We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Service service service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Falls Cafe - CLOSED

Maple Falls Cafe
7471 Mt. Baker Highway, Maple Falls, WA 98266
360 599 1800
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Brazilian, Fusion, South American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service service service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was excellent. The Squeeze had a burger and I had lasagna. We shared an avocado salad as an appetizer, and ended up with too much food…so portion sizes were more than "ample".

But it was the owner, Sam, that made the evening. He was a gracious host, with an amazing story and seemingly insatiable appetite for "community building". He was sponsoring a film festival, bringing world class musicians to the local town hall, he started a "newspaper", was preparing to coach a soccer team, and was an accomplished brewer of "sour" beers…just to name a few of his endeavors and interests.

We were completely entranced with this man and his vision. We will definitely be going back, and taking friends and family with us. Loved loved LOVED this experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brazilian food, mountain charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Go in, ask the chef, get something dazzlingly exotic - from sour beer to Brazilian fusion and burgers in between - and cuddle up by the little gas fireplace. Oh, and definitely sample the salted pork - a Latin delicacy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“John Wayne Burger - a must have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The burgers, the yucca fries, which are so different and yet so tasty, are a must try for anyone who is in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VanValGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped here on a driving trip. Just wanted coffee and a bite, and saw a sign advertising fresh-made cobbler. The place looked like a normal tourist quick-stop from outside and inside, but the food was amazing. The cobbler reminded me of my grandmother's: rich, hot, melt-in-your mouth. The coffee was strong and black and not tourist-thin. The chef/owner came out to introduce himself, and it turns out he's from Brazil, a true gourmet who has owned restaurants in multiple countries. Because it was just a quick stop, we didn't order a meal, but we took a menu and we plan to return. We've never seen Brazilian food on a menu in a place like this! The couple across from us scraped their plates clean. Stop if you can!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingfool55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigi Kaltbad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good cuisine, unique too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was surprised to find a Brazilian gourmet chef in the Glacier wilderness. Unique wine list. Pleasant team. Try it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TourDeSuisseKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Falls Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing