We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost River Time”
Review of Lost River Resort

Lost River Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost River Resort
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Lost River resort is a special place to get away and enjoy a vacation the way it was meant to be...relaxed. The cabins are perfect for a family to use as homebase while you enjoy the local emenities. The Mazama store is a few miles down the road, or take a trip into nearby Winthrop. Our family has found our new Vacation spot!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uglycousin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

Heaven! Great cabins lots of room on the property for our family to explore and get away from the hectic weekly routines in Seattle. Good proximity to other sites of interest nearby, hiking, fishing and so much more... We will be back. Thank you Lost River!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCRSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We took our family to the Lost River Resort and it was one of our best vacations ever. Located about 10 miles outside Mazama, WA, Lost River Resort offers the perfect escape. When you drive into the resort you will immediately feel at peace surrounded by the beautiful trees and mountains. The individual cabins are perfect for any family. I highly recommend Lost River Resort if you want to reconnect with your family and let your kids experience the great outdoors the way it was meant to be.

Room Tip: Bring fishing gear....great river just walking distance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The property is surrounded by peaks on three sides. There was 2 1/2 feet of snow on the ground. Our kids had a great time sledding and playing in the snow all weekend. The Mazama general store is monutes down the road for basic supplies. There are miles of snowy trails for x-country skiing or snowmobiling. My only complaint is that they don't make the weekends long enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Tthis is located 10 minutes from Mazama. You stay in one of several duplexes. They are knotty wood interiors and if that conjurs up an image that is just what they look like. This place has not been "found" yet so when there are no space available in town go here. Very quiet. They also have about 5 large RV sites that are never used and have hookups and no need to back up. I like how I am treated here

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wahseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We visited here two nights during the Olympic winter festival. There are six "cabins," four of which are duplexes, located at the end of the plowed road past Mazama. It's definately not in walking distance to any of the quaint shops, but we weren't here for that anyway. Timewise, it's about 10 minutes from Mazama and about 25 minutes from Winthrop (which is kind of the central hub of the valley).

It's not a motel, so you don't check-in. After you make your reservations, you get a cryptic e-mail stating that both the directions to the room and further instructions will follow. Two weeks before your arrival, they charge your card and give you a code to the keybox outside your door. Warning! Once they confirm your reservation two-weeks before your arrival, you can't cancel. I don't know if the policy applies in the summertime, but we would have cancelled due to the poor snow conditions - which were impossible to predict 14 days early!

Anyway, onto the room itself. We stayed in the end of one of the duplex cabins. The interior was nicely refinished in natural wood panel. It has a full kitchen with microwave, coffee pot, etc. The cooking pans were the only items that weren't usable, as the coating was worn off. There is a full bed and a horrible foldout couch. We brought a pad for one of the kids, but between that and the hide away, there was no room to walk! The shower stall was homemade and leaked profusely. The water pressure was excellent and hot. Poor lighting throughout, but it added to the cabin atmosphere. No TV or internet, thank God! Bring some cards or board games and you are set. There was a funky little boombox in the corner, which received two stations. My kids were surprised that Dad knew the words to so many "oldies!" (80's). There is a little stove in the corner and some split wood between the duplexes, which worked fine to heat it. There's also a baseboard heater. No housekeeping, we found some towels in the bathroom dresser to use.

Although a little shabby, it was a nice place to relax at the end of the day. The Methow Valley is beautiful and a great place to visit year round!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azengebretsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost River Resort

Address: 681 Lost River Rd, Mazama, WA 98833-9709
Location: United States > Washington > Mazama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mazama
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing