We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican we've found in the NW.”
Review of El Gitano

El Gitano
Ranked #34 of 125 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best Mexican we've found in the NW.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife loves this place. We eat there every other month or so if we have time before having to catch the ferry. I usually get the "chicken en mole" which is the best I've found in the NW. She likes to try different dishes. and usually eats most of it which is very unusual for her as she is a picky eater. Chips are good. Salsa could be a bit sweeter and hotter but it's good. We went through two bowls of it last time. Wish they had draft beer. This is not a place to go if you are in a hurry but we have no complaints about the service. Last time we left a cell phone on the table and the waitress came running out to the parking lot with it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Noisier than its Burlington cousin”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pretty average menu, prices, quality - and also pretty noisy on weekends. If you want a good Mexican dinner without music and lots of other noisy diners, this is not the place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWnative98274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Long drive but would come down to have lunch with hubby (he used to work down there) and was never dissapointed. Great food and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“They were numero uno”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We understood El Gitano had won awards for best Mexican restaurant to eat in Burlington a couple of years. So when we had an opportunity to eat there, we decided to take advantage of the moment.
The ambiance was alright. They had a daily special,which we ordered plus a fajitas and a combo plate. The 4 of us managed the three plates. The food was very good but the service was just mediocre at best. I would give a 3.5.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mo-safer-at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good plain Mexican cooking”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

There are several locations for this restaurant. I prefer the one in La Conner, which is newer. The menu is predictable, but the food is very comforting. Also a friendly staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gitano also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, WA
Mount Vernon, WA
 
Mount Vernon, WA
 

Been to El Gitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing