We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, but no friendly service.”
Review of Buffalo Run Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marblemount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Yakima, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent room, but no friendly service.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I stayed for one night. The room was clean and the bathroom was recently remodeled. However the staff was not friendly at all. When you pull up to the restaurant there is a sign telling you to check in at the restaurant across the street. The waitress at the restaurant barked at us "do you have a reservation?" And they wouldn't let us use their phone. They made us use a pay phone behind the has station. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edoremus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Did the waitress "Bark" at you or did she just ask, if you had a reservation! The phone line in the restaurant is attached to two credit card machines and is not for public use! I'm sorry we did not meet your exaggerated expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    101
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
48
139
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed twice now at the Buffalo Run Inn and eaten several times at the restaurant, which is conveniently located right across the street. Visiting during eagle-watching season was a real treat and we enjoyed our stay in the trout-themed room. The food at the restaurant is excellent and even my rather finicky husband has enjoyed his meal every time. The service is friendly, and even though there isn't cell reception, that's what a vacation is for - getting away from the stress and constant technological leashes of the city. We recommend the Inn highly to our friends and plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask about the various themed rooms. They have different wildlife themes but also European-themed roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieWilson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You for the Great 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled up Hwy 20 for a weekend and visited some of the very beautiful sights along the Hwy. We watched the Bald Eagles feed on fish along the Skagit River, drove up to Diablo Lake and Thunder Arm, walked down along the Cascade River, and stopped to lodge at the Buffalo Run Inn. The room was very clean and had a great log cabin appearance. It made me feel like I was staying at a fancy hunting lodge. It is right in the town of Marblemount so it is a great place to stop for the night, fuel up your car, and grab some food before you continue on your journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You for the Great 5 STAR review! Please stop by and say Hi as you pass through town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had such a good time at this place. It was super, super clean and the staff was very cordial. Made us feel very welcome and comfortable. It was almost like staying in a big house. All rooms are quiet and private and everyone shares a large living/dining area. The refrigerator was well stocked with items for snacks and breakfast. Each room has satellite TV, as well as a small refrigerator. The only reason I cannot give them 5 stars is the location, and that is beyond their control. They are at a sharp turn and there is a lot of traffic very close to the building. So, not much outdoor space unless you want to cross the highway. Still a very good place to stay and we will definitely go again!

Room Tip: We had room #4 and it was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank You for the wonderful 4 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is one of the most beautifully maintained and extremely clean motels I have ever stayed in. The beds are super comfortable and all of our needs are taken care of with everything taken care of! The continental breakfast has everything! I loved my stay and will come back again!

Room Tip: Room 10 is great if you have a family with a travel crib!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank You for the wonderful 5 STAR review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our room with its bubble tub was beautifully turned out and as neat as a pin, and the beds were quite comfortable. As for the restaurant, the service is friendly, our son thought the deep-fried Cascade Mountain Oysters appetizer (Buffalo testes) was awesome, and I took on -- and took out -- the astonishingly huge Tatonka burger! That 1-lb, lean buffalo patty makes for one serious meal, no fooling.

The owners, Marshall and Candy, are charming. We'll be back.

Room Tip: For a really posh room, go for #6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank You for the great 5 STAR review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant! Please come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is such a lovely Inn. We stayed in room 8 and it was perfect for the two of us. The place is clean, comfortable and there is a nice common area to sit and enjoy breakfast. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food was delicious. The owners are great people and fun to talk to. They make great bloody mary coctails. Overall you will enjoy relaxing in this place after a nice day hike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatonka, Owner at Buffalo Run Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank You for the lovely 5 STAR review! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffalo Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Run Inn

Property: Buffalo Run Inn
Address: 60117 State Route 20, Marblemount, WA 98267-9770
Location: United States > Washington > Marblemount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marblemount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic 1889 roadhouse was a gathering place for all the gold miners, lumberjacks and mountain men traveling up the Skagit River into the North Cascades. Many a jug of moonshine has passed through the doors of the inn! It is located at the entrance to the North Cascades National Park and was totally renovated in 2004! A great meeting place for your North Cascades adventure! The Buffalo Run Restaurant is across the street! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Run Hotel Marblemount
Hotel Buffalo Run

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing