We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second Visit was Not a Charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Alderwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alderwood
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Lynnwood
Humble, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second Visit was Not a Charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had stayed at this Best Western just North of Seattle about five years ago and had a good experience. After spending another four days there for a graduation we will not be returning. I remember the motel had a decent continental breakfast but this time around it was not as good as I remembered. The real problems all related to the room. First, they put us in a handicapped access room, which for some bizarre reason was on the fourth floor. There was no light in the hallway entering the room and this is the area where the tiny closed is located. The housekeeping staff turned the air conditioner off and left the heat lamp in the bathroom on every day. Needless to say the room was way too warm and it tood forever to get the bathroom cooled off with the wall mounted air conditioning unit at the opposite end of the room. One day we had no bathmat. When we called the desk, the attractive but somewhat challenged attendant did not know what a bath mat was so we had to settle for extra towels. The next day housekeeping produced another bathmat. I think this is a decent hotel and it has adequate parking which is always at a premium in Seattle. There is a good selection of restaurants nearby and the hotel is only ten minutes North of Seattle on I-5. I just don't think the current owners are doing a very good job of running the operation.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room that you did not request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    225
    123
    52
    17
See reviews for
221
160
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for a shopping weekend with my daughter. The first room we were given was very small, with a big stain on the floor and to top it off the window had no lock and we were on the first floor. I went to the front desk and they were more than happy to upgrade us to a much better room. Overall we were very happy with the staff, the breakfast and found that the hotel was kept very clean. Truly I do feel that being a Best Western (and I have stayed in many) that it could use a little face lift.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chigsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Polite staff, good breakfast with variety and decent quality food, plus a pool and hot tub (which is actually quite hot - much appreciated!). The hotel decor is a bit dated, but clean. Overall it's good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were very pleased at our two day stay at this motel, and had a great breakfast each morning..great room also. The breakfast area is a bit crowed at 8AM but was fine earlier in the morning.The motel is located very close to shopping at the Alderwood mall which made it very handy also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I am pretty easy to please when it comes to hotels. Give me a comfortable, clean bed to sleep in and a clean room with some effort towards noise control. I also ask that things work like they are supposed to work. I had one of those here.

I have just spent three nights at this hotel. This was not anywhere near worth the money. First, they ask for a credit card for incidentals, which I assume is in case I make a phone call. In this day of free long distance I really don't understand this one. There are no other "incidentals" that I can think of. What they do not make clear is that they will put a $20 a day hold on your card. Then my key card rarely worked. I had to stick it in the slot and pull it out four or five times before my door unlocked. It also didn't work on the side entrance door like it was supposed to but I obviously wasn't the only one having that problem because they ended up just putting tape over it to keep it unlocked.

The bed in the room was like sleeping on a piece of plywood with a rock box spring. I tossed and turned all night each night. The room was dimly lit with the new "energy saving" bulbs. I was also able to hear everything that went on in the first floor hallway and I apparently had Thunderfoot McGhee in the room above me on the first night. Of course the thunderfoot thing was not the hotels fault.

The soda vending machine takes credit cards, but beware! The drinks are listed as $1.50 but if you use a credit card, its $2.00. That's not marked on the machine.

On the upside, the staff was friendly and pleasant when I had interaction with them and huge kudos to the housekeeping staff. The room was clean and the linens were clean as well. The location is pretty good with easy access to the interstate and the main road running through the area also.

There was a mini-fridge, an iron, ironing board and a hair dryer in the room. The a/c worked well. The wi-fi worked good and although someone else commented that it was slow, I didn't seem to have that problem.

Would I recommend this hotel, probably not. I stayed at a different hotel for the same price a couple of months ago when I was in Lynnwood and I was much happier there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Alderwood on June 13th through June 15th and were very pleasantly impressed by the Hotel. The initial impression from the hotel lobby and check-in was very much like an international hotel and very impressive.

We had a room on the top floor of the side wing which was spacious, nicely furnished, clean and very quite. The bed was comfortable and we had three good nights sleep.

Breakfast was available early, 6:30 AM on weekends and 6:00AM week days in an area off the main lobby with a pool side view with granite topped tables and lounge area. The breakfast offerings were fresh, nicely displayed and continuously replenished by invisible service personal. During our stay there were a fair number of other guests but there was always room in the breakfast area to accommodate everyone.

Further we were always able to fine acquit parking near a side door next to the elevator and had no wait problems for the elevator.

We had a relax and enjoyable stay at this facility.

This hotel has a lot to offer and far exceeds many of the Best Western facilities having a Plus rating.

The hotel is located at the I-5 exit #181 for 196th Street SW and has very easy access to US-99 / Aurora Ave. offering convenient access to the area.

The Lynnwood Mall, with all the major Brand Name stores is approximately a mile north of the hotel on 36 Ave. W.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator for the side wing and one ice machine / vending area which is on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the freeway and major streets. We had family in Edmonds and we were only 15 minutes away from them and the shops and restaurants there. Access to the Sound and ferries was also close. The hotel was well kept and the room was fine. They do need to work on the carpet, however. We were surprised with the variety of things available at the hot breakfast. This was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 202lauriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynnwood hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle North Lynnwood
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Seattle North/Lynnwood Everett
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Seattle North Lynnwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lynnwood Seattle Everett, WA
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lynnwood
La Quinta Inn Lynnwood
#7 of 13 in Lynnwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#9 of 13 in Lynnwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alderwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alderwood

Property: BEST WESTERN Alderwood
Address: 19332 36th Avenue West, Lynnwood, WA 98036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Lynnwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lynnwood
#3 Family Hotel in Lynnwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alderwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Alderwood! Our Lynnwood hotel is a short drive to Seattle, and there's ample nearby shopping at Alderwood Mall and Seattle Premium Outlets. We completed our full property renovation summer 2015 and have the clean and comfortable rooms you are looking for at an unbeatable value! Stay connected with our free high speed internet access and fuel up in the morning for a day of exploring, or business, with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast. Book with us today and experience all Seattle has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alderwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - Alderwood Hotel Lynnwood
Best Western Lynnwood
Lynnwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing