We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Nice Facility”

Potholes State Park
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Moses Lake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This state park is popular for birdwatching, swimming and camping.
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a Nice Facility”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in the RV camping area. Nicely laid out! Well maintained! Friendly staff! we plan on a week long or longer stay next year. Convenience stores near by. About half way between Moses Lake and Othello. Large sights. Shade and grass. Excellant fishing!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Laura804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

this is one of the best state parks in washington. It is nice and open and quiet. It is off the main highway but worth the drive in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must see in Washington”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great lakes, great activities, great place for a vacation or a weekend get-a-way. Mar Don Resort is the place to call to find out more.

Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The primitive spots were wonderful and most provided tall trees for shade and privacy. You'll be grateful for the shade during the middle of the day when it gets pretty hot. It seemed to be a pretty good mix of families with little kids and childless adults looking for some grown-up fun. The vault toilets were a bit...odoriferous, but luckily the regular toilets and showers are just a short walk. Thankfully, we didn't encounter the mosquito hell that others mentioned, but there were a few and I can imagine it being worse at other times of year, considering the proximity of marshy parts of the reservoir.
Regarding the water, the boating and swimming area is a pretty short walk from the camp sites. On the weekends in summer it's very crowded, but the water is a nice temp and provides an excellent option for cooling off in the heat of the day. There's a bit of a current that can push a floater into the marshy areas, but my friends and I tethered ourselves to a buoy and relaxed. Next time we'll rent jet skis.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A mosquito haven.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is a very nice park. Just beware that if you go camping there in the spring, the mosquito will eat you a live. I've been camping in many state parks and have never seen this many mosquito concentration in a single place. It was a really scary experience for all of us.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank afaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potholes State Park also viewed

 

Been to Potholes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing