We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pretty decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN College Way Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
1 review
“Pretty decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I came to this place with my family just as a mini overnight vacation. We came from Canada to go shopping and just get out of the house. The outside when you drive up looks a little shabby but the room is really quite nice. The bathroom was quite nice. Usually at places like this they bathrooms are a little dingy but not here! The bathroom was one of the better things! The room was very standard. Had a mini fridge and coffee machine which came in handy. Had a good sized newer tv which was nice. The continental breakfast in the morning was really good as well! There was a large variety of things to choose from. That was also a plus! One thing that was a negative was the wifi. Almost everyone needs wifi nowadays and the reception we got in our room was constantly cutting out. I was in the middle of a skype call and it just booted me off the wifi and made me re log into it which I did not like. Overall it was a good stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea-Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Chelsea-Claire F,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay (from the guest room to the continental breakfast). In regards to the "shabby" look upon your arrival, we have started a property-wide design renovation project and are working on the exterior this year then moving into the guest rooms next year. We're sorry to hear that the wifi was not working as it should during your stay and apologize for the frustrations it caused. We'll be in touch with our wireless provider for resolution to the problem. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    121
    77
    25
    16
See reviews for
92
115
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

the hotel is next to I-5 near restruants and shopping good location for jumping off in the morning room was quite nice had a good size bed microwave and refrigerator the only problem we had that the lady at check in was cranky and made us feel like a bother

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Tom F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're happy that you enjoyed your room and amenities offered as well as our location. We apologize for the reception you received at check-in. It is our goal for all employees to be friendly/helpful/customer service oriented. Your review will serve as a reminder for us of the need to keep focused and attentive in this area. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Mount Vernon.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Suffers from being older. Great bed and shower, not enough hot water, poor electrical outlets - not enough, and things found disconnected. Good microwave and fridge. A bit crowded in floor space. Noisy, but probably to be expected on weekends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GINNY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Ginny W.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re sorry that not every aspect of your stay with was enjoyable (as is our goal) and will use your information for improvements in these areas. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was nervous to book this place as a few of the reviews were negative but to my surprise it was clean, nicely decorated, beds comfy and folks at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Its central to everything you need in Mr. Vernon. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesY292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Desy292014,

Thank you for giving us a chance! We are happy that to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Mount Vernon.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

With Best Western... one never knows what one will get. I stay at a lot of Best Westerns and this is definitely a Best Western to pass by. The College Way Inn is an ancient motel to which some new paint has been applied. 1950's style furnishings abound. Our room was so musty I thought Edgar Allen Poe's Annabel Lee must be stashed in it somewhere (it was like staying in a tomb). It reminded of an old shore house in January that has been closed up since August - musty with a tinge of mothballs. Best Western needs to apply some consistency to its standards.

Room Tip: Bring your scented candles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breathingtokens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Breathingtokens,

We’re sorry to hear about a musty odor you found in the room during your stay with us. While 25 of our 65 rooms were built in the 1960’s for the world’s fair in Seattle, we have done numerous upgrades to all rooms and are currently in the middle of a property wide design upgrade for all areas of our motel. Our goal is to make sure all rooms are fresh and clean before renting. We apologize that this was not the case for your stay. (Had we known after you checked in that this was the case, we would have happily moved you to a different room so that we could resolve the issues with the one you stayed in.) We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The room was smelly but seem to be clean. The bed was good. Difficult to operate the heating system, but seem to work well once it was set up. The TV system can be difficult to operate. The restroom was very small. Our allover impression was a very outdated room for a very high price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Frank S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While we are happy to hear that your bed was comfortable and room clean, we’re sorry that you found the room lacking a fresh scent and your initial encounter with the heating system & tv to be difficult. In regards to the size of the bathroom, we have a variety of room types/locations. If you let us know your preference when making a reservation, we will be more than happy to accommodate your request if it is available.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very comfortable. Wonderful staff! Would definately stay here again when I am in the area! The breakfast was great, accomidated everybody's different tastes and nutritional needs! Right off the highway - easy to get to and from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Brandy S.,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us--from comfortable room to great breakfast, wonderful staff and easy to get to location. We look forward to your stay again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN College Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN College Way Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Address: 300 West College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN College Way Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN College Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western College Way Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western
Best Western Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing