We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade!”

Rain Country Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in McCleary
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Homemade!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This local restaurant has homemade pies, pastries and cinnamon rolls. It is a cafe atmosphere with espresso to boot. Basic good food is offered. The homemade soup is delicious; other luncheon items were very good. Fresh turkey (not deli sliced) was used in my turkey sandwich. All is high quality. This is the place to eat when in this small town. The gift shop area has local artists' work at local prices. A good find!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerwmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great breakfast place”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped in to the Rain Country Rest. for breakfast. The place has a nice small town atmosohere. Everyone there was very freindly and we felt very comfortable. I was reminded of the 1960's when I was there. There were some handmade crafts for sale. The place was clean and had a few locals there all of who were friendly to us. I had the corned beef hash and my wife had bacon and eggs. The portions were good and we enjoyed our meal.
If your heading to the coast on Highway 8 and want some down home cooking I would recommend this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stopped in on the way to the coast after seeing good reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews are spot on. Friendly, attentive waitress, the menu was vast. Our food delivered fast, it was hot, flavorful and plentiful. I had a ham and cheese omelet that was full of fillings with fluffy eggs, the hash browns were not greasy and had a hint of butter taste, perfectly cooked. The rest of our group seemed equally pleased with their choices. Prices were very fair. Will stop in again on our way to the coast or will make a special drive when visiting relatives in Shelton.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hppy2bme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Go For The Pie!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stopped here on our way up the west coast of the Olympic Peninsula just because the exit sign said there was food to be had. So glad we did. The fish entrees were quite good and very much all fresh made with attention to quality. The real treat was the Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie fresh made that afternoon. Rather out of the way stop but it met our needs very well. Would go back again should we be in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Maybe we didn't order the right thing”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stopped on our way to the coast from Seattle - it was good but not great. My daughter enjoyed her "grilled PB&J" and my son seemed to like his english muffin pizza. We didn't try to the pie - but probably should have. If we are hungry while passing the McCleary exit again, we will probably stop but will would not make a special trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattle099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rain Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing