We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill Inn
Nearby Hotels
$131
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windmill Inn(Lynden)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sweet Dreams Luxury Inn(Abbotsford)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbotsford Hotel(Abbotsford)
$69
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn(Abbotsford)
$75
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
40
5
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
5
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairsget awaymy wife and itop floorplace to staynice placeday tripsitting areastar ratingthe location is perfectdrink vouchersunique hotel experiencesized bedspecial thankscoffee potshops and restaurantswithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 49 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Staying here is truly unique, and somewhat charming. But the bed slanted towards the wall making us feel like we were falling. The whole town shuts down at 7PM except for the Greek restaurant where we were able to get a drink. The town is so empty that we were awakened at 3AM by a pack of howling coyotes running through town. The next morning the staff wasn't there so we left without getting our complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea D, General Manager at The Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

As of 2016, this property is under NEW OWNERSHIP and has been COMPLETELY RENOVATED!!!

With passionate owners, dedicated staff, stunning rooms featuring a unique old-world design and new mission statement, the goal of our beautiful hotel is to provide guests with an experience like no other, treating each guest like the very important person they are. We are so sorry that your experience at the Dutch Village Inn was poor, but we hope you will come stay with us at The brand new Mill Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My wife and I decided on a last-minute getaway for our 17th anniversary and drove up to Lynden this past weekend. We had a wonderful time at this landmark. The room was great and the staff very welcoming. If you want to spend some time in the Bellingham area I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnQueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We ended up here quite by accident and without another hotel available in the area that we could find on the Internet, only because someone else cancelled. Unfortunately we ended up with weekend pricing and they then raised the rate for two teens sons with us.

If you are coming in on Meridian from the South, note that this is not the only hotel with a windmill. This must be a big thing in the area. The first one we stopped at was pretty much the dregs and I am so glad we didn't end up there.

There are six rooms here. We ended up with room #3 which seems like the best room. It is very spacious and quiet. All rooms are on the second level.

The rooms are decorated with antiques and very attractive. The television is probably a 15 yr old model but works okay. The jaccuzi tub is large enough for two but the water is slow to fill and it is in the large bedroom/sitting room. Another room has the toilet and sink and a third has the shower and another sink.

It was a little weird getting in but all went well. The innkeeper stays on the premises and they close the office at whatever time between 6-8, though you can ring a bell and we got service quickly.

This is NOT a B&B. They used to give out $4.95 discount tickets for the cafe but it has since gone out of business.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Papadoc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We visit this charming and private Bed and Breakfast annually to celebrate the start of our relationship. It is always clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that they don't allow dogs and I love bringing the dogs on adventures. This place is a little dated but that is part of the charm. Everything works and is well maintained. There are thrift and antique shops and diners in walking distance all on Front Street. I highly suggest Dutch Mothers for a memorable meal in a memorable place at a reasonable price. Lynden is a great get-a-way place for couples or retirees.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank lullabyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

My husband and I found this little windmill on accident and decided to spend our honeymoon there. It was a fantastic surprise! The room was very spacious with a king bed and two bathrooms. Also the in-room jacuzzi was quite nice. Knowing it was our honeymoon they even decorated for us and left sparkling cider on the tub! The Dutch hosts in the windmill gave us great advice for what to do in the area and taught us how to walk in wooden shoes. It is by no means the Hilton, but if you're looking for charm, adventure, and a restful, friendly atmosphere...you'll love it here. We really enjoyed all the fresh Danish food and the winery and mountains nearby. We plan to go back in a few years. (Don't stay more than 5 days or you'll be totally bored...the breakfast is a voucher for a little resturaunt underneath the windmill...buy wooden shoes.)

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovetotravel617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews