We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the center”

Hibulb Cultural Center
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Marysville
Attraction details
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really did enjoy the center and the displays, we went early summer and they had some gardening displays that we copied into ours. I can still remember the smell of cedar in the longhouse. We went in on one of the free days, so certainly a bargain, and it was not crowded like I thought it might be on a free entry.

Thank wanttotravelmore308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Social Media Manager at Hibulb Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! Yes, I LOVE the smell of cedar in the longhouse. There are so many fun little details inside Hibulb, you find more each time you visit. Hope to see you again soon!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white settlers"
in 3 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 3 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 2 reviews
"pacific northwest"
in 3 reviews
"longhouse"
in 7 reviews
"culture"
in 7 reviews
"tribe"
in 14 reviews
"native"
in 14 reviews
"depth"
in 3 reviews
"information"
in 11 reviews
"washington"
in 4 reviews
"realistic"
in 2 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good interactive displays and excellent layout and very informative. Facility also hosts events during the year which adds to total experience. Great way to gain more knowledge of the local history and heritage.

Thank fsjpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Social Media Manager at Hibulb Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. Please tell all your friends - we love having new visitors come in and see what we have to offer. Best,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It is beautifully appointed and features a concise explanation of Native history and experiences..the Warriors exhibit is fantastic.
It has interactive features great for young and old alike. Enter a world of cedar and rich cultural heritage.

5  Thank LuxuryAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Social Media Manager at Hibulb Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We appreciate you coming to Hibulb, and we hope you tell all your friends about it. See you again soon!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

this place was the best, Very interesting. If you like history you must go. It's a tribute to the Coast Salish people. The exhibit takes you back hundreds of years before the white settlers and demonstrates how the native people of Puget Sound lived, worked, wove, carved, celebrated, worshiped and passed on their history through stories.

Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben R, Social Media Manager at Hibulb Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Yes! Bob, I'm so glad you got to check out Hibulb. It's such a rare gem, and you describe it beautifully. We hope to see you there again sometime. Many thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hibulb Cultural Center is on the Tulalip Indian Reservation, home to four northwest coast tribes. It's about 35 miles north of Seattle, a mile west of I-5. It was created by the tribes themselves. It has a small but interesting collection of artifacts, highlighted by 3 old canoes. The museum tells the story of the four tribes and contains an interesting recontruction of a longhouse which is used for ceremonies by tribal members. We bought a beautiful cedar basket made by a tribal member. Well worth a visit by anyone interested in native American history and culture.

2  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hibulb Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Hibulb Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing