We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buffalo Run Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marblemount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

we spent a single night at The Buffalo Run Inn - it was perfectly pleasant - the room 10 had two bedrooms - large, comfy, fresh, clean and with all the appropriate room amenities. We enjoyed eating apricots fresh off the tree in the courtyard and playing with their wonderfully unique game on the front lawn near the river (A very pretty, well maintained lawn and setting). We did not use the indoor pool however stopped in to check it out - looked neat. The staff were pleasant and helpful. A good peaceful location and short-walk into the small town - a comfortable home base - we would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank You for the great 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    97
    32
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
129
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Don’t be misled by the modest exterior of the Buffalo Run Inn. Our room was very comfortable, cheerfully decorated, amazingly quite, spotless, with everything (heating/cooling, lighting, plumbing) in top working condition. A very adequate continental breakfast was provided in a comfortable dining room. Don’t expect a back-to-nature experience at the Inn: the grounds of the property are dedicated to parking. However, the Inn and services (restaurants, grocery, service station, post office) at Marblemount provide a nice base for exploring North Cascades National Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Very nice. We arrived very late and stayed upstairs in a hostel room where the shared baths are newly and nicely re-modeled. An excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlengland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

There's no other inn close enough for the Cascades and the owner knows it. The room was clean, but small and noisy from the street and the neighbours (you can hear talking, sneezing, laughing through the walls). The service is poor. Before booking, I was twice assured that the room had wireless internet access. When I complained it wasn't working, the reply I got was so rude it is unprintable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisMiddlengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
The wireless internet had just been installed two days earlier and was not functioning properly. You failed to mention that we had it fixed in about an hour after your complaint and you were then satisfied! You also failed to explain your anger and attitude when you initially complained about the internet. It is sometimes difficult to get "snap your fingers service" because the Inn is 50 miles from the nearest large city! We are in the mountains!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Our room was comfortable but quite small, this isn't a problem since there is a large common area.

We didn't take full advantage of the restaurant's menu since we were both suffering from colds and stuck to bland options.

The continental breakfast provided was OK but it would have been nicer if they offered a cooked breakfast at the restaurant.

We did experience a blocked toilet but the owner came out and fixed it within a few minutes of being called at 11pm.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

The Buffalo Run in is situated just to the west of North Cascades National Park. Honestly, that's the reason anyone stays here. We stayed in room 1. It was clean as a pin and just what the doctor ordered after 7 hours of driving. The restaurant had excellent buffalo dishes. I had the buffalo penne pasta and it was delicious. Recommend that you have a preprandial libation in your room and then go across the street to have an excellent repast at the Buffalo Run Restaurant. The owner is prior military, so we could relate. He is very friendly. Don't get me wrong, this is not the Hilton Garden Inn, but for the wilderness, it's pretty damn good. Will definitely return to spend more time.

  • Liked — There were herds of buffalo in our room....just kidding. It was so clean and nice. That was cool
  • Disliked — The lady at the store next door. A bit scary, but not related to the hotel...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Thank You for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I will start with the positive. Out of all the places to stay in marblemount(there arent many) this is most likely the best one. We stayed for 1 night in august on a trip to the North Cascades. We stayed in Room 8. The room itself was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, the bathrooms were very clean and updated and the shower was great. No complaints with the ammenities or the room.
Now to the negative, When we first arrived the owner sort of gave us an attitude because we were checking in early. We were told at the inn that our room was ready and then when we went to the restaurant to get the key( yes you have to do that) the owner didnt know so she was kind of flustered and alittle rude. Before all this, before we even left for our trip,we called to confirm our reservations so we called them and we were told we had no reservation(2 days before we left) We ended up changing all our plans booking a room for one night there instead of 2 because they had nothing left. After all this stress, we get a call from them 2 days later that they had our reservation all along they just couldnt find it or something, I do not know how they book the rooms but it seemed very unorganized. Staying one night to be honest turned out to be better than 2 anyway because there is not much to do in marblemount. The restaurant was average, nothing spectacular. I enjoyed my food but I've had better. Also the continental breakfast was low average. The coffee machine was broken which really was a dissapointment! We went next store to buy coffee. Overall, I would stay there but make sure you confirm your reservation!!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — free breakfast, owner's attitude
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank jodaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2009
Sorry about the mix-up with your reservation. We were trying to take reservations via internet and telephone, but it wasn't working out. We are now strictly internet reservations! The Continental Breakfast keeps improving, but you have to remember, it is just a continental breakfast, not Denny's!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Run Inn

Property: Buffalo Run Inn
Address: 60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267-9770
Location: United States > Washington > Marblemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1889 roadhouse was a gathering place for all the gold miners, lumberjacks and mountain men traveling up the Skagit River into the North Cascades. Many a jug of moonshine has passed through the doors of the inn! It is located at the entrance to the North Cascades National Park and was totally renovated in 2004! A great meeting place for your North Cascades adventure! The Buffalo Run Restaurant is across the street! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Run Hotel Marblemount
Hotel Buffalo Run

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing