We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay at the Tulip again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed October 19, 2009

They have done a nice job of updating this old strip motel but the service was NOT good. They gave a price to our group that was reasonable and would have been fine if they didn't try to gouge you at the end. We had 4 people to a room and they would only give you 2 bath towels per day, if that. At check out many of our group were charged up to $50 for towels that they said were damaged by stains. Funny thing was, they couldn't find any of these stained towels to show us! Not the way to get return customers. There are many better hotels near by with quality service that also include breakfast. It is not worth the price they quote you to stay there, as they will find another way to make you pay more.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipinn, Manager at Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2009

This group was a ball team which stayed at our establishment in early August 2009. They were at a ball tournament and we were told by a few families when they first arrived that some of the group had forgotten to bring their ball towels from home to use at the ball field. So some of these guests took the bright white hotel towels from their rooms off the premises (against hotel policy) to the ball fields to either wipe their shoes or themselves. The few towels which did return to the hotel were deeply stained with the red dirt (ball field dirt), and it was impossible to get these stains out even after a few washes. The guests who did not bring back the towels to the hotel were charged for the missing towels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

When I made the reservation for our stay, we had no idea that the hotel would almost be filled with ball teams. During our stay the teams (Parents and Children) were in the parking lot after the Hotels 10:00 p.m. quite time, being loud, throwing balls from the upstairs balcony down to the parking lot, I even saw an adult sitting/leaning against my car! It is very concerning to me that the parents acted this way, it's no wonder there kids were misbehaving, so were they! The Hotel itself was a great value for the room we got. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I see that other reviewers have been critical, but if you accept that this motel s really blue collar and low budget, it's a good call for traveling families. We needed someplace affordable and withinreach of the ferries out of Anacortes, and this motel fit the bill. The room was not the greatest, but it was clean and comfortable enough. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. There is ample fast food and budget restaurants nearby (via a 5 minute drive), though there's nothing next door. It ain't pretty, it ain't special, but it was a good deal for a single overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Room was very clean, and door was very secure. I did hear a couple in the neighboring room a bit, so had to turn on TV, since I was with my 9 yr. old daughter. Thank goodness it didn't last long or it could've posed a problem and I would've had to ask for another room. I paid about $85 for the night, which is a bit cheaper than many, and it was very clean so that was a big plus. Location was good, with easy access to the freeway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyofFive1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We are a softball travel team (ASA). We traveled to Washington for the Western Nationals Tournament. Tulip Inn was recommended, was placed on “the list”
There were a total of 3 softball teams occupying the Inn. The majority or our team was charged for stained towels. The charges ranged from $7.00 - $40.00. When we asked for proof of the stained towels, the owner/manager could not provide the “stained towels”. He only provided wash clothes from one room. It was apparent that these towels had not been washed. This is absolutely not acceptable! The continental breakfast was a disappointment to say the least, not enough to accommodate all the occupants. I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipinn, Manager at Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2009

The softball teams were taking the towels either off the premises or were using them to wipe their shoes off after the games. The towels that did come back to the hotel were stained with a red dirt (playing field dirt) and it was impossible to get these stains out of a bright white towel. We diligintly tried to bleach and re bleach the towels to remove these stains but were not successful. The teams were given examples of the stained towels, and were advised not to use them at the ball fields, however it continued and we had no choice but to charge for the damaged towels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Our group was one of 3 teams staying at this Hotel. This Hotel was listed as a "host" Hotel for the National ASA Softball tournament and they had no clue what to expect. Towel restrictions were put in place the second day we were there, and guests were forced to wash their own towels prior to getting clean fresh ones, or told to "go to Wal-Mart and buy your own" if you don't want to be charged for dirty towels. One member of our group was kicked out of the Hotel over and issue on a dirty wash cloth. The person at the front desk told them that they would be charged for it since it was dirty. The Hotel did this without even attempting to wash it once. Breakfast at the Hotel was not as advertised, and rooms were VERY small. Shower curtains were moldy.. I could go on and on.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDCmorethanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipinn, Manager at Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2009

The softball teams were using the towels to either wipe their shoes or taking them to the ball fields and using them there. The towels that did return to the hotel were stained red by the playing field dirt which was impossible to remove from the bright white towels. Guests were advised if they needed towels to use at the ball field then they should buy their own from Walmart and not take the hotel's towels off the premises. The member who was removed from the hotel was removed due to his foul language and swearing in the lobby in front of other guests and children, not due to the stained or missing towels. The guests were only charged for the missing towels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This hotel was on a recommended hotel list for our National ASA Softball Tournament. They did not have realistic expectations of the needs an athletic team which may play multiple games a day in record breaking heat would require. On the 2nd day of a 7 day stay they initiated a 2 towel, 1 washcloth, 1 hand towel limit per room which had four guests in it. They also started charging if the towels were turned in too dirty which meant we had to hand wash towels before getting clean ones. Their breakfast which is advertised as a way to "get your day started" only consisted of a couple dozen Danishes which were supposed to feed a 40 room hotel with no vacancies. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone traveling with children or in a group of two or more. There is no common area to rest or visit outside and congregating is discouraged by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D-C-L_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipinn, Manager at Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2009

The softball teams were either using the towels to wipe off their shoes or taking them to the ball field and getting them stained with the red palying dirt. The red stains were impossible to remove from the bright white towels even after multiple washes. The 2nd day of their stay approximately 1/3 of our towels went missing- the teams were taking them to the ball field and not bringing them back. The teams were advised not to take the towels off the premises, but after a few days there were so many towels missing the hotel ran short and had to reorder new ones which took a few business days to be shipped. The only guests which were given the two towels were the ones who's rooms had the missing towels in the first instance. The parents drinking alcohol and "congregating in the parking lot was discouraged by our staff and the parents were made aware of licensed drinking establishments near the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western College Way Inn
Best Western College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon

Address: 2200 Freeway Dr, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $82 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulip Inn is centrally located off of Interstate 5, in the heart of the Skagit Valley in beautiful historic Mount Vernon, Washington. All of our deluxe guest rooms feature microwaves & mini-refrigerators, complimentary in-room WiFi, complimentary local calls, air conditioning & irons & ironing boards. Kitchenettes are available as are ADA Compliant guest rooms. The Tulip Inn is proud to offer our guests a complimentary continental breakfast every morning. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing