We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok.”
Review of Freestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Mazama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just Ok.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First off, this was a nice little getaway. The lodge is beautiful and our room was clean.
However, I think being that it is a slow part of the season and we were only the 2nd couple in the lodge for the night, I would have thought the price would be cheaper for the slower season, as many places do lower their rates to attract more guests. I appreciate that the staff left breakfast in our room for the morning since it wouldn't be served since lack of guests. Yet, once again for almost $200 a night a better breakfast would be appreciated, hard boiled pre packaged eggs, and expired yogurt don't seem good do they. Yes, their was a few other items like scones which were average. I would also hope they would consider having coffee in the lobby prepared for guests just in case the power goes out (Not their fault, but a thought).
T.V. channels, horrible (a nice way to spend night after dark). By, spa just something to look into it smells like propane?? Maybe a heating source??
In the end we would not stay here again, not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCamper6511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear HappyCamper6511,

Thank you for your thoughts and for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of the lodge and the room. We should mention that we frequently offer specials for our rooms on our website, including a 3 night stay during your visit for $399. In rare circumstances, such as in the middle of the week just before our annual spring and autumn closures, we set up breakfast in guest rooms our guests. As mentioned in response to a previous review, the issue with our TV channel lineup has been for the most part rectified. We hope that you will return to visit the Methow Valley again..

Best regards,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
132
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited here recently for three days on the occasion of our anniversary and my wife's birthday, both of which fall on the last weekend of September. Freestone is someplace I've known about for several years and this year seemed like a good time to give it a try.

We read variable reports by previous reviewers and it seemed that there were two strongly differing views-- people either loved the place or the reverse.

We loved the setting of course, but the Inn itself is really quite lovely. We found the staff friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the wait staff in the restaurant. Our standard 'deluxe' room was very nice, with a great view of the lake from a private balconey, a lovely bed and a large gas fireplace set in a stone hearth. A bathroom tub and separate shower made this a nice 'deluxe' room that really felt deluxe.

But there were a few things worth mentioning. Non were deal-breakers, but given the right circumstances they could be troublesome for some so they're worth mentioning.

First off, we visited the restaurant on the first night. We ordered drinks and an appetizer to start followed by the salad and main entree. The drinks and salad arrived, but the waiter didn't bring our appetizer and seemed to lose track of the fact that we weren't getting our entrees either. After an hour we asked another waitress if she could check on our meal and within a few minutes our original waiter showed up with the main entrees and apologized for the error. (and eventually brought our original appetizer to our table for free). For a meal that we were paying $150 for this should never have been mishandled.

Despite this the dinner was great. I had the pork chops and my wife had the ribeye which we shared with each other. Both were wonderful, some of the best meals we've had in a long time. We revisited on our third night and decided to have the petite sirloin steaks, they were equally delicious. The restaurant here really shines and its no surprise that many locals come here for dinner as well, so don't delay getting your reservation in each day.

The continental breakfast provided with the room was okay. Wonderful scones, but my wife was disappointed that the oatmeal just wasn't very hot. And the hot water for tea was just left out on the counter in a metal pitcher, so the tea was lukewarm at best. (We've learned to always carry our own hot pot to make our own tea in our room, as nobody ever really understands that you have to have HOT water to make a decent cup of tea). At least if the hot water had been put in a thermos type dispenser like the coffee it would have been much hotter. Little things for sure, but attention to these little details make a big impression.

The only thing that was odd about our room was the gas fireplace. It was lovely, but getting it switched on was a bit of a trick. There's a wall switch like a light that you turn on and off, but when you turn it on nothing happens. At first we switched it back and forth to see if we could get the main burners to fire up, but nothing happened. We must have inadvertently left it in the 'on' position because about 10 minutes later it suddenly roared to life. So, we learned that in order to switch on the fireplace you have to turn it on, then wait. Sometimes 10-20 minutes. On our last morning it took nearly an hour to turn itself on. No big deal, but still we spent a fair amount of time enjoying a romantic pilot light while we waited for the burners to kick on.

Room service was unreliable. On our first full day no one showed up until after 4:30 PM. They were very polite about it, but my wife finds it especially annoying when she puts out the 'please clean the room now' door sign when we leave for the day and no one shows up.

We didn't come to watch TV, but its worth mentioning that their satellite TV service was severely restricted in the number of channels it received (due to all the lightening storms in the area, according to the front desk). We're not football fans, but some visitors were I'm sure wanting to watch one of the big games going on that weekend. No big deal for us though.

We really liked the Freestone and we hope to come back again soon. I'd love to do some mountain biking on the local trails sometime, and skiing out of Jacks Hut would be great fun as well. I suppose the take-away one has of the Inn is based in part on your expectations. Its a charming, lovely facility in an equally lovely outdoor setting. Our overall impression was that there's probably just too few staff here to really do the level of work to make the Inn perfect. Perhaps that was because of relatively off-season time of year? If you can roll with this, you'll be have a wonderful relaxing time in a classic northwest setting.

Room Tip: roms 7 and 8 had the best views of the lake on our section of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoTravelerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear PhotoTravelerDan,

Thank you for choosing the Freestone Inn for your special occasion getaway. We appreciate your thorough review and the time you took to write it. I'm sorry to learn that the initial night's dining room service was not well orchestrated. The hot water for breakfast is supposed to be in a thermos carafe, and I apologize for that. We will address that internally here.

As to the fireplace pilot lights, those have truthfully been a pesky issue for us that we have worked with a few propane technicians to resolve. We will continue to pursue a resolution which will hopefully be reached by the time you return. As to the TV, we had an unusual number of thunderstorms in September, which evidently took out some of our receivers. It has taken a great deal of persistence to get the satellite TV provider out to our isolated location to make the necessary repairs, and as of a few days ago, the channels have mostly been restored. As to the timing of housekeeping service, it is standard practice in smaller hotels such as ours to clean checked out rooms first to prepare for incoming arrivals, while rooms staying over are cleaned later in the afternoon.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the dining experience, the room and the general setting of the Methow Valley, and hope that you will come back to stay again.

Yours truly,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This place won my heart. You roll in and it is jaw dropping gorgeous. We walked in and were greeted by friendly staff who went over the facility with us. When we got to our room I was totally amazed. I was not expecting that sort of accommodations out in the middle of nowhere. As soon as we got settled we walked over to Jack's Hut. The staff there we very friendly and helpful with maps and info. I surprised to see a clothing shop in there. I was just expecting to see a kiosk and a coffee station. The best part was our dining experience. Ana was spot on with her wine suggestion and the food was amazing. This will be a yearly destination for us for sure. Thanks Freestone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltraveled1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear welltraveled1973,

Upon reading your review, it sounds like you enjoyed almost everything the Freestone has to offer. I'm glad to hear that your room wowed you and exceeded your expectations. Friendly, warm professional service is what we strive to provide, and it seems that you received it. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to Ona - she takes copious notes during wine tastings and frequently refers back to them to ensure that she makes the most astute recommendations to pair with our food. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that we can continue to delight you.

Warm regards,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this wonderful place at the top of the Methow Valley. We loved our room and everyone from the front desk person, maid service to the owners made us feel welcome and appreciated. My husband caught trout in the lake in front of the lodge. The dinners are incredible-we ate at the restaurant both nights we were there. I highly recommend this place as a getaway for a few days.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite. It was a corner room on the first floor. We had a huge wrap around deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoFIshSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear GoFishSeattle,

It is always a pleasure to host and serve guests such as yourselves here at the Freestone Inn. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our people, our dining and the entire experience. Too bad we couldn't prepare the trout for you too! I will pass your comments along to our chef and staff. We hope you will come back soon and often.

Yours sincerely,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Freestone Inn is in a beautiful location and the views were spectacular from our lodge room. The rooms were spacious and pretty quiet, never any issues with noise. The deck is really nice though lacking privacy as the partitions separating the decks do not extend far enough. The soaking tub in the room was a nice way to unwind at night. We did have one issue though, bed comfort! If the owners want to improve the sleep quality of the guest, this is a must.

We found the customer service to be extremely attentive. Continental breakfast is included in the stay and one morning we were off for a before the dining area opened so I asked to see if we could get an apple & orange "to go". The host went to the kitchen and arranged for a packed breakfast to take with us (boiled eggs, banana bread & apples) so thoughtful. Also for dinner one night the waiter moved us to a window seat after a reservation had been cancelled. The front desk staff and the owners were also very helpful with hiking suggestions and running trails in the area.

There is a pool which is noted as being closed on Labor Day "weather dependent". During our stay the weather was nearly 90 degrees on all 3 days so it's too bad the pool wasn't open after a long day hiking or running.

The food in the restaurant was really good but on the high end $$$. The cost of our meals was nearly the same cost as our room each night (appetizer, main, desert and a couple of drinks). Jack's hut offers lunch but again expensive ($9 for a grilled cheese). Hop over the the Mazama store for amazing reasonable lunch options.

We found the grounds to be quiet and tranquil in a natural setting and are plenty of options for activities or you could just sit and do nothing.

We stayed at Freestone for an anniversary celebration. Upon making the reservation they asked if we were celebrating any occasion during our stay and we mentioned our anniversary. I expected there would be some type of simple recognition such as a card in the room, candles at dinner, etc... but there was nothing. I'm fine with nothing because this is special for us as a couple but why ask the question?

All in all we had a great time in the Methow Valley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liv2xplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear liv2explore,

Thank you for staying with us at the Freestone Inn and for your thoughtful comments. I'm glad to hear that you found our team helpful and attentive, which is what we strive for. The breakfast to go and the move to a better table were nice touches. However, I'm sorry to learn that despite inquiring about a special occasion, nothing was done to acknowledge it during your stay - definitely a missed opportunity to surprise and delight.

We do indeed close our pool around Labor Day, weather depending. It would have been difficult to reopen the pool for the brief period of 90 degree weather after chemically winterizing it after nighttime lows started to dip into the 30s. It seems that we have an opportunity to explore food pricing and value with you. Although we love the quaint local store you mention, we have rarely gotten out of there with a couple sandwiches and sodas for under $25 (our grilled cheese is actually $6). Generally speaking, a couple dining in our restaurant spends about $100, so I'm assuming that you either stayed on a special room deal or hopefully had a more extravagant dinner than we typically see here.

I'm thrilled to hear that you loved the food, the tranquil atmosphere and the opportunities for outdoor recreation. We will be certain to share your review with our staff.

Best regards,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place seems to think they own the scenery and can charge high prices for that alone. They offer very low service and low quality everything else. We stayed in a cabin for three nights. They gave us key at check in and zero service from there. We had to ask, and chase down staff for towels, twice. I paid 549.00 for three nights. I expected quality soap, shampoo, towels, robes, slippers and clean floors - but none of that. It was basically one notch better than motel 8. Oh, and the air conditioner spit out water onto the bed, hence no air. The kitchen was sparsely stocked with utensils that came from a dollar store. And I was warned to be sure to clean all dishes at check out or be charged, really?, who is paying who the 549.00 bucks? What else....the pool was closed. It was almost 90 degrees everyday , and the pool is closed for season? That is just lazy. Worn out mattress and flat pillows. There is more, but unless you like to be ripped off, pass this one by. They have not invested any money into these rooms and it shows.
If this hotel, as is, was located in a normal town or normal location, it would be considered a 2 star place trying to pass itself off as 5 star.
I actually feel like I was take advantage of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoyamakobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear aoyamakobe,

We appreciate the time that you took to write a review of our property. It seems as though there may have been a misunderstanding as to what to expect with our cabins. The cabins are operated as vacation rentals, and we definitely market them as a more rustic alternative to accommodations in the main lodge, which are more well-appointed. We advertise our pool as being open from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend - since your stay was after Labor Day it was closed. Currently, we use the Natura line of botanical amenities, which are a better quality line, however, we don't advertise our cabins as having robes and slippers. We are currently reviewing our furnishings and amenities in the cabins, and plan some upgrades in the coming months. Again, thank you for your comments. We are glad to have the opportunity to address them and thank you for your stay.

Yours truly,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been coming to the Freestone Inn for over 10 years and I am disappointed to see the current level of service.We travel with our dog and we love the cabins and their privacy. We were on the deck with our dog and the waiter stated that" no food or beverage can be served there."I brought to his attention that this was OK when I was here in July. He said that there were new owners and that the policy was stated on the card affixed to the table (with electrical ties). This card only stated that you could not bring your own food and drink to the deck, which is fine with me. The waiter then said" For the third time, I have stated quite clearly it is noted on the table (which it is not) that you cannot order food out here." He then stated "don't shoot the messenger". Kevin, the manager, then came out and stated that there is a problem with bees attracted to food on the deck. That's fine and Kevin was very friendly. Very disappointing to see this lack of customer service as I have recommended this property to a friend for her daughter's wedding! (I will let her know)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 467Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear 467Linda,

Thank you for your review and for your ongoing visits. There may be a misunderstanding here, which I apologize for. We do serve drinks on our patio, but don't serve dinners there, which is our policy. We want to ensure that every dining experience is stellar and we don't feel that we can deliver to our standard outside. It is unfortunate that the server stated the policy in the manner mentioned despite restating it three times, which we have addressed. I'm glad to hear that our dining room host Kevin was able to explain the issue to your satisfaction. Again, we appreciate your comments.

Yours truly,

Kerry Kozuki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazama
14.8 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
381 reviews
14.6 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
311 reviews
15.1 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
145 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestone Inn

Property: Freestone Inn
Address: 31 Early Winters Dr, Mazama, WA 98833-9704
Location: United States > Washington > Mazama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mazama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Freestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for their year-round comfort and appeal, the Inn, Cabins and Lodges provide the perfect get-away for not only the avid outdoors person, but also those who want nothing more than to simply relax.The Freestone Inn accommodates 21 rooms, a whiskey bar(currently under construction), conference room and a three story great room with stone fireplace. Our restaurant is located in the great room and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Freestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestone Hotel Mazama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing