We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Credit Card Comprimised at Best Western” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN College Way Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Credit Card Comprimised at Best Western”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

4/10/14 we checked in after 9pm and before 10 pm my credit card info, address, rewards number and the room I was staying in had already been hacked. I received a call from a person saying they were with Best Western Rewards and there was a problem with my cc info not matching the records. They had all my info and wanted me to verify it and tried to cover it with a survey about complaints regarding this motel. I questioned them and they said the front desk would call me and verify who they were. They fooled the front desk not once but twice who called me and verified everything was okay. Needless to say the rooms are sub-standard for $100 per night and noisy - a restaurant is across the lot and receives deliveries in the early AM - Train whistles blow through out the night. The Manager called but was very casual about the whole incident, did nothing to help me - only after I asked if my cc was at risk and should I contact my bank did she confirm that I should (even though the front desk was already advising all of the other guests of a Problem) but told me there was no problem. I complained to Best Western Customer Service this only caused me to receive an email from the manager again trying to protect herself as to how there were no problems and they had contacted everyone (ie; Comcast, tech support etc. . . . ) like any of this help me after we lost our other reservations (including $$$$ deposits) for the remainder of our vacation and were without enough $ to finish our trip, even having to sleep in our car Sunday night to go to the bank on Monday to withdraw funds to pay for fuel to get back home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear EscapeTrips,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience at our property. We take personal information and security with the highest regard, as does our corporate office (which is actively investigating the situation).

We have confirmed that our Credit Card system was not breached and that the scammer was phishing for information solely via phone from our customers from approximately 8:00 pm and 9:00 pm on 4/10/14. As soon as this issue was brought to our attention, we immediately took our network off-line and contacted our corporate offices, credit card company, Comcast, computer technician and our reservation system vendor. We reached out separately to you and the other 3 guests that received a similar phone call in order to properly assess and address the issue. We also reported this to the police.

Again, we apologize for the discomforting experience. We can confirm this was not a credit card system breach, so hopefully there are no looming concerns about the security of your information. Furthermore, we have re-trained our front desk personnel to be more vigilante/hyper-aware of scam type calls and how to correctly handle these in order to ensure that this does not happen again.

We apologize again for your experience and hope it won’t deter you from visiting our wonderful town in the future. If you still have concerns, please contact our corporate office.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    129
    84
    26
    16
See reviews for
97
122
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Room and amenities good, but smelled like OLD smoke. "Hot" water was cool at best. When mentioned to the front desk clerk, until pressed, she made no effort to take anything off my bill. I understand that these things happen, but better customer service would have been appreciated. Stayed here because it was closer to where I was meeting friends. Next time will stay at the other Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sharon G.,

We apologize for your room smelling like smoke. All of our rooms are non smoking, and we are sorry your room smelled like "old smoke." In regards to the cool water, around the time of your stay, one of the hot water pipes had burst and some rooms were without hot water for a few days. It has since been fixed, but we are sorry for the frustrations and inconvenience it caused. We also apologize for the poor customer service you received at checkout. Our goal is to provide superior customer service. Unfortunately, it appears that we missed our mark. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in Mount Vernon.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This motel lives in the shadow of the Best Western Plus facility, not too far away in the same city. The College Way Inn should be treated equally, for, although more modest in dimension and facility, it is very practical and comfortable, also more reasonable in price. Everything was perfectly fine without all the little luxuries of a "Plus". Especally the fantastic mattress of the "Memory Foam" type should be mentioned, since it was one of the finest hotel mattresses I've ever slept on. Breakfast, too, not luxurious, but certainly more than average. GIve the place a try!

Room Tip: Nice outdoor pool for warm days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank throat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Throat,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the memory foam mattress to be fantastic! We hope you are able to visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was raining, no place to go, but needed to getaway from home. Found the best rate for the area, bed size, and extras. Found that this one had one of the best King Size beds we have experienced in years. that's what we needed and it was a great night of relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Tami G,

We are happy you enjoyed your King bed, and that you were able to find a place to stay to escape the rain! We are glad you were able to relax and have a great night!

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Trains blowing their claxton's all day and night every hour or so made what would have been a pleasant experience one of disapointment. The location was good for shopping and eating and close to the bulb fields.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank O2675OSmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear O2675OSmichaels,

We apologize for the train noise. We are happy you found our location to be convenient. Hopefully, you enjoyed the rest of your stay, despite the noise.

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My expectations were low for the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. For the price, it was quite a bargain and the room was delightful. Though the location seems bad, it's actually far enough from the freeway that one doesn't notice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jesuistom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Jesuistom,

We are glad you were pleasantly surprised with your stay! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Best Western in Mount Vernon WA on College Way was very convenient for our stay. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. I had stayed her before for a Conference/Training for work, and that is what brought me back. My husband and I decided that he would meet me and we spent another night, we really love the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCollegeWayInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN College Way Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Darla O,

We hope you were able to enjoy your training, and you night away with your husband. We are glad you were able to stay with us again! We hope you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,

Management & Staff
BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN College Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN College Way Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN College Way Inn
Address: 300 W College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN College Way Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN College Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western College Way Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western
Best Western Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing