We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They cancelled my reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
“They cancelled my reservation”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I made an online reservation for the Tulip Inn for a two night stay and received a confirming email. I later received a call saying that the motel was booked for the 2nd night and they needed to cancel my reservation. They did not offer any recourse other than for me to call another hotel.

I will not bother making a reservation with them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksschroeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    56
    36
    12
    19
See reviews for
38
45
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was travelling by myself and stopped here for the night.
It was Clean & Safe at a very good price.
The lady at the front desk at night was extremely helpful and made sure that I got a
comfortable room, it had a kitchen if you need to make your own meals,
I wanted breakfast in the morning and got there at 9.30 got my coffee and went to turn to get
a muffin and the Morning clerk whisked the tray right out of its display case without even asking me if I wanted any. I thought he was extremely rude to have done such a thing.
He told me that breakfast was over, and did I not read the sign on the window. Ha!!!

Other than that strange incident I would recommend this motel if you need a quick night stay at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Monika2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent one night as a couple. The bed was good and firm, and we were impressed that they had a complete kitchenette with pots and pans in the back of the room.
The shower was great and the TV was new. We used the fan/heater/AC and it was good.
The breakfast was marginal, just carb items and bad coffee.
Location is very good.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekkin_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Way overpriced for a 1960's era motel with a cosmetic face-lift. Rooms are tiny, parking is hell, continental breakfast is lame and always runs out, staff are overworked and hurried to bother you so they can clean the rooms to meet their quotas, etc. Appliances didn't work in our room. TV is payola ads with a few shopping channels. Showers go like this: hot-cold-hot-cold, etc. It's probably a $50 room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Jumping off point to Vancouver from Seattle. Alot of stuff was booked so we ended here. Did not want spend alot of money on some of the other places. Tulip Inn was super clean. Older hotel but they did a great job refurbishing the hotel. The A/c's were retro but ran good. Its almost like they built a new retro hotel. Breakfast in a small area. Most people took BK on tray back to room. Nice added value. Wouldnt hesitate staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFight1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If Bellingham is booked up, this inexpensive family-type motel is just another half hour down the I-5 in funky Mt. Vernon. Less than $90 including tax for a comfortable king bed and homey touches like an upholstered rocker chair and cushions. Bathroom could use a bit of updating but it's clean. You do get some freeway noise but it's tolerable. The continental breakfast has been expanded since I last stayed here four years ago but there isn't much room in the office to eat it, so you do need to take it back to your room. No frills (i.e. pool, hot tub, fitness) but fine for a night or two. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Best to get a room further away from the side that backs on to the I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

1.) chastised on arrival for bookIng with Expedia
2.) room was clean, but bathroom was moldy
3.) tried to order a movie for kids on ppv- error message appeared on screen. On calling the front desk- was told to phone the 800 number on screen- turned out it was a hotel issue with there account.front desk "oh"
4.) the plumbing sounds like a jet plane taking off when other rooms shower.
PASS ON THIS ONE-- VERY DISSAPOINTING

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynrmckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western College Way Inn
Best Western College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
2.1 mi away
Cocusa Motel
Cocusa Motel
#5 of 5 in Burlington
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon

Property: Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Address: 2200 Freeway Drive, Mount Vernon, WA 98273-5480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tulip Inn is centrally located off of Interstate 5, in the heart of the Skagit Valley in beautiful historic Mount Vernon, Washington. All of our deluxe guest rooms feature microwaves & mini-refrigerators, complimentary in-room WiFi, complimentary local calls, air conditioning & irons & ironing boards. Kitchenettes are available as are ADA Compliant guest rooms. The Tulip Inn is proud to offer our guests a complimentary continental breakfast every morning. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing