We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, Good View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Crest Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Good View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just got back from our trip (Oct, 2013) and stayed at the Ocean Crest Resort. We really enjoyed it. It was very clean. It does need to be updated. Our view was beautiful. The front staff was very friendly. We were impressed at how large the room was. That was a huge plus. It had a microwave and fridge. Plus a table with two chairs. We enjoyed the patio with great ocean views. I had a massage and really enjoyed it. She was very good. The hot water wasn't very good. It was room temperature one night and the next morning is was warm, then cold, then hot, then warm. That was a little annoying. I would stay there again. Over all it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 410 has a great view. Also has a fireplace. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCulinaryMadman, Manager at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am glad that you had such a great time staying with us. Room 410 is one of my favorite rooms too. The vaulted ceiling gives it a very open feel and since it is a corner room you get an ocean view to the West and you get to look down the beach to the South.

I am sorry to hear of the water issue. I don't know what to make of it since there have been no other reports, but we will make sure to keep our eye on it.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
67
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Recently stayed here with the family. It had all the things I look for in a beach stay-fireplace, good views, kitchenette, easy beach access. Very nice staff, good location & easy drive from Seattle.

On the less positive side, the facilities are in need of upgrading (or lower the price a bit). Walls & ceiling are thin, easy to hear neighbors, etc... Kitchenette had everything needed (except coffee filters. When I asked, I was assured that there was coffee in filter bags in the room. There wasn't). No worries, I had brought coffee and improvised with a paper towel. WiFi is spotty. Not a requirement for our family visit but if you go expecting to do some work while enjoying the view you may be disappointed.

The family all gave it an enthusiastic "thumbs up" so we'd go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view--definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCulinaryMadman, Manager at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Wow, that is a great picture you took from outside of room 601.

I am glad that you and the family had such a great time at the resort.

My grandparents purchased Ocean Crest Cottages in 1953 and we have grown over the years from 4 cabins to 45 rooms. Our rooms have been built at different times over the years, we even still have 1 of the original cabins.

WiFi is a bit of a tricky thing to broadcast to 7 different buildings through trees and being so close to tidal waters. Not only that, but different devices have different sensitivities and their software can play into the equation as well. The other tricky part is that we only have a 10Mbps connection at the resort for 43 rooms, Cedar Serenity Spa, and our Resort Office. I asked CenturyLink to move us up to the 40Mbps connection but since we are so rural they don't offer it out here. I guess what I am saying is that I know it is not perfect, but we have the best solution in place that is available to us.

We can't wait to see you and the family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stay at Ocean Crest Resort at Moclips several times a yr. Generally, we tend to go fall/winter/spring to avoid the summer crowds and during the week. Often there are specials e.g. 3 nights for price of 2, etc.
Ocean Crest is currently in the process of rebuilding some of the resort including the restaurant where there was a massive fire over a yr ago.
We usually stay in #401 which is a deluxe studio corner room with great view.
This wasn't available on this trip so we signed up for #601. This is a ground floor corner room with large living room & massive brick fireplace, full kitchen, 2 bedrooms with queens and bathroom. There is a great wood deck outside the sliding door where you can sit and enjoy the great ocean view. Inside there is a nice round dining table with 4 chairs and more great view., This marvelous unit was only a bit more than our usual room. The resort has a new wifi system which worked ever so much more quickly than it's predecessor. A Seattle Times is outside your room every morning.
The staff at the resort are generally upbeat, friendly folk. Unfortunately, at checkout we got a rather grumpy woman. She would not hear of our request to charge the current 3 for 2 special. Seems a poor way to handle returning customers!

Room Tip: Ocean Crest does NOT have any elevators so keep this in mind if you choose a 2nd floor accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I visited the Ocean Crest in early July for three days, attached to a business trip to Seattle. The drive is 2 1/2 to 3 hours, and the closer you get the more beautiful it becomes. We have stayed at the Ocean Crest five or six times over the past 20+ years. After our last stay, I read that the top shelf restaurant had burned. That fire did not impact any of the rooms. This time, we stayed on the third floor of the facility (last time, we stayed on the other side of the restaurant complex in a second floor room. The third floor room was perfectly adequate for our needs (coffee maker, microwave, small fridge, small table, sitting chairs, and the view of the beach and the ocean was stunning. A caution, this is a walk-up, so leave the heavy bags at home. The restaurant has always been a highlight, and its absence was felt. Breakfast was available in a restaurant on the former military compound, and this was perfectly adequate. In addition, there is a upscale planned community about 10 minutes south with a restaurant and quite adequate convenience store. Twenty minutes south is Ocean Shores with a casino, grocery store, several restaurants, souvenir stores, etc. Ocean Crest has a good management team, responsive to guests. During the last day we were at Ocean Crest, they began driving piles for a new restaurant. Ocean Crest sits right on the edge of the cliff overlooking the beach and ocean. This is not a location for driving waves and surf, but it is beautiful and peaceful. They are saying the restaurant will reopen in the Spring of 2014. We will be back. Even without the restaurant, this was a great base of operations for getting to the northern Olympic Peninsula, or for just seeing the beauty of this rather remote portion of the Peninsula.

Room Tip: The restaurant is on its way back, The higher rooms have the best view of the ocean. Room servicing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have a family reunion here every year and we love it. It is almost like home for anywhere from 12 to 48 of our extended family members from across the country. Even though the restaurant has not yet been rebuilt, we can barbecue and make potluck items prepared in individual rooms (many have full-size refrigerators). I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is, how clean the rooms, and how lovely the view overlooking the ocean from a fairly high cliff. There's a stairway down to the beach which is great exercise going back up after a romp, volleyball game (we bring) or run on the beach. There's a health club and pool for marco-polo games. Free daily firelogs for the in-suite fireplaces. Day trips to Quinault or many other destinations are terrific. Simply great!

Room Tip: There's a great variety of room types and amenities for every budget. Be sure to ask about view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCulinaryMadman, Owner at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you Louise. It is a pleasure hosting you and your family, we can't wait to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Old furniture,no AC, small fireplace, right next to road with lots of noise from neighbors -squeaky floors and toilets flushing. When trying to leave early they insist on paying for next night. Clean but no view from room 101 for $150 a night So dissatisfied checked out after paying $186 for first night check into Shilo for$90

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCulinaryMadman, Manager at Ocean Crest Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am so sorry that your room wasn't as you anticipated. Unfortunately we did not get to talk to you directly and there seemed to have been some confusion on the part of your companion who booked your room because he stated that he thought we had cabins. Perhaps he looked at many places online and got confused?

Being family owned since 1953 we do have some rooms older than others. The room your companion reserved was built in 1969, although there have been updates since then but the furniture is not brand new. We have 45 rooms with 21 amenities configurations to choose from. We don't like having disappointed guests so we tried to make your trip better by asking that you look at newer rooms that would fit your needs, but your companion declined.

Room 101 is a Ravine View 1 Bedroom with Queen Bed, Queen Hide-A-Bed, Efficiency Kitchen, Fireplace, Personal Balcony, and Wood Ravine View. There is also a Peek-A-Boo view of the Ocean from the Westward window in the living room, although we don't market the room as having an Ocean View. I don't know why you would state that there is no view because anybody can look at room 101 in the Booking Engine at our website (TripAdvisor does not allow me to put a link in my response). The rate with your discount is $141.95. While the fireplace is not large, it is the proper size to burn the Dura-Flame style log that we provide daily with your room. We ask that people not burn real wood due to an increased risk of chimney fire.

We also wrestle with the extra night charge for early departure, but Room Nights are real, perishable products. We only have 45 rooms on any given day to sell. If I only sell rooms 30 today I cannot sell 60 tomorrow in order to make up the difference. Since your companion reserved your room for 3 nights we held up our part of the agreement for more than a month and did not sell those room nights to anybody else. On one hand, when you want to check out early you are wanting us to take back a product with a 1 day shelf life, which seriously diminishes the likelihood of it being resold. On the other hand, if you wanted to keep your room for the 3 days you reserved and we told you to check out early because I sold it to somebody else, that would obviously be wrong of us.

I really wish that we could have shown you a room that was more to your liking, but I understand that sometimes when disappointment sets in we just want to go somewhere else. That is why we broke our own rules and did not charge you for the extra day. Hopefully you will come back and one of our many other rooms will be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This motel on the coast of Washington is almost one of the last places to stay before the road ends at the Indian Reservation. It has been in the family forever I think and they are doing a good job. The wonderful restaurant that they had, burnt down and they are in the process of rebuilding and should be done next Spring 2014.

They keep the rooms very clean and have added WiFi to each room which was a nice surprise. The room 105 that we rented was a one bedroom. The kitchenette was tiny with a small refrigerator that was okay since I had an ice chest that we brought. The living room was rather large and accomodated four of us playing games inside while the rains came. The view from this living room is spectacular. The hotel is situated high on a bluff above the ocean. They have a great stairway down to the beach. Did not count the stairs, could not even get the grandkids to count them either. One can drive to the beach within 5 minutes from it though, and it is at a place where driving on the beach is allowed. That is great

This room we had was a pet friendly room and well maintained. We had never traveled with a dog before so we really appreciated the warm water hose that we could spray the dog off with after running on the beach. There is also an indoor swimming pool that the grandkids really enjoyed on the one day that it rained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moclips
1.4 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
12.6 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
23.8 mi away
Lake Quinault Lodge
Lake Quinault Lodge
#1 of 2 in Quinault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
15.4 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Resort

Property: Ocean Crest Resort
Address: 4651 Highway 109, PO Box 7, Moclips, WA 98562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Moclips
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moclips
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Crest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"You simply won't find a more spectacular spot anywhere on the Washington coast." - Frommer's Washington State 7th EditionOcean Crest Resort is a quaint resort on the Washington Coast, perched on a 100' bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, in the sleepy little town of Moclips. Our 45 rooms are spread out in 7 different buildings to blend in with the natural surroundings. While many of our rooms are similar, there are 17 different amenities configurations to choose from.At Ocean Crest Resort you won't pay additional cleaning, parking, or resort fees and you have access to the indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, and exercise room at Cedar Serenity Spa at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Crest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Moclips
Ocean Crest Moclips

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing