We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel International
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Lynnwood
Palmer, AK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We recently had a stop over in the Seattle area and the booking agent at Expedia recommended this hotel. The rate was quite reasonable, yet upon arrival I was a bit worried about the outside look and "low weekly rates" sign in front of this hotel. My worries were unfounded, as once we were inside we were greeted by a clean and pleasant lobby.
Our room had a clean carpet, interesting furniture, fridge and very comfortable pillow top bed. The bathroom was clean as well--although there was air in the pipes, but worked ok once the water ran for a bit.
For the price, I could not have asked for a better room. Customers who prefer everything brand new may not like it, but personally I like hotels that are a bit different and it met our needs. Did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arcticstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
27
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

For $50/night, this hotel had more amenities than most $70 ones I've stayed at. Rooms are clean and spacious, with fridge, microwave, good sized TV, and free wi-fi. Other reviewers have mentioned a cigarette smell, but I have a sensitive nose and noticed none whatsoever anywhere in the hotel. Those were older reviews, so maybe the hotel has made changes since then. Or maybe I'm just hitting the slow season. I did not try out the workout room or hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DamonHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I booked this place because of positive reviews here, and elsewhere. My experience was awful!

* Lobby stinks from smoke!
~The smoking floors are on the lower levels and the hotel is an open atrium style, so the whole place smells horrid.
* Fire code violations abound!
~They keep all of the stairwell doors propped open. These are supposed to be the smoke free route to the ground, in case of fire. Instead, they are always open and smell like cigarettes. This is just the beginning.
*The stairwell is also disgustingly dirty.
*No internet service!
~ The signal was so weak in our room that we could never connect to the internet. They have 2 standard answers for this issue. "There are too many people using it". (Really? At 2 am?), and "We'll reset the router", which did not work no matter how many times they said they tried.
~ Oh, and said router sits out on the front desk. Very attractive!
*Breakfast....
~A few dry bread goods (with nothing to put on them) and coffee, in a dark and dingy room that smelled like arm pits.
*Location is a less than safe feeling neighborhood.
*Service: They simply do not seem to care about anything, no matter how nicely you try to point it out to them.
~ We booked for 3 nights and left late on the second night. They charged us for the full 3 nights minus 30% of 1 nights stay ($26). RIP OFF!!!!!
* SECURITY ALERT!!! ~ They use coded key cards! The cards have the room numbers printed on them and they insist on keeping them upon check out. If any of your personal info. is attached to these cards, it could be a serious problem.
* Bathroom: Sink water pressure is too low to even brush your teeth.
* Fitness room: 1 recumbent bike, 1 treadmill.
*** None of this really includes the general state of disrepair of the place. (broken lamp, ugly stick down carpet runners in the lobby, and so on...)

The one positive thing I have to say is that what little effort they have put into this hotel IS in the rooms. They do have: microwave, small fridge, flat screen TV, nice furniture and and our room was clean, if you don't count the random hairs on the toilet (Eeewww!).

We found refuge in the LaQuinta Inn on Alderwood, in Lynnwood. I am writing from there, now that I have internet service and can actually breathe the air. It's only a few more dollars than the H.I. and is a world apart!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I booked this hotel based on year old reviews from TripAdvisor. If you want low budget and don't mind stained carpets, nonfunctioning mini-refrig, missing lightbulb and bare socket in bathroom, nonworking bed lamp, dusty bathroom mirror, barely there continental breakfast served in a room with water stains in ceiling, and a nonexistent spa (pictured in Expedia ad) yet like a nice bed, a quiet room and ample parking, then this place is for you. The vacuum cleaner is stored in the "fitness center" that has two pieces of workout equipment and mop and bucket grace the entrance to the breakfast area. Free paper, coffee and Costo cookies at breakfast; not enough benefit to return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegPortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My family of 4 stayed for four nights. I was worried when we first drove up to the hotel as it looked old. However, the room we stayed in was a pleasant surprise. The room and the bathroom were both very clean and we had a small bar fridge, microwave and TV. Beds were very comfortable and housekeeping did a good job tidying up the rooms and providing fresh towels everyday. Unfortunately, because we were in a corner room, we didn't have WiFi access but that was solved by bringing our laptop outside the room where a couch was conveniently located.

Breakfast was a basic continental breakfast (toast, bagels, english muffins, cookies, croissants, 3 varieties of cereal, and bananas along with orange juice, milk, coffee and tea). However, if you wake up really late and there are a lot of guests staying at the hotel there probaby won't be much left.

The hotel has easy access to I-5 and there are a lot of restaurants nearby and also Safeway, Fred Meyer and Albertson's. It would have been nice if the hotel had a pool (for my kids) but there is a rec centre a few blocks away. Also, there is a park directly across the road from the hotel that is suppose to have a lake and walking trails and one a block down the road there is another park with a children's playground.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel especially for budget conscious travelers and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Convenient location.
  • Disliked — No pool and limited fitness equipment.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PoMoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

After a disappointing stay in BC, we were relieved to find the Hotel International was a well run, clean establishment in a nice suburban area. The hotel is about 5 minutes off I-5, convenient and without the highway noise.

The lobby is quite nice (although a bit dated) and opens up to all 4 floors. Upon checkin, we were directed to a room on the 4th floor. The room was recently remodeled and had a large king sized bed with an awesome mattress and fluffy pillows. The bathroom was huge, although still vintage 1980s and dim. Not to worry, we were only there to stay the night before leaving from the airport the next day.

Breakfast was sufficient. Nothing fancy, but enough to get you going: cereal, english muffins, croissants, donuts and cookies.

If I needed an affordable place to stay in a Seattle suburb, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and cost
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingLibrarian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

I stayed midweek. I was skeptical about it's location and cost, but it was a fine budget minded hotel (compare to hotels twice the price on the East Side of Lake Washington). The Hotel is off the beaten track a bit, but that meant it was quiet, without the usual freeway noise (I slept with the windows open all night). King size bed was comfortable, checkin late at night was fine, parking lot is monitored, I didn't see any WIFI, so don't count on it, though there seemed to be an Internet computer in the lobby. Room was large enough, tv worked, bathroom and shower clean and everything seemed to work.

This is comparable to many of the usual lowend chains, Quintana Inn, Days Inn, etc. It reminded me quite a bit of your usual business hotel in Europe. Spartan but ok.

If you have to pay your own way in Seattle, and have transportation to get there, this is probably a good bet. For travelers, this is not near the airport, but is a short walk to a major bus line that can get you downtown Seattle, or north to Everett.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — parking lot was a bit dark for late night checkin, but it was video monitored.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 8string
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynnwood hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Alderwood
Best Western Alderwood
#4 of 13 in Lynnwood
679 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle North Lynnwood
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Lynnwood / Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lynnwood
La Quinta Inn Lynnwood
#6 of 13 in Lynnwood
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Seattle North Lynnwood
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lynnwood Seattle Everett, WA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International

Property: Hotel International
Address: 5621 196th St SW, Lynnwood, WA 98036-6106
Location: United States > Washington > Lynnwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lynnwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel International 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel International is discreetly tucked away in Lynnwood just 15 miles north of downtown Seattle. Our warm and friendly hotel offers a wonderful place to relax and unwind after a day travel or business. We offer visitors an escape from the crowds, traffic and congestion of the city, yet easy access to business, industrial, entertainment and educational centers of the region. We are steps away from shopping, restaurants, and parks; minute away from excellent golfing, boating, fishing and beautiful Puget sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Lynnwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing