We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing Dutch pastries” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Treat Restaurant

Dutch Treat Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 63 Restaurants in Lynden
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
352 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Missing Dutch pastries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Was looking for some traditional Dutch pastries - but was disappointed - most of the items we did purchased were excellent. The muffins were average. Staff needs some training in Dutch Treats - as the name implies.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic Diner with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I like traditional diners with good breakfasts. Dutch Treat also has home made donuts that are yummy. Full lunch menu too. I'm fond of the Turkey Club myself. Sandwich huge and can feed two people.

Not fancy. Cozy booths. Huge milkshakes.

The farmers sit at the back table, drink coffee and solve the world's problems. They all look at you when you walk in. It's funny.

Mostly one family works there.

The old breakfast diners are a dying breed. Too bad.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Road_Tripppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Much worse than previous visits”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It saddens me to write this review, but I feel compelled to do so. This is my third visit to the Dutch Treat, which means the previous two were enjoyable enough to draw me back. This time I came with family from out of town. It was a mistake.

The server was a sweet and friendly as can be. That's a plus. But for the first time ever, I ordered a Bacon Cheeseburger with fries. Actually three of the four of us did. The burger was a frozen pre-formed patty, and the fries were frozen dumped from a bag. I could have made a better burger and fries at home for far less money.

Then the odd thing was that two of us were ready to order and two were not. So, the server took the first two orders and started them while the other two decided what they wanted. That means that two orders arrived at the table sooner then the other two. My sister and I waited, letting our meal grow cold, while my wife and brother-in-law sat with no plate in front of them.

It was just not a good visit this time.

The milkshake, however, was as good as ever.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Parsnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good menu, Good Food, Nice staff, Reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to eat lunch. There are enough items on the menu to satisfy nearly anyone, the food is tasty with ample portions, the prices are reasonable, the servers very nice and the location close to the center of town. It can be crowded at times as it is a favorite of locals. Try their shakes/malts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great. It is definately a small town feel, which I love. It is nice to go into a place & feel welcomed like you are walking into their home. And the milkshakes are amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dink1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Treat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dutch Treat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing