We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic getaway for those who don't need fancy.”
Review of The Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mill Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Lynden B&B and Inns
Arlington, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A romantic getaway for those who don't need fancy.”
Reviewed December 18, 2010

My husband and I visited to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in room #2. We loved the tub! The hotel is charming and the people are wonderful. We were pleasantly suprised with a chilled bottle of sparkling cider on our arrival. The hotel is showing it's age with minor signs of wear like chipping paint. The bed was hard. Something kept banging outside in the wind and kept us awake too. The romance of it made it worthwhile though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDSmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2010

How many people can say they've spent the night in a real windmill? Not many -- but we're among them and had a wonderful stay at this charming, quaint hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My husband and I loved the double-wide jacuzzi (both room #2 and room #3 have one). The bed was firm but comfy and the price was right! Lynden is a charming town with scenic, country views and small-town ambience. Plenty of nice shops to peruse as your stroll the sidewalks. The Greek restaurant has great food, and do NOT miss a stop at the Dutch bakery. The almond tarts are to die for! All around, the hotel and the town are a lovely get away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderBear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Staying here is truly unique, and somewhat charming. But the bed slanted towards the wall making us feel like we were falling. The whole town shuts down at 7PM except for the Greek restaurant where we were able to get a drink. The town is so empty that we were awakened at 3AM by a pack of howling coyotes running through town. The next morning the staff wasn't there so we left without getting our complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea D, General Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2017
As of 2016, this property is under NEW OWNERSHIP and has been COMPLETELY RENOVATED!!!

With passionate owners, dedicated staff, stunning rooms featuring a unique old-world design and new mission statement, the goal of our beautiful hotel is to provide guests with an experience like no other, treating each guest like the very important person they are. We are so sorry that your experience at the Dutch Village Inn was poor, but we hope you will come stay with us at The brand new Mill Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My wife and I decided on a last-minute getaway for our 17th anniversary and drove up to Lynden this past weekend. We had a wonderful time at this landmark. The room was great and the staff very welcoming. If you want to spend some time in the Bellingham area I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnQueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We ended up here quite by accident and without another hotel available in the area that we could find on the Internet, only because someone else cancelled. Unfortunately we ended up with weekend pricing and they then raised the rate for two teens sons with us.

If you are coming in on Meridian from the South, note that this is not the only hotel with a windmill. This must be a big thing in the area. The first one we stopped at was pretty much the dregs and I am so glad we didn't end up there.

There are six rooms here. We ended up with room #3 which seems like the best room. It is very spacious and quiet. All rooms are on the second level.

The rooms are decorated with antiques and very attractive. The television is probably a 15 yr old model but works okay. The jaccuzi tub is large enough for two but the water is slow to fill and it is in the large bedroom/sitting room. Another room has the toilet and sink and a third has the shower and another sink.

It was a little weird getting in but all went well. The innkeeper stays on the premises and they close the office at whatever time between 6-8, though you can ring a bell and we got service quickly.

This is NOT a B&B. They used to give out $4.95 discount tickets for the cafe but it has since gone out of business.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papadoc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lullabyles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We visit this charming and private Bed and Breakfast annually to celebrate the start of our relationship. It is always clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that they don't allow dogs and I love bringing the dogs on adventures. This place is a little dated but that is part of the charm. Everything works and is well maintained. There are thrift and antique shops and diners in walking distance all on Front Street. I highly suggest Dutch Mothers for a memorable meal in a memorable place at a reasonable price. Lynden is a great get-a-way place for couples or retirees.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lullabyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

My husband and I found this little windmill on accident and decided to spend our honeymoon there. It was a fantastic surprise! The room was very spacious with a king bed and two bathrooms. Also the in-room jacuzzi was quite nice. Knowing it was our honeymoon they even decorated for us and left sparkling cider on the tub! The Dutch hosts in the windmill gave us great advice for what to do in the area and taught us how to walk in wooden shoes. It is by no means the Hilton, but if you're looking for charm, adventure, and a restful, friendly atmosphere...you'll love it here. We really enjoyed all the fresh Danish food and the winery and mountains nearby. We plan to go back in a few years. (Don't stay more than 5 days or you'll be totally bored...the breakfast is a voucher for a little resturaunt underneath the windmill...buy wooden shoes.)

  • Liked — It's charm
  • Disliked — Very small town
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynden
7.5 mi away
BROOKSIDE INN Boutique Hotel
BROOKSIDE INN Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Abbotsford
360 reviews
10.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
482 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sweet Dreams Luxury Inn
Sweet Dreams Luxury Inn
#5 of 13 in Abbotsford
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
15.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Inn

Property: The Mill Inn
Address: 655 Front Street, Lynden, WA 98264 (Formerly Dutch Village Inn)
Location: United States > Washington > Lynden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lynden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Inn is a unique experiential Inn located in Lynden, Washington. With only 7 rooms, 3 of which are in the physical windmill, The Mill Inn strives to create a custom experience for each and every guest that will remain a memory for them, for years to come. While there are many windmill hotels in the world, The Mill Inn boasts one of the only Windmill’s in North America with rooms in the Windmill itself. Come and experience what it’s like to stay in a Windmill! Each room in The Mill Inn is unique, and has specific design characteristics you would find in an old world European setting, yet has all the comforts required by today’s traveler. The rooms range in size from a very unique small room at the top of the Windmill, to standard sized hotel rooms, to a larger 1 bedroom loft suite with a full kitchen. Each room has a flat screen TV with cable, top of the line mattresses and bedding, and standard hotel amenities. The Mill Inn also has a bistro and full bar available to our guests, and can provide room service upon request. Come, stay, and allow us to create a custom experience for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Village Hotel Lynden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing