We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed Friday night June 21st,2013 for the Dirt Cup noticed a plastic baggie wrapped around the smoke detector on the way out of the room just great.Been staying here since 1994 this hotel is going down hill .Continental breakfast is a joke might as well go to IHOP.

Room Tip: Parkin lot sucks if you come late hardly any parking left.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipinn, Manager at Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear RTSB:
Thank you for your review of our property and we are very sorry your stay was not satisfactory. Our hotel is a 100% Smoke Free Facility and unfortunately some of our guests still prefer to smoke in the rooms by covering up the smoke detectors. Our staff is diligent about these issues but sometimes these items do get overlooked.
Our breakfast served in our lobby from 7 AM to 9 AM is a Continental Breakfast as we do not have cooking facilities available. The breakfast consists of Bagels & Cream Cheese , English Muffins , Danishes, Muffin Slices, Pound Cake, Raisin Bread, Multi Grain Bread, Hard Boiled Eggs, Special K Cereal , Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal, Honey Nut Cheerios, Yogurt, Hot Oatmeal, Bananas, Apples and Oranges. For beverages, Coffee, Tea, Orange Juice, Milk and Hot Chocolate are available.
Again we are very sorry your stay was not as pleasant as you have had in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was not very soundproof, especially when the bathroom door was open. The bed was comfy and we slept well after a tiresome day. The breakfast did not have waffles, but had poppy seeds bread, yogurt, cheese crackers, choco bread, bagels, danish, muffins, bread and butter, fruits, juice. The breakfast room and check-in lobby were the same, we had to take the items in a tray to our room. The coffee was good. We stayed on one of the rooms in the ground floor, the safety latch was broken.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a pretty average motel. The room was clean, but a bit tired. Beds were comfortable. It was not very soundproof, as our room backed onto the freeway so we closed the bathroom door to muffle the sound of highway noise. We could also hear the people in the next room apparently vacuuming at 9:00 PM (not sure what that was about) and voices of people outside the room, but it was quiet after about 10:00 so did not keep us awake. The WIFI worked great, no issues connecting. The continental breakfast was pretty basic, and no tables or anywhere to sit so I guess you are supposed to take it back to your room to eat it. Staff were friendly and helpful giving directions to downtown and the tulip fields. Overall a decent place in a convenient, easy to find location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian_Explorer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel sounded fine on their website and even in TripAdvisor reviews; but frankly, for 69.00 per night, I didn't expect a great experience. I should have been smarter.I booked a 2 night reservation. The swing lock was broken. As a single female traveler booked into the ground floor facing the parking lot, I felt really unsafe. The curtains were torn all the way thru, the chair upholstery had several 8" tears on the seat with the foam poking through. The armoire housing the tv had broken handles hanging down on its drawers. I tried to iron my white linen shirt for a gallery opening and the iron leaked water ALL over the shirt and ironing board! I had also booked a room for my brother and his TV picture would not come on, although the light inside the tv was on and glowing. Worst was the little worm like bugs that I found on my clothing the following morning. It creeped me out big time. I gave the hotel staff a list of the problems and they did replace the torn chairs and the torn curtain. The lock remained broken.The broken handle remained hanging forlornly. No message, no offer to change my room, no apology for bugs and sub par room. Do Not book this hotel. Consider yourself forewarned.

Room Tip: Book the Best Western which was about 1 block away.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marinaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. The rooms are quite dated - some of the furniture could stand replacing. Not very soundproof - we were kept awake by outside vocal exchanges and then woken up at 6:30 by the same thing. Comfortable beds, also very clean and by far the cheapest accommodation we could find in Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasherdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I called to reserve my room for ten nights. When I make it to the lobby I was greeted with a very friendly smile and quickly checked into my room.
Of course the place is dated BUT I say that this is the cleanest, well kept place I've ever stayed in.
Housekeeping came by twice a day for the ppl that worked days AND nights which was awesome because my hubby was working nights. The rooms were quiet, I never heard the ppl next door.
Overall I would definitely stay here instead of a overpriced place without the charming ambience!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I made an online reservation for the Tulip Inn for a two night stay and received a confirming email. I later received a call saying that the motel was booked for the 2nd night and they needed to cancel my reservation. They did not offer any recourse other than for me to call another hotel.

I will not bother making a reservation with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank ksschroeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western College Way Inn
Best Western College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cocusa Motel
Cocusa Motel
#5 of 5 in Burlington
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon

Address: 2200 Freeway Drive, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: $83 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulip Inn is centrally located off of Interstate 5, in the heart of the Skagit Valley in beautiful historic Mount Vernon, Washington. All of our deluxe guest rooms feature microwaves & mini-refrigerators, complimentary in-room WiFi, complimentary local calls, air conditioning & irons & ironing boards. Kitchenettes are available as are ADA Compliant guest rooms. The Tulip Inn is proud to offer our guests a complimentary continental breakfast every morning. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing