We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Brazilian food, mountain charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Falls Cafe - CLOSED

Maple Falls Cafe
Cuisines: American, Brazilian, Fusion, South American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brazilian food, mountain charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Go in, ask the chef, get something dazzlingly exotic - from sour beer to Brazilian fusion and burgers in between - and cuddle up by the little gas fireplace. Oh, and definitely sample the salted pork - a Latin delicacy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“John Wayne Burger - a must have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The burgers, the yucca fries, which are so different and yet so tasty, are a must try for anyone who is in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VanValGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped here on a driving trip. Just wanted coffee and a bite, and saw a sign advertising fresh-made cobbler. The place looked like a normal tourist quick-stop from outside and inside, but the food was amazing. The cobbler reminded me of my grandmother's: rich, hot, melt-in-your mouth. The coffee was strong and black and not tourist-thin. The chef/owner came out to introduce himself, and it turns out he's from Brazil, a true gourmet who has owned restaurants in multiple countries. Because it was just a quick stop, we didn't order a meal, but we took a menu and we plan to return. We've never seen Brazilian food on a menu in a place like this! The couple across from us scraped their plates clean. Stop if you can!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingfool55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigi Kaltbad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good cuisine, unique too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was surprised to find a Brazilian gourmet chef in the Glacier wilderness. Unique wine list. Pleasant team. Try it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank TourDeSuisseKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Big city food in a very small town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here just for a bite to eat before the drive to Artist Point at Mount Baker. My husband wasn't hungry because he had had a late breakfast.

I ordered a chicken BLT with cactus fries. Both were very good. I usually don't order fries but this was something I'd never seen on a menu before. They were very tasty. The sandwich came on a Macrina bakery bun all the way from Seattle. The owner knows where to get the finest ingredients.

I tried there strawberry raspberry cobbler topped with whipped cream. It was also very good.

My husband paid the bill at the counter and noticed a beautiful chocolate orange cake. It looked so good that he vowed we'd come back for it on the way home. It didn't disappoint. It was moist, very flavorful of orange without being too sweet and chocolate frosting that was definitely home-made. The owner makes all of the desserts too.
The waitress was very attentive and friendly.

There aren't many restaurants on the road to Mount Baker. We'd advise if you are hungry, pass up the Subway shop and stop at the Maple Falls Cafe. We plan to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhensrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Falls Cafe also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing