We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge in a beautifulsetting”
Review of Freestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Freestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Mazama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Freestone in is a beautiful rustic Inn located just outside of one of the most beautiful places in America: The Northern Cascades in the State of Washington. This place is absolutly majestic. Having visited almost every National Park in the United States I would say this is in the top three. Getting back to the Inn; it is beautiful, comfortable and in a great location if you like the outdoor life of hiking, biking, climbing and sightseeing.
It has a very good gourmet restaurant that serves dinner, no lunch. The buffet breakfasts were disappointing ala Hampton Inn. Overall this was a gem for us and would be for most people who enjoy the great outdoors. Has its own beach and pool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ji1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for two nights in a cabin on the Early Winters Creek. This facility is fairly new with a small inn and around 15 or so cabins. The cabins are well equipped with all the modern conveniences and well spaced so as not to be on top of each other. Very private. My unit had a dishwasher, electric stove, microwave, etc. The facility has a hot tub and pool and is nicely situated to take advantage of its natural surroundings. Feels like it was gently placed in its locale with minimum disturbance to the natural setting. Dinner was exceptional. Free WiFi in the hotel lobby. Staff friendly, competent, and able to quickly solve problems as they arose (like my locking myself out of my cabin around 11PM). Only drawback was that the dining room was not open for breakfast or lunch. Closest town (and grocery store) is 15 miles away. Bring food...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We arrived here with our 3 kids ages 18-23 after driving 3 hours from San Juans. We passed thru fantastic North Cascade park. Our plan was to stay at Freestone and then spend the days hiking in the park. The lodge and setting is beautiful;. Probably one of the nicest suites I have stayed in. Property has a small manmade lake and is in a valley so some nice mtns in distance.Hot tub is in a beautiful setting.
We planned on staying 2 night but left after one becasue there was not much nearby to do. It was an hour drive to get back to the main hiking trails in the national park. We took a 5 mile hike ( Cutthroat) near the resort that was nice but not special. It is 16 miles to a town with a place to eat. Winthrop is cute with a western look. Good places to eat and shop.
Our check in was a little rough. When we drove up at 2 PM the parking lot was deserted yet the staff person was not sure she would let us check in before 3. When we asked for a key for each guest in our group she make a crack that she doubted she would get all the keys back. Then out of the blue, she told our 22 yo son to bring a sheet of paper to a staff person in another room ( did not ask , told him to do it. Not sure what that was about but he complied.)
Bottom Line: I think this would be a place for couples or for family XC skiers in winter. Not so good in Summer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stpauliewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Overall a great place. I think there a few things one should know, however.
One comes here to escape, no doubt. But, I think they should inform potential guests that there is NO cell service and calling out involves dialing 1-800-CALLATT at God knows what cost. There is wireless. They should have calling cards at the front desk for purchase or gratis.

The setting is beautiful. The food in the dinning room was fantastic. The wine list was a bit limited.

The rooms are 4 star, no better or worse. I found the front desk personnel not particularly helpful, for what its worth. We had planned to stay 2 days but settled for one. It just wasnt what I was looking for but I can blame myself as much as the Inn.

If you are looking for solitude this is the place. If you want options and action, look elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gktmd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayes here with my inlaws. My husband and I took a cabin and his parents stayes in the lodge. Yes the rooms may not be ceap - but they are in general good and have all the facilities you will need.

The food is excellent, the best I have had since moving to the NW and the wine list wilst not vast was good and extremely well priced.

A great place to stay away!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Highbank-Condo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Enjoyed a romantic night with my husband in a beautiful room with a fireplace. We dined at the restaurant and enjoyed Alaskan Salmon with a Saffron cream sauce over a sticky rice cake. The sauce was delectable and the service provided by Denise was outstanding! From the restaurant and our room we had a view of the lake which was exceptional with the snow dazzling like diamonds from the moonlight.

The next morning I found the deep-size bath tub to be the perfect spot to enjoy a cup of gourmet coffee. While sitting in the bath tub, I had a view of the fireplace through the french sytle windows which just added another elegant touch. Additonally, we enjoyed a coffee nudge in the charming and cozy library which is tucked away from the main common area of the lodge. The main area offers an enormous fireplace where you can gather around on cushy chairs and enjoy a beverage while enjoying the company you are with.

Freestone Inn is certainly a Gem!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

For years we would take an annual week trip to the Freestone to enjoy skiing right from one of their charming cabins. We have now purchased our own cabin in the Methow Valley, but still frequent the Freestone to enjoy the meals. We brought guests there in January so they could enjoy the beautiful atmosphere, great service and consistently excellent food. They gave it an enthusiastic thumbs up. Not only were all of our entries yummy, even the small dishes got us sampling off of each others plate. Taste the tomato jam!, Yep it sounds strange, but we all loved it. The chief took the time to stop by our table to see how everything was. Now that shows how important it is to the Freestone for their guests to enjoy what this wonderful place has to offer.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Winthrop98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazama
14.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
14.6 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
14.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
15 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestone Inn

Address: 31 Early Winters Dr, Mazama, WA 98833-9704
Location: United States > Washington > Mazama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mazama
Price Range: $108 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for their year-round comfort and appeal, the Inn, Cabins and Lodges provide the perfect get-away for not only the avid outdoors person, but also those who want nothing more than to simply relax.The Freestone Inn accommodates 21 rooms, a whiskey bar(currently under construction), conference room and a three story great room with stone fireplace. Our restaurant is located in the great room and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Freestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestone Hotel Mazama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing