We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I needed a getaway where I could wake up to the ocean & this spot was perfect! Shabby, but cozy-peaceful,but fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonstone Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. It was a warm, inviting, comfortable space that was affordable & (most importantly to me)dog friendly. The trip was for my eldest dog-child who is fighting a losing battle w/the cancer demon.We wanted him to have fun & feel loved. Jim & Patty made my wishes for him come true. I'd recommend the Moonstone to anyone looking for an inexpensive, but clean vacation to the ocean. I stayed in Rm 2 & also 8-both were self sufficient & headache free. We had everything we could need in both rooms! Just remember to bring coffee!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basenjiarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rustic, older accommodations - kitchen had what was needed and the beds were comfortable. It is steps from the beach, a real plus. Also quiet at night so no disturbed sleep! Management was friendly and accommodating. It was like having your own private cabin. The price was right!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This motel had everything we needed and wanted! The room had a great view, kitchen, extra bed and is dog friendly! The bed was so cozy and everything was clean and comfortable.
The manager was super friendly and even though we showed up after midnight, he checked us in with a smile!
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor..the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corinaandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I come to the Moonstone when I need to: not talk to humans, drink wine and stare at the ocean, dig my toes in some sand, and wake up to more of the same. If I had a lot of expendable income, I'd probably rent a private cabin on the Oregon coast somewhere, but the Moonstone is the next best thing.

The owner is super nice, the bed was surprisingly cozy, and the view is amazing.

It may be time for some new deck chairs, but otherwise a great ocean visit and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the Moonstone Beach Motel a couple of years ago. We loved it!!! For the price everything was (and still is) very satisfactory. The motel is older, but clean & comfortable, and the location is wonderful. Our first trip we had a great time and the managers awesome.
When booking the room over the phone I spoke with Patti. She was very friendly when we chatted, and even remembered us from our previous trip.
Upon arrival, Jim checked us in and he too was very friendly, remembering us from our previous trip.
After driving 3 hours and loading things into our room we were excited to be back and were walking around the upper deck. We showed a friend who was with us (thru the window), the room we stayed in previously. Then we came to the very last room on the 2nd floor that was much larger than ours, and could see it was empty through the sliding glass door. We were curious if that room might be a better one to rent on another trip because it it's size. The sliding glass door was unlocked so we entered and took a quick look around, then stepped back out. It's a motel room...there were no personal belongings. If there had been a sign of someone staying in the room, we would have never entered.
When we came out Patti was outside and angry with us. She made us feel that were were in there to steal something. She kept repeating that we entered a room without having any idea if it was occupied by someone else...why would we do that? I tried several times to assure her that we would never have entered the room had we saw signs of someone occupying it. I kept apologizing and said it would not happen again. She repeated herself a few more times, then shook her head as if disgusted, and walked away without saying another word. We did not see either manager for the rest of the weekend, but it sure did feel unwelcome for the next three days.
I who entered the unoccupied room, am a 51 year old woman and the other woman with me is 72 years old...we by no means looks like thiefs. But shame on us for not asking the managers if we could see the room first. We know better than that and will NEVER do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam58535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the outside, the Moonstone Beach Motel looks a little worse for wear. But don't be fooled because the parts that matter most are excellent. The room was cozy and warm on a rainy June weekend. The view was exceptional with nothing blocking the beach and ocean. I loved the little kitchen and it had everything I needed to cook delicious meals. And it was easy to manage my two wet dogs with the provided dog towels. I would not recommend room 3 for tall folks as the bathroom has a funky sloping ceiling that requires a bath or kneeling shower but for me, it was perfect for a bubble bath. But the most important part was that it was super clean and the bed was wonderfully comfortable with luxurious linens and towels. And then there's the beautiful, car-free beach where my doggies got to run and play for hours on end. On Saturday, the sun came out and we were treated to the most stunning sunset. This is a lovely place and a great, affordable getaway where you can bring your pets.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is my third stay at the Moonstone since 1999. I absolutely love this motel. It isn't elegant in any way, shape, or form, but it has a great location, helpful and friendly managers, and pretty much anything goes so long as you're being respectful of others. We just spent a sunny weekend here, and there were very few people on the beach. Very relaxing! The managers provided charcoal to help us use the grill for our steaks. They also provided good tips for places to go in the area. I recommend Seagate Bar and Restaurant. We ate dinner and breakfast here. Great food and large portions. Everything about our stay was positive. This is a great getaway for families, friends, etc. Just keep your expectations low re: pristine conditions. The linens and towels are clean, but the floors have sand in them and management depends on guests to clean up after themselves.

Room Tip: Room #5 has an oven in case you'd like to cook. It also has high ceilings for taller people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moclips
0.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
16.6 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
511 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
582 reviews
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Ocean Shores
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonstone Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonstone Beach Motel

Address: 4849 Pacific Ave, Moclips, WA 98562
Location: United States > Washington > Moclips
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Price Range: $142 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built over fifty years ago, the Moonstone Beach Motel is no more and a new 10 room building has opened as of September 2015. Sitting truly beachfront, the two story building, erected on concrete supports, overlooks the ocean. Rooms all include kitchens, wifi, cable TV, and superb vies of the ocean right in front of you. Lower level rooms are pet friendly. Rooms range from studios to one bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonstone Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonstone Beach Hotel Moclips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing