We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a bear in the living room!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Vernon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Mount Vernon B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“There is a bear in the living room!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent a lovely night here on a short trip to Washington State from Vancouver BC. Linda and Vic could not have been nicer. Their home is up the side of a mountain and a bit of a daunting drive, however the view from this massive deck is not to be missed! The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. They even made a roaring fire after we returned from dinner. Breakfast was wonderful, homemade and filling. This is a delightfull B&B, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Don't stay here unless you want to be treated like a member of the family, or want the best breakfasts you will ever get, or enjoy a view that is amazing, or watch wildlife stroll by outside your window. 6 wonderful days and nights. Linda, what can I say but thanks for a memorable stay. Bring begging strips for Boosky the resident dog. Don & Pauline

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flaflyer2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

To be honest I was not quite sure about Whispering Firs B&B near Mt Vernon, WA because my husband who never plans our vacations picked it out. He is an avid hunter and fisherman and we both love the outdoors. From the moment that we arrived I was very, very impressed. Linda and Vic Benson are top notch hosts. They went way out of their way to cater to our every need. They asked us when WE wanted breakfast. We stayed one night in the NW Mastersuite, the room had an amazing view down onto the valley and beyond, The room was an awesome mix of masculine and feminine, which appealed to both of us and make us feel very soothed. The grounds were very beautiful, flowers everywhere, everythign inside and out was clean and neat. Linda had beautiful fresh flower arrangement in the house. I picked up some wonderful decorating ideas from Linda. We enjoyed a wonderful restful night's sleep and breakfast was the best we had on the whole trip of 9 days! We had Dutch Pancakes, Amish Baked Oatmeal and fresh berries. It was so good!!! Linda even gave us the recipes. Ask Linda about their wonderful massage recliner, ooohh! Best B&B experience to date. If you have a problem with animal taxidermy you might want to make a differant choice but we loved it, loved it, loved it all!

Room Tip: By far the NW Mastersuite is the best for couples, the Stellar room would be perfect for ladies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoMema93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I travelled 8,500 miles this summer through national parks and stayed in a wide variety of places. This one scores in the top! I stayed here one night, en route from Mt. Rainier to Glacier National Park.

Without my GPS I would never have found it - tucked as it is up in the foothills and overlooking the city of Mt. Vernon. The winding and climbing driveway really fascinating me because it was so natural! Yes, I ended up at Whispering Firs with a room that overlooked this prosperous farming community, flowers, deck, jacuzzi, etc. My room was entirely in blue and white, crisp, clean and inviting. I had a private bath and access to a personal computer so I could communicate with friends back home.

The living area is decorated with stuffed animals, including a bear that looks ready to say hello. I found the lodge atmosphere very pleasing. The resident Irish Setter is quite real, also very pleasing although a bit shy.

Breakfast was elegant. The lady of the house is a gourmet cook, catere, and natural hostess.

This was a relaxing and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle and north
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I didn't give it "5" for sleep quality because it was almost too quiet for us to sleep. It's so close to Seattle yet so removed from civilization!
But not removed from comforts! We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts in the dining room and a delightful coffee station (see the picture!) We had a very private room in the nw corner of the "house" with a portion of private deck as well as our restroom and a small sitting room. We spent a bit of time just sitting out on the deck enjoying the woods and the view.
It's a country drive to go out to eat, but we did that a couple of times just because we were on vacation! (went to the Chuckanut Manor for a leisurely shoreside lunch and the next day we went someplace I don't remember the name of in La Connor).
The theme of the house is definitely: hunting lodge! There entry way is so full of stuffed animals, of all sizes and types, you could imagine you are out in the woods even though you just walked inside. I admit to being caught off guard, and I jumped a couple of times thinking I was in the presence of a live animal. For anyone who really loves that theme this could be nirvana!
I can't remember if there was a pool. There was a water feature and a jacuzzi, but I think it was covered due to bad weather earlier in the week, and because the other reservations for the weekend had cancelled. The deck looked incredible for entertaining a large party like a reception or wedding. For me, the views were just incredible. All day long I could gaze out on Skagit Valley, Puget Sound, the Olympic Mountains. In peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toriadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, MN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

This B&B and Lodge is a real find. It is nestled among the tall firs in the foothills of the Cascades in a beautiful setting with a great view. The proprietors make you feel like part of the family and provide all the comforts of home. The breakfasts are imaginative, delicious and will remove all thought of lunch from you mind. Dinners are available by request that are also great. The rooms are airy, clean and quiet. An Irish Setter roams the place adding to the inviting, at-home charm.

Couldn't be better

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredAnoka_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights on April 25-27. 4 adults + 1 little boy. We chose the Northwest master suite. We were very pleased with the services we got from Linda and her husband (we mostly interacted with Linda). I was actually impressed with Linda from my first email contact. She was so helpful in giving me all information to help us choose the right option for our group.

They had a full house during that weekend, but we didn't feel crowded at all. We only met other guests during breakfast time. Love the lodge decoration. Breakfast was excellent. Great view from our room. My little boy really enjoyed playing with their big dog. My husband and I enjoyed sitting and relaxing in an outdoor hot tub :)

All in all, I'd recommend this place for people who'd like to get away from a city.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuperTul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
5.1 mi away
Best Western College Way Inn
Best Western College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
398 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
5.4 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
142 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge

Property: Whispering Firs B&B and Lodge
Address: 19357 Kanako Ln, Mount Vernon, WA 98274-7611
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving travelers since 1986. Large rooms w/astounding views delicious meals kids, pets OK. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing