We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mexico Cafe

Mexico Cafe
Ranked #36 of 123 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a casual family restaurant. Our food is unique. We have been serving Skagit Valley since 1965. Some of our most popular dishes are Chimichangas, Smothered Burritos, and Enchiladas. Our up and coming food favorites are Rellenos, Tamales, Street tacos, and Deluxe Burrtito. Our food is made from the finest ingredients. Every item is made from scratch. We are kid friendly and accomdate large parties. Our staff is some of the best in the valley. We take reservations of any size.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped and had lunch at the Mexico Cafe today. Very good food, family atmosphere, real value always gives you more than enough. I have been going to this place whenever I can since 1974. Great family Cafe. Good place to stop when out visiting the Tulip fields or the many great birding sites nearby.

Helpful?
Thank gotmymojoworkin... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been dining at Mexico Cafe since the mid 1970's.
In the Skagit Valley, this is the real deal...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rand J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place to eat dinner with family and friends”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I always go to this particular restaurant to eat. I also get tamales made fresh from there and they are great to share with friends and family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victory2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not very authentic”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I know a lot of locals that think this place serves the best Mexican food around. To me their food is Mexican in style but not prepared in an authentic way and is suited for people that don't know any better. Their rice, beans and salsa provided with chips lack any substantial flavor. Recommend passing on the tamales unless you like corn bread type masa stuffed with very little filling. Chicken enchiladas are ok.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1wraspir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrymex, Owner at Mexico Cafe, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Authentic is a loaded word. We are a Mexican Restaurant who serves home made food. Our authenticity comes from my mom's cooking. You can not compare us to any local Mexican Restaurant, we have a totally different style. Our table salsa is a simple salsa which was developed for our 1965 customers, which at the time could not handle much spice. We do however have a variety of salsas to choose from. I would recommend "Angelas salsa" because it is spicy and flavorful. Lots of times if you quiz our servers they can lead you the right way when ordering food or needing some advice on the menu. We have some of the best servers in the valley. Thank you for your impute. This will help us better serve you in the future.

Adolph Rivas
Owner/Chef
Mexico Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good on our visit.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I read a multitude of reviews for this restaurant, and can only give my opinion.
We arrived about 5:30PM for dinner, the place was quite full for that time, were seated right away, waitress arrived promptly, & took our order.
It seemed like 20 minutes for our meals to arrive, and the servings are huge.
The food was very good, more then enough to eat.
No complaints about anything.
The service was good, the bill was correct, prices are reasonable, we will very likely return.
The booths are dated, with tape to cover a tear in the seat, it looks like it has been sometime since it was updated, but also acceptable.
There are a lot of Mexican restaurants in town, and would say this is our favorite, after this visit. I can go to a fancier restaurant, but that does not mean its better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonySeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Cafe also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, WA
Mount Vernon, WA
 

Been to Mexico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing