We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delectable Edible Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lummi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willows Inn
Save
You added Willows Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Lummi Island B&B and Inns
vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delectable Edible Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are patient enough to sit through approximately 3 hours of dining with someone whose company you enjoy, the dinner experience at Willows Inn will surely be one of the most memorable feasts for the eyes and discerning palates.

The front room and restaurant itself is decorated in a casual but elegant fashion (somewhat like a cross between Restoration Hardware and Tommy Bahamas), the wait staff were friendly and professional (loved the long leather aprons they were wearing) and the use of natural woods and stones for food presentation left you with a lasting impression that you were indeed enjoying the bounties of the Pacific Northwest.

At first glance of the set menu, it seemed that I would need a midnight snack afterwards. However, much to my surprise, there were about a dozen or so intricately prepared “snacks” which were offered between the main courses. These bites completely tantalized and teased our taste buds and left us longing for more please!

Besides the meal itself, the amazing sunset is worth the visit alone. If a picture could describe a thousand words, I leave you with some of these images....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatluvshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    41
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
118
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lummi Island is the most northeasterly of the San Juan Islands, close to the mainland and a six minute ferry ride away.

We stayed at one of the off-site properties owned by the Willows Inn. The Reefnetter is a house with two suites located about a mile and a half from the inn overlooking Lego Bay. If you're lucky you might see a pod of orcas swimming by. At the rear of the house is marshland with pools where kingfishers dive and ospreys and herons fly overhead.

We stayed in the Clark suite which had a very comfortable bed and lovely amenties, a large bathroom with a jetted tub overlooking the estuary and a great espresso maker. The kitchen was well stocked with pans and dishes and there was a very large TV. The only drawback was lack of internet but that was of little concern to us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anglogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Willows Inn also owns a property called the Watermark. It is a lovely home on Legoe Bay, about a mile and a half from the Willows Inn. The common areas are shared by everyone staying in the 3 rooms of the home. The Sinclair Suite is on the front of the house overlooking the bay with a sliding door leading out to a large tiled verandah. The room is very modern of "Vegas Suite" quality including: walk in closet, electric fireplace, large screen flat TV, Keurig coffee machine, small refrigerator, soaking tub, deluxe walk-in shower and wonderful products. We loved sitting on the back deck looking out at the pond and wetlands which was incredibly quiet and peaceful, except for the red-winged blackbirds. The home was obviously furnished by a designer, and I wouldn't want to have small children in the home. This isn't a beach house and putting your feet up on the coffee table wouldn't work. The cost included breakfast for two at the Beach Store Café (see my review) and helped off-set the "New York" price tag of $375. per night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank techteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The location is great, the staff are professional, helpful and clearly the dining room staff take great pride in the restaurant, where we had truly memorable dinner. But there is a huge gap between the dining experience and the experience of the stay at Willows Inn.

Our accommodation was very disappointing. The "cottage" we stayed in was certainly private and had a nice view, but was lacking in far too many amenities and housekeeping standards to warrant the $325 a night rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Definitely a good place to stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. Obviously the main reason to go is for the restaurant which is exceptional. The food is different from everything we tried so you should be culinarily adventurous. They have nice bicycles to use for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second time at Willows Inn. Just like the first time, it was so much fun. Lummi Island has breathtaking views and is a place that you can't help but relax. We stayed in the Beach House this trip (we stayed in Low Tide last visit) with a few friends and had the best time. I believe the rooms in general have been improved since our last visit in 2011. The Beach House is a nice place to stay: full kitchen, laundry, large flatscreen tv with satellite tv, Netflix, and Amazon access, and a nice sound system. It shares a deck with Low Tide and High Tide and would be spectacular on a sunny summer day. The only downside is that it "sleeps 6" but there is only one true bedroom and one bathroom (hence the 4 rating)The other sleeping arrangements are a loft with a super low ceiling (watch your head even entering the area!) that has a double bed and a cot. It is ideal for a family with kids, not 5 adults like we had. The dinner at Willows is a must; it's really the reason why everyone is there. Chef Blaine Wetzel and his team are culinary geniuses and our meal was just as amazing as it was the time before. Breakfast the next day was good, but the service was not even close to the night before. We had lunch our first day at the Taproot (located on the first level) and found it to be nice and a neat place to hang out. Overall, our experience was wonderful, the staff friendly and attentive. We are planning to go back this summer, hopefully renting out more than just the Beach House for space!

Room Tip: Beware! Rooms are pricey for what you get, but worth it if you want to eat at the restaurant for di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We mainly booked our 1 night stay to eat at the restaurant, but the Willow's Inn was a great place to get away! This review is for our stay in the "Haven" room, which I think is one of their nicer rooms on the main grounds.

Getting to Willows Inn requires a 10-minutes ferry ride from the mainland, but just 10 minutes away is a world of beautiful nature and remote quietness.

Willows Inn is located ~3 miles from the ferry. Service throughout the Inn resembled more corporate run service (which was very good), lacking a bit of the personal touch of other typical Bed & Breakfasts.

Dinner is phenomenal and if you stay here, you get priority for reservations -- YOU MUST EAT HERE IF YOU STAY HERE. Will review dinner in a separate review.

What's great is that the press that Willows Inn is getting for the restaurant, allowing for demand and higher prices also gives the Inn opportunity to update all of their rooms and lodging to really match the dining experience. The Haven room is perfect example - could definitely tell it is pretty newly renovated, AMAZING bathroom with steam shower and fireplace in room. Its the only room on the premise that has a balcony overlooking the water.

There aren't many sites on the island, but honestly just needed to walk around and smell the fresh air! There's a nice rocky beach right below the Inn.

Breakfast was AMAZING! I think its funny when people want to compare the breakfast with the preceding dinner... they are such different meals and breakfast is definitely above average when it comes to bed and breakfast quality breakfasts.. ingredients fresh, had some lovely local apple cider and fresh pomegranate granola with yogurt.

Overall, would definitely recommend staying here -- if you're going to shell the money, perhaps check on grabbing a room that has been renovated.

Room Tip: The Haven room is truly amazing! Spacious for 2, in room fireplace, private balcony, on the main gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celstrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lummi Island
9.8 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
15.8 mi away
Majestic Inn and Spa
Majestic Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Anacortes
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#11 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
19.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willows Inn

Property: Willows Inn
Address: 2579 West Shore Drive, Lummi Island, WA 98262
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lummi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lummi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn on Lummi Island has become the Northwest's premiere destination for authentic farm to table dining. Come in and experience the culinary magic of our chef, Blaine Wetzel, and find out what eating from your landscape is all about. Savor wines from our extensive selection. Enjoy our elegantly comfortable accommodations. Drink in the views, watch whales, or relax with a cocktail by a blazing fire. Unplug, recharge and experience the Willows Inn--an authentic and affordable San Juan Islands adventure! Offering romantic beachside lodge rooms, cottage, and guest house accommodations and marine experiences. Organic food from Loganita Farm. A car ferry departs at least hourly for the five minute crossing to this scenic island retreat. Less than two hours from Seattle or Vancouver, BC. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willows Hotel Lummi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing