We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Scotland in Mukilteo!”
Review of Wine 101 - The Gathering Place - CLOSED

Wine 101 - The Gathering Place
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Restaurant,wine bar, wine shop, gifts, wine tasting, wine flights, wine club, music - no cover, great desserts, friendly & knowledgeable staff, cozy, outside dining, beer, clean, free parking, Free internet, fun learn or share your knowledge about wine Close to Seattle, Everett, Whidbey Is ferry, Future of Flight
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
473 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“A bit of Scotland in Mukilteo!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A friend told us about this great little Scottish place, and having been to Scotland the previous summer, we were intrigued.

First things first: they serve Iron Brew, and they have a great selection of scotch. The owner came by and after we described the scotches that we'd sampled previously (Oban, Talisker, and Laphraoig) and hearing what we preferred, he put together a custom three-bottle tasting that was great. He left the bottles with the drams and came back to see how we were doing and which ones we liked--really nice touch.

We each had the steak pie, which reminded us very much of our favorite dish on our vacation, the meat was tender and flavorful, and the crust flaky and light. We showed up on a Friday night without reservations, and called ahead 15 minutes and were seating immediately upon arriving--lucky, I think, given that the place isn't that big.

We enjoyed some great live music and really enjoyed our evening out. We will definitely be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice evening stop”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went for the first time-as it was recommended by a friend. Service was good. We only had appetizers that were very nice and some wine. Wine was good. Small place but nice ambiance a bit loud for such a small place. Nice residential location. Would recommend. Crowd us mostly over 40.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great nightcap place with Scotch flights”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had Scotch flights and wine flights
late at night. We enjoyed talking to the friendly owner.
He offered us free wine tasting and it was a great selection.
We were impressed when the Scotch flights were served in the authentic Scottish crytal glasses.
This place is also great to stop for a nightcap.
We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osakamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine Bar, retail wine shop and Bistro”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Small intimate shop serving wine flights and light appetizers. This is the place were everybody knows your name. My husband and I go there and share the meat and cheese plate and a small pizza (favorite is the BBQ chicken with extra mushrooms) or sliders. All foods are small plates that are perfect for one or get several and share. Wonderful selection of wines. You can select anything off the shelf and drink it there, corkage fee is reasonable. They also have wine tastings and you can talk to the wine maker or representative. Check their website for tasting events.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for a casual dinner, sat outside for a warm evening. Very pleasant atmosphere. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was tasty and well presented. Wine flights and a shop too! We'll be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SONLVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine 101 - The Gathering Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing