We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Islander

The Islander
Ranked #27 of 47 Restaurants in Mercer Island
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
284 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was a very enjoyable time and excellent meal at a retaurant which has been here for a long time. Service was excellent and our food was outstanding. Would love to come again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I sat at the bar and ordered a glass of wine and a burger. The wine was good, but a little overpriced. I paid $9 for the same wine that's $7 elsewhere (but $2 no biggie). I had the Kobe ultimate burger. It was awesome! Cost is $15. The bottom part of the bun ended up falling apart because of all the liquid from the burger and dressing. But it didn't matter - I just got more napkins. Fries were good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comingtoyourcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We eat here regularly because it's good food and a good value. The service is good and the atmosphere is comfortable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jk4265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went to The Islander with a half price SocialLiving voucher. We paid too much! The service was mediocre. The food was inferior and the place was dirty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjacroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Chronically Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Islander has gone through many iterations over the years, and while it has promise it just hasn't figured out what it wants to be. It's probably our least favorite place on MI just because the food isn't that great. They used to have better choices, but then they decided to go more upscale (probably to compete with Bennett's). It would be great if they could just offer really good bar food at a reasonable price.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Islander also viewed

 
Mercer Island, WA
 

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing