We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tour, gallery needs a refresh”

Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Morning Tour of Boeing Factory from Seattle
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Mukilteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located approximately 25 miles north of Seattle, The Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour is the only public tour of a commercial jet assembly plant in North America. Explore the interactive exhibits and displays in our 28,000-square-foot Aviation Center Gallery; then take a 90-minute tour of the Boeing plant where you can watch 747s, 777s, or 787 Dreamliners being assembled right before your eyes. There is a minimum height requirement of 4 feet (122 cm) for children participating in the Boeing Tour. To avoid disappointment please make sure to check height before purchasing tickets. This restriction is strictly enforced. ADA accessible tours are offered twice daily. Call in advance to ensure proper accommodations. In the Future of Flight Aviation Center Gallery, the Family Zone is home to a number of different activities, all designed around a theme of aircraft manufacturing and assembly. Activity carts let visitors build a simple aircraft model, or use our Lego (and Lego-compatible) pieces to express new ideas about aircraft design. A kid-sized airport and aircraft allow future pilots of all ages to practice their take-offs and landings. Currently, the Family Zone is also home to a highly engaging, hands-on nanotechnology exhibit, and our new Bernoulli Table, an exciting interactive experience that teaches the relationship between the velocity of air and the pressure it exerts. Coloring and reading activities are also available, and drop-ins are welcome. Admission is free for ticket holders and for Future of Flight Foundation Members.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good tour, gallery needs a refresh”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The facility tour guide made us feel very welcome, answered questions, and gave enough time at each place (you see three separate galleries overlooking the 747, 777, and 787 assembly lines). The scale of the place is huge.
The gallery is looking a bit tired, with several sections not working. The most interesting part is the Rolls Royce engine display, but that could have more details and information. The GE engine display is fairly pointless with no explanations.
Do visit the viewing deck - you need to use the elevator from the main lobby.
Also - the cafe is very basic and service rather slow - this could be improved.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank steveDenmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and for your feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed the factory tour. We are working on adding exhibits to the Gallery. Hopefully, you were able to get a free picture with the factory in the background. The photo booth is located in the Gallery. We will pass along your experience in the cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,229
    836
    261
    72
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“interesting for all ages”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This attraction is about a 30-40 minute drive from downtown Seattle. I recommend reserving tickets online before you go -- we ordered ours the evening before, and were glad we did, because by the time we arrived at the facility at 10:00 am the tours were sold out for the day. The tour itself is about 45 minutes, but you can easily spend about 1-1/2 to 2 hours if you choose to spend time in the exhibit hall. It's well worth the drive from Seattle, and worth the price of the attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Decent Tour. Could be much better and more in-depth.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Being a pilot for over 20 years I have been looking forward to touring the Boeing factory for a long time. Our tour guide was funny and entertaining, but the tour itself was lacking. Basically, it consisted of watching an 8-minute video, boarding a bus to visit two of the assembly hangars, and when you reach the hangars you are escorted through an underground tunnel and taken up a freight elevator to a viewing platform 2-3 stories above the assembly floor. This makes for an awesome view looking down on the 747, 777, and 787 assembly lines, but really is nothing more than just this. On the return back to the main building we passed by the new aircraft waiting for delivery but our driver did not even drive down the tarmac row where they are parked, which would have been an easy thing to do.

Unfortunately I was expecting more from the tour, and more from Boeing. A visit to the actual floor, maybe a visit to the paint shops, or the machining or parts shops and some other areas would have made it much more exciting. Being able to hear from an actual Boeing Assembly Plant worker or two would have made it much better. The very small museum at the end is aso very boring with little to see. The museum at the Boeing Renton plant is slightly better. The tour will be exciting for the average visitor, but if you are a die-hard aviation enthusiast or pilot, you may leave with a ho-hum experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting us. We love to welcome pilots.

We are happy you enjoyed the view of the 747,777, and 787 Dreamliners.

Note: For die-hard aviation buffs looking for a deeper dive, consider attending Aviation Geek Fest, which takes place in February each year. You can Google it or visit the AirlineReporter blog for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slightly handicapped”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

As usual, fascinating to see high-tech at work. Having taken tour several times before, dealing with handicapped worse in three ways: 1) wheelchairs, now left behind instead of stowed under buses, not protected from the weather, 2) no seat cushions on theirs, and 3) neither golf cart nor their wheelchairs allowed out from the hanger bay when it rained. As a result, one person barely made to back to the bus, Either let handicapped use their own wheelchairs or let theirs out in the rain. Also, web site asks to be notified about handicapped condition when purchasing tickets but makes no provision to do so. Since ticket desk merely tells you to tell the entramce people about your condition, better to give that info on website so as not to waste time asking people to check with ticket desk.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting us from New York, and thank you for having visited us more than once.

We are able to accommodate people who are confined to wheelchairs and cannot walk or board a bus and require a lift onto the bus. This should be booked through our call center, 1-800-464-1476. Otherwise, if people need a wheelchair on the tour but can climb onto the bus on their own, that can be handled onsite.

We will make a note of the rain issue. Thanks for your thoughtful feedback and hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing! Who knew??”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Terrific visit for our large group. Interesting for each of our group of 12 including 6 older teens. The assembly floor is a work of art.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank native*texan*2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleSandy, Public Relations Manager at Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for bringing your group here from Texas! Work of art - we love that description.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour also viewed

 

Been to Future of Flight Aviation Center & Boeing Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing