We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra-Large Room for our Family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western College Way Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Bountiful, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extra-Large Room for our Family of 5”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have a family of 5, so finding hotel accomodations is usually difficult. The Best Western College Way Inn has 2 rooms that will each accomodate 6 people. We had 3 queen beds in one VERY large room. It also had a sofa, a kitchenette, and a double-sized shower. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and had some good variety. The staff was helpful when I called to make the reservation and again when we checked in. We didn't get a chance to try out the pool and hot tub but they were both open and seemed to be in good condition. There was plenty of free parking in the back and the freeway access was great. We will definitely stay at the Best Western College Way Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bountiful5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    143
    89
    27
    19
See reviews for
107
137
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a long day on the road - Southern Oregon to Canada then back over the border to Mt. Vernon. We easily had a 15 hour day driving with a 45 foot trailer behind us. Finding a hotel with trailer parking proved to be very difficult until we called the Best Western on College Way. They were the only hotel that had an available room, trailer parking and a hot tub that was still open. We decided to take our chances. Upon arrival - we thought - oh no - looks a little "shady". A restaurant (a steak house) next door was closed and going through a renovation so it looked messy and dirty right next to the motel. I thought, here we go, probably a dirty room, with a dirty bathroom and a rock hard bed. When we checked in, the front desk gal assured us the bed was super comfy and had a very nice shower. She also said the chinese restaurant next to the closed steak house was really great. I said ok - lets get a room. At $88 a night (tax included) I didn't believe a word she said. We didn't even go to our room first - it was 9:00pm and didn't want the restaurant to close on us. So we walked next door and was quickly seated. The waitress said the hotel had called to let them know we were coming. I thought, how nice! She suggested a few things on the menu and promptly got my husband a beer and me a wonderful glass of red wine. Dinner was delicious and I am pretty darn picky about chinese food (no msg). On our walk back to our room, we checked out the hot tub. Looked nice - but we were beat so we decided to skip it. Upon entering our room - yes, emerald green carpet (a little dated) but overall it was nice. Had a table, 2 chairs and a balcony overlooking the pool. I sat on the bed, awwww, soft and comfy! Next, I checked out the bathroom. Newly updated and nice, large, tiled shower. Best of all, everything appeared very clean. What a nice surprise this place turned out to be. In the morning we took advantage of the continental breakfast. It was satisfactory and the coffee - not too bad. It was the same as any other hotel that I have paid twice as much at. I would definitely stay here again without a second thought!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejamie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Spent one night at this Best Western in April with my Fiance. We found the rooms to be a bit small and somewhat dated (not too bad but could use some improvement). The maintenance man (or someone who worked for the hotel) knocked and immediately walked in on my Fiance who was changing. Although it was an accident (hopefully), I would hope next time they will knock and at least wait a few seconds before entering. That's it for the negative bits. The hotel staff is very friendly (as you can tell the maintenance was) and the free breakfast is pretty decent. Price was reasonable and plenty of parking. No complaints on the cleanliness of the room. What we really liked about this hotel was their outdoor pool area. Pool (heated in summer I believe) and a hot tub on a nice grass lawn. I would recommend having a room on the second floor over looking the pool area.
If you're okay with a room that is a little outdated I would recommend this hotel to you.
P.S We've stayed at the other Best Western (Cotton Tree) in Mount Vernon, (also another good hotel) but the pool area here is far better than at Cotton Tree

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking outside pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hippodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent one weekday night during the April Tulip Festival. Price was most reasonable, given the time of year--just under $100 including tax. Hotel pool was not open yet, but their outdoor hot tub was. Breakfast was ample--waffles, muffins, yogurt, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy. More than we expected. Service was friendly at front desk. Rooms open to the outside--no indoor hallway.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 201, right at top of stairs, close to office with coffee, breakfast, etc. with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolgerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I agree with alot of the comments from other reviewers. Not quite Best Western quality. Rooms were ok, check in was ok, breakfast was ok. We choose this motel because it was a Best Western but for the price of the room I would probably choose another motel in the area next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leticiateliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We pulled into Mt Vernon on the last day of our 12 day vacation, needing a room close to the border for the night and since we like Best Western Motel/hotels, it was a "no-brainer". Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. As other reviewers said, the lady in the office was very friendly, but that didn't make up for a dirty room. I kicked off my shoes when I walked in and in a few minutes, noticed how black my socks had become from the carpet. We wanted a cup of coffee so set up the inroom coffee machine only to find it also dirty and still holding the used coffee grounds from the last use. The small bottle of shampoo was 3/4 empty so I just threw it away. The shower had hair in it and the bath mat that had been evidentally used by the last customer was left hanging wet in the side of the tub, dripping on the floor. We were tired so we called it an early night but we felt that we should have just hit the border and not stopped to stay there. One nice thing besides the lady in the office though was the complimentary breakfast. At least that was very nice. We won't be staying there ever again. One last thing is that we stayed in 2 other BW during our trip down to Calif, (Yreka, and Sacremento) and they were not only less expensive, but also a nice place to stay, unlike Mt Vernon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I agree with some of the comments made by another reviewer: the lady at the check-in (sorry, I didn't get her name) was cheerful, quick, efficient and knowledgeable about good places to eat. We chose the nearby Chinese restaurant which was excellent. I also heard the trains (mostly because they blew their whistles at 3:30 in the morning) and faint traffic noise from the I-5 so if you are a light sleeper, ear plugs might be a good idea.

The hotel has easy access to the I-5; our second-floor room had a small balcony and faced the pool and the large, grassy 'courtyard' area (I think most of the rooms are set up this way). It was clean and the king-sized bed was comfortable; wi-fi signal was good; the TV was fine. Our room had a coffee maker, a small fridge and a microwave.The bathroom sink was separate from the bathroom itself and this area was quite small- my wife and I were constantly bumping into each other; the large walk-in shower was great with lots of hot water and good pressure. There was no tub in our room-so you might want to check that out if you prefer to bathe rather than to shower. Breakfast was a bit on the spartan side-but included biscuits and gravy, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, juices etc. Enough to get you started for the day.

Room Tip: ask for a 'quiet' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western College Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western College Way Inn

Property: Best Western College Way Inn
Address: 300 West College Way, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western College Way Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western College Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western College Way Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Western
Best Western Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing