We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food, outstanding view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whistlin' Jack Lodge

Whistlin' Jack Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistlin' Jack Lodge
Save
You added Whistlin' Jack Lodge to your Saves list
20800 State Route 410, Naches, WA 98937   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, outstanding view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The food was really good. The selection was well-rounded and we found meals that met our tastes. The window settings offered a great view of the river. I was pleasantly surprised that the restaurant had wi-fi, which is a major plus. The waitress provided the password.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Strifez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    4
    15
    5
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I recently stopped by for dinner on my way back from Mount Rainier. This is a tradition for our family after spending the day hiking in the national park. I have stopped many times and the food is always good.

Most recently I had a glazed pork loin which was exceptional. A small sample of soup, small salad and very large dinner roll came with it as well as roasted potatoes which were also very good. My son had chicken marsala which he said was good also.

Admittedly the service can be underwhelming but the view of the river with a window seat makes up for the wait or sometimes less than smiling service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnysideDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stopped in today 8/11/12, The place was not to busy maybe 25 customers, Dont know about the bar area tho- no matter we were told it would be a few minutes to order>> ok no problem, 15 minutes later we ordered, 30 minutes later we got semi warm food, 15 minutes later we recieved the rest of our order. Young man filling water went past us a few times, he finally filled 2 of the 4 glasses he never came back. Waitress was a bit snotty, deffinatley not a people person! heard her tell 3 customers that there was no room, but yet there were 8 empty tables??? That seated 4, Dont waste your time or money going here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harleylady47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Now Whistlin Jack Lodge is not full of luxuries but its clean and is in an excellent position to explore Mount Rainer National Park. Its not fancy and has no television ( hooray ) but we enjoyed staying there. Its rustic and has character, don't go expecting 5 star because its not but if you stay in one of the riverfront rooms, with huge window seats which overlook the Naches river and want peace to chill out, then hopefully you to will enjoy your stay. We had 2 meals in the restaurant which were both good although not cheap. The deli is also good for snacks to take away if you just want a snack. Gas is also available. Like all accommodations and restaurants near a national park at times it can get busy so aim to eat early to avoid waiting etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry and Nicol... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Like another reviewer said, "Nothing to write home about." We didn't spend the night there. We only ate lunch. It was extreamly busy. Took forever to get our order taken. People were recieving food that I would have ordered, but it was not on the menu. The food was overpriced, and it was so-so. The waitress was not personable. Did not come back to check on us, but she checked on other tables close by. I will not be going there again anytime soon. My husband went back later for lunch again, and had a better experience when it came to service. That is why I am rating it an average instead of lower.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We decided to spend at night at Whistlin' Jacks after reading an article in the Seattle Times about touring the area to enjoy the fall colors. The lodge and restaurant were both favorably mentioned and we decided to give it a try.

We started off our day with a hike in the Chinook Pass area, which is lovely and not to be missed. We enjoyed our 3 1/2 mile hike on the Naches Peak Loop trail-- beautiful day, beautiful scenery. After an afternoon of exploring we headed down to Whistlin' Jacks to have dinner and relax.

We understood that the lodge was pretty basic and we are not luxury travelers. That said, we found the place to be depressing. Technically everything seemed to be clean-- but I just couldn't shake the feeling that it wasn't. Perhaps it's because our room was so outdated and run-down. It just wasn't comfortable to hang out there.

We did enjoy the shared outdoor hot tub. Luckily no one else was using it at the time, as it is quite small. We were surprised that there was no sign up list for shared hot tub use.

We did eat in the restaurant (there is nothing else around!) for both dinner and breakfast. I must say my expectations were low and I was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the river and the wait staff were helpful. While I did not expect many vegetarian choices I was surprised that the only veggie item on the dinner menu was a spinach salad-- I figured there would at least be a veggie burger or pasta dish! That said, the salad was actually pretty good. At breakfast there were more vegetarian choices, and my husband had a wonderful veggie eggs benedict. The food was a little overpriced, but not the greasy spoon I had feared.

Overall, our stay at Whistlin' Jacks wasn't bad. But was it worth it? For us it wasn't. We would have had a much more enjoyable trip if we had just headed back home after our lovely hike in the mountains. If you happen to end up in the area and need a basic, clean place to spend the night, go for it. I don't know that you'll find any better choices in the immediate area (besides camping). But if you don't really need to stay overnight in the area, don't.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hiker_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Took our grandkids to Mt Rainier for some hiking this summer...decided on Whistlin' Jack's because it was one of the closest places on the Yakima side of the mt. to stay and because my parents had actually honeymooned there 67 years ago to the day that we would be staying! Chose to stay in one of the cabins - very bad saggy mattresses and the tiny, not super clean bathroom left us all uncomfortable. The meals at the lodge were very pricey and were just OK. Alas, the lovely rustic atmosphere has finally worn so thin that it's not such a great place to stay or to eat anymore - and, unfortunately, with the prices staying at a 4 star level, we won't plan to go back. Sad to see a wonderful landmark of memories bite the dust.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family7Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naches
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Snowcap Lodge
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
Hampton Inn Ellensburg
#2 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Timber Lodge Inn
Timber Lodge Inn
#4 of 7 in Cle Elum
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Ellensburg
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
18.7 mi away
Econo Lodge near Suncadia Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlin' Jack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlin' Jack Lodge

Property: Whistlin' Jack Lodge
Address: 20800 State Route 410, Naches, WA 98937
Location: United States > Washington > Naches
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Naches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Whistlin` Jack Hotel Naches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing