We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freestone Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sun Mountain Lodge(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Rio Vista(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Methow River Lodge & Cabins(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Gardner Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$125
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AbbyCreek Inn(Winthrop)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Manning Park Resort(Manning Park)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
152
61
18
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
61
18
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth cascadesjack's huthot tubmethow valleygas fireplacethe main lodgelog lodgetrail systemcross countryview of the lakemazama storegroomed trailsday hikingthe entire propertyking sizegeneral storerestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 242 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days while we hiked in the Cascades. The inn is in the rain shadow, which in our case didn't matter, but during a lot of the year would. The town of Wintrop is fun to stroll around after hiking. Good icecream and bookstores and a fun Western feel. The inn had everything you would want - both a pool and a pond to swim in, a good restaurant, and a large clean cabin with wifi, tv, a grill, a kitchen. We loved cabin 3 on the creek and very private. You could listen to the water go by at night. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose cabin 3
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear happyarchitect,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed a lot of what the Methow has to offer - hiking, Winthrop and just general relaxation. I appreciate your thorough review and would be pleased to welcome you back on your next trip.

Best regards,

Kerry Kozuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Freestone Inn in Mazama really lived up to all the other wonderful reviews! The Inn is tucked away off a busy road so you feel like you are a million miles away from everything. Check in was a breeze with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. When we opened the door to our luxury king room I was thrilled! The room was meticulously clean and very tastefully decorated. There was a gorgeous stone fireplace and a small patio with comfortable chairs and a table overlooking the serene lake! We sat outside for quite awhile looking at the beautiful night sky. The bathroom was really great too with a large soaking tub. There was a continental breakfast in the morning with just some basics but the banana bread was amazing!! We hope to get back to this fantastic lodge again so that we can enjoy some of the other amenities that we didn't have time for this trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OakRidgeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear OakRidgeGirl,

I'm so glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience here at the Freestone Inn. Thank you for noticing things like the staff, the cleanliness and even the banana bread! And of course the night sky, which is beautiful here. We hope that you will get back here soon for some mountain R&R.

Sincerely,

Kerry Kozuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a beautiful, peaceful location to stay while touring Northern Cascade Loop. Has a very rustic feeling. Could use a little more choice for breakfast as there are few places to dine before a day of hiking. Still, would definitely stay there again. Allows you to completely feel like you have "gotten away from it all."

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1989_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Traveler1989_34,

Thank you for your kind review of the Freestone Inn. We have had other comments like yours about our breakfast, so have recently increased the selection of items and have also added hot oatmeal with dried cranberries, raisins and brown sugar. We are glad that you felt that you had gotten away from it all and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Kerry Kozuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just spent a long weekend at the gorgeous log Rainbow Lodge at the Freestone Inn. Don't let the rustic exterior fool you! It's a perfectly appointed log lodge with a fully equipped kitchen, decorator designed living and dining area with a flat screen, and a floor to ceiling river rock fireplace. The two bedrooms are quite large with spa-like en suite baths and plenty of storage. Whether you're relaxing in a rocker on the deck over looking the lake or curled up in front of a cozy chair by the fire, this log "cabin" is a beautiful serene retreat!
We enjoyed the hiking trails and rode our bikes down the back roads to Mazama and Winthrop for shopping and dining. We have also skied miles of the world class groomed cross-country trails that are right outside the door of Rainbow. This rates a full 5 stars year round!! (I almost hate to share this as I know this will be booked solid when folks discover the Rainbow Lodge)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Sharon I,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Kerry Kozuki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a great 4 night stay at the inn. The rooms are clean and cozy. We stayed on the first floor which had french doors that opened up to the deck and view of the water. I would definitely stay here again and was very sad to leave.

Room Tip: stay on the first floor...quick access to the lawn and star gazing at night
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHARTY0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry K, Owner at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear SHARTY0505,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us for the 4 nights. We enjoyed getting to know you and we were glad that you took advantage of the hiking (you said that Maple Pass was your #2 best day hike ever!) and mountain biking opportunities here in the Methow. I hope to see you back here soon in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews