We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in an unexpected location”

Tuscano's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 73 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice food in an unexpected location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were driving through Monroe and decided to stop here for lunch. It was either this or the RedRobin next door. We like to pick local over chain restaurants. This turns out was ex-Canyons. The decor is still Canyons, except the menu. I had the italian tacos and it was awesome. Mini pizzas rolled like tacos with awesome chicken filings.

Good wine-beer options. Service was polite and attentive. Will definitely go here again if we have a stop in Monroe again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DetectiveMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    20
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just average.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I would have to say it's just average. The place was very noisy, the seating wasn't all that comfortable and we were stuck in an awkward location at the back. I was not terribly impressed with the menu, service or food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Italian in Monroe!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having longed for an Italian restaurant in Monroe for years, Tuscano's came in and fit the bill. The owners are dedicated to providing quality Italian cuisine to those of us who crave it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good place for a meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I still wish it was Canyons, but this place is ok. The pizza is good, the salads are good. Service is only ok. Atmosphere is loud. Value is middle of the road. Their bread pudding is not the same as it was when it was canyons and that was my favorite dessert of all time. I was completely disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheREALgregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great gluten-free menu”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My 10-year old daughter and I visited Tucano's for the first time as I had heard they had a good selection of gluten free options. Being celiac, this is hard to come by at times.

The atmosphere is family-friendly, comfortable and spaced nicely. My daughter loved the drawing paper table cloth and crayons and it kept us both entertained and engaged until our meal came.

My daughter had the children's Mio pizza, which was a thin, crisp crust cheese pizza. Nothing outstanding, but she said it was good (better than RR's across the street) and ate the whole thing, which surprised me, but is proof on its own. Her meal came with a sundae that was 'built' at our table. She thought this was something only reserved for your birthday. It's amazing what a little chocolate sauce, gummy bears, whip cream, rainbow sprinkles and a maraschino cherry can do for a child...of any age!

Myself, I had the small Caesar salad, which was typical and gluten free seafood linguine, which was excellent. The portion size was excellent (the left over was my lunch today), though I felt it was a little sparse with only three prawns. Overall very good and something I will have again. I would have liked the option of gluten free bread, roll or baguette as a side, especially being there is such an excellent GF bakery right next door to them, but hopefully it's something they will add soon.

The service was good, though not "over the top". We will definitely return again in the near future as a family and with friends!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank skydive14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscano's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tuscano's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing