mountains, be sure to bring your own entertainment, as there are no TV's, phones or cell phone reception in the cabins (although we were able to get it in the bar, where there are also TV's). And seriously, bring your own bath towels!!

Room Tip: The Naches Cottage was close to the lodge/restaurant/bar and also close to the river, with a gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food was really good. The selection was well-rounded and we found meals that met our tastes. The window settings offered a great view of the river. I was pleasantly surprised that the restaurant had wi-fi, which is a major plus. The waitress provided the password.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Strifez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I recently stopped by for dinner on my way back from Mount Rainier. This is a tradition for our family after spending the day hiking in the national park. I have stopped many times and the food is always good.

Most recently I had a glazed pork loin which was exceptional. A small sample of soup, small salad and very large dinner roll came with it as well as roasted potatoes which were also very good. My son had chicken marsala which he said was good also.

Admittedly the service can be underwhelming but the view of the river with a window seat makes up for the wait or sometimes less than smiling service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SunnysideDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stopped in today 8/11/12, The place was not to busy maybe 25 customers, Dont know about the bar area tho- no matter we were told it would be a few minutes to order>> ok no problem, 15 minutes later we ordered, 30 minutes later we got semi warm food, 15 minutes later we recieved the rest of our order. Young man filling water went past us a few times, he finally filled 2 of the 4 glasses he never came back. Waitress was a bit snotty, deffinatley not a people person! heard her tell 3 customers that there was no room, but yet there were 8 empty tables??? That seated 4, Dont waste your time or money going here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank harleylady47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Now Whistlin Jack Lodge is not full of luxuries but its clean and is in an excellent position to explore Mount Rainer National Park. Its not fancy and has no television ( hooray ) but we enjoyed staying there. Its rustic and has character, don't go expecting 5 star because its not but if you stay in one of the riverfront rooms, with huge window seats which overlook the Naches river and want peace to chill out, then hopefully you to will enjoy your stay. We had 2 meals in the restaurant which were both good although not cheap. The deli is also good for snacks to take away if you just want a snack. Gas is also available. Like all accommodations and restaurants near a national park at times it can get busy so aim to eat early to avoid waiting etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry and Nicol... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Like another reviewer said, "Nothing to write home about." We didn't spend the night there. We only ate lunch. It was extreamly busy. Took forever to get our order taken. People were recieving food that I would have ordered, but it was not on the menu. The food was overpriced, and it was so-so. The waitress was not personable. Did not come back to check on us, but she checked on other tables close by. I will not be going there again anytime soon. My husband went back later for lunch again, and had a better experience when it came to service. That is why I am rating it an average instead of lower.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whistlin' Jack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlin' Jack Lodge

Address: 20800 State Route 410, Naches, WA 98937-9170
Location: United States > Washington > Naches
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Naches
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Whistlin` Jack Hotel Naches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing