We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Waiter Itched His Butt” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ranchito

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Ranchito
Ranked #36 of 63 Restaurants in Lynden
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waiter Itched His Butt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our experience was horrific. The waiter was creepy and kept asking if we were ready to order, and our menus were still opened and we told him we needed longer. I asked for a glass of white wine, they dont have any, so i ask for a glass of red wine, they dont have any either. So i ask for a margarita, and the waiter brings it to me in literally 23 seconds. Obviously it was from a machine and it was so bitter and undrinkable. We order and my boyfriend goes to the bathroom and sees the waiter in the back area itching and digging in his butt with a full hand. He didnt tell me this until we left or i would not have eaten, but i did eat and the tortillas were crunchy/stale, the carne asada was blah. We went home and were sick in a weird way for a couple days, i wont get into details but we will never, ever go back here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Princesscava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mexican food at its finest, very authentic. We love it here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

El Ranchito is one of our favorite places to go for authentic Mexican food. My Hubby & I love the Sizzling Beef Fajitas. We get the Fajitas for 2 & always have plenty of food. We also love the Pico de Gallo that is brought to your table with chips. The staff is very friendly & the owner treats us like family. Great place for a table for 2, but can handle larger groups as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsnjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington, United States
1 review
“Bland!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food is SO bland! And extremely overpriced for what you get. Burritos consisted of meat wrapped in a tortilla. If you're looking for a good Mexican restaurant (excellent in food, service, and price), try Chihuahua's in Ferndale.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Chips came with both salsa and pico gallo and the food was well prepared. Prices are reasonable. Service is very nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

with Mexican places ( and food trucks all over the landscape ) El Ranchito is a stand out - I always judge by the chicken fajitas and they'res are supreme - plus they do something others do not - they give you a set of tongs to stir your fajitas with when the sizzling stops the entire plate is cooked to a tee - they also bring you pico da gallo without having to ask them - good all over !!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito also viewed

 

Been to El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing