We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Inn!”
Review of Buffalo Run Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marblemount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Little Inn!”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at Buffalo Run for three nights midweek while we explored North Cascades National Park. Location was great- closest you can get without camping to the park. Our room was very nice- COMFY linens, recently renovated. The hospitality of the owner and staff was great too.

Had a great Buffalo steak at the restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Thank You for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    101
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
48
139
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The Buffalo Run Inn is cozy, vintage and most importantly clean. The room had huge beds with down comforters, comfy pillows and it was just great. It had a small fridge to make use of, coffee pot, tv and air conditioning (which can be hard to find in lodging around the NP areas of the Pacific Northwest.)

Bathroom was spotless. Continental breakfast was nice; breads, bagels, hard boiled eggs, muffins, cereals, waffles, coffee, typical fare offered in do it yourself style - just please clean up after yourself when you are finished so that the next guests can have a pleasant experience as well.

Everything was clean and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
The restaurant across the street also had very tasty food, but fills up fast during the peak season. Plan early or plan to wait. The cost of food around the parks is always a little pricey but that's everywhere, so just account for that in your budget.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilwolfe006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank You for the 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

we spent a single night at The Buffalo Run Inn - it was perfectly pleasant - the room 10 had two bedrooms - large, comfy, fresh, clean and with all the appropriate room amenities. We enjoyed eating apricots fresh off the tree in the courtyard and playing with their wonderfully unique game on the front lawn near the river (A very pretty, well maintained lawn and setting). We did not use the indoor pool however stopped in to check it out - looked neat. The staff were pleasant and helpful. A good peaceful location and short-walk into the small town - a comfortable home base - we would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank You for the great 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Don’t be misled by the modest exterior of the Buffalo Run Inn. Our room was very comfortable, cheerfully decorated, amazingly quite, spotless, with everything (heating/cooling, lighting, plumbing) in top working condition. A very adequate continental breakfast was provided in a comfortable dining room. Don’t expect a back-to-nature experience at the Inn: the grounds of the property are dedicated to parking. However, the Inn and services (restaurants, grocery, service station, post office) at Marblemount provide a nice base for exploring North Cascades National Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Very nice. We arrived very late and stayed upstairs in a hostel room where the shared baths are newly and nicely re-modeled. An excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlengland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

There's no other inn close enough for the Cascades and the owner knows it. The room was clean, but small and noisy from the street and the neighbours (you can hear talking, sneezing, laughing through the walls). The service is poor. Before booking, I was twice assured that the room had wireless internet access. When I complained it wasn't working, the reply I got was so rude it is unprintable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisMiddlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
The wireless internet had just been installed two days earlier and was not functioning properly. You failed to mention that we had it fixed in about an hour after your complaint and you were then satisfied! You also failed to explain your anger and attitude when you initially complained about the internet. It is sometimes difficult to get "snap your fingers service" because the Inn is 50 miles from the nearest large city! We are in the mountains!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Our room was comfortable but quite small, this isn't a problem since there is a large common area.

We didn't take full advantage of the restaurant's menu since we were both suffering from colds and stuck to bland options.

The continental breakfast provided was OK but it would have been nicer if they offered a cooked breakfast at the restaurant.

We did experience a blocked toilet but the owner came out and fixed it within a few minutes of being called at 11pm.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Run Inn

Property: Buffalo Run Inn
Address: 60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267-9770
Location: United States > Washington > Marblemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1889 roadhouse was a gathering place for all the gold miners, lumberjacks and mountain men traveling up the Skagit River into the North Cascades. Many a jug of moonshine has passed through the doors of the inn! It is located at the entrance to the North Cascades National Park and was totally renovated in 2004! A great meeting place for your North Cascades adventure! The Buffalo Run Restaurant is across the street! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Run Hotel Marblemount
Hotel Buffalo Run

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing