We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Willows Inn
Nearby Hotels
Fairhaven Village Inn(Bellingham)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa(Bellingham)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$139
Silver Reef Casino
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellwether(Bellingham)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellingham Airport(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$122
$70
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Motel(Bellingham)
$59
$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bellingham(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellingham Lodge(Bellingham)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Bellingham(Bellingham)
$66
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
112
46
23
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
46
23
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tidedining experiencepacific northwestpotatoessan juan islandspuget soundusing local ingredientsunique experiencethe entire experienceroaring firereception deskour wedding anniversarypure heavenfollowing morningnice amenitieslounge chairssunset room
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 188 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We didn't have the much recommended dinner, but we loved the place anyway, We were staying in the Farm House and had a very interesting tour of the nearby Nettles Farm - a must-do activity. It was quiet and very comfortable - a perfect rest from city nonsense. Breakfast at the Inn is stunning - and the chef can accommodate the gluten free diet; soup from the Tap Root cafe lives up to the rave reviews. But - if you go - triple check the ferry time for your departure, and don't count on anything being open when you expect it to be. Meals, accommodation - all very lovely - but what really matters is preserving the lands and heritage of Lummi Island. You'll get a sense of this from the Nettle's Farm - if it is still there when you go.

Room Tip: The Farm House was interesting and comfortable. Every room will have some unique quality.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The dinner as many others have said is really quite amazing and on par with many of the well known (and excellent) New York fine dining establishments in a much more casual and relaxed atmosphere. Our dinner was really just incredible, all the flavors and textures worked well together and some of the courses were totally unexpected (Venison Heart Ceviche) were delicious and surprising. The wine pairing was a nice match and reasonably priced.

Our room was spartan but nice and I thought priced about right considering the quality of the breakfast you get the next morning.

Already planning a return visit this summer and can't wait to see how the menu has evolved now that more produce and seasonal fish/meat options are available.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbkdotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have been to a number of "foodie" restaurants and lodges over the past 2 years (Herb Farm/Barking Frong, Inn @ Langley) etc and the Willows Inn so far is our favorite.

We stayed there 2 nights and in one of the cottages that the inn owns off property. There are a small number of rooms at the Inn itself, but the also own a few properties within a few miles of the island.

There is really nothing going on at the island at all except this Inn. As you disembark the Ferry there is another location on the island to eat (Beach Store Cafe), but it was closed for renovation when we were there (apparently the Willows Inn purchased or is managing the Beach Store Cafe). So that meant for our 2 night stay we dined at the Inn twice.

We stayed in the Eagle's Flyaway which is in the Marina at Legoe bay. this house right on the water has 3 other rooms. 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs with a shared kitchen and living room. We were there alone for 1 night and had downstairs guests the other. When we were alone it was spectacular and quiet. Just the Puget sound and the San Juan islands to look at along with bald eagles. I could see how when this place was full with guests it could be loud so I would recommend one of the 2 top floor rooms.

Dinner was the highlight of the trip. I would encourage you to read all the other reviews of dinner. We rank this up there with places like The French Laundry. When I typically dine at prix fix meals like this I am looking for a few things. One of the is appropriate length for a meal. This dinner was just perfect. Also attentive staff and servers. Again, this was perfect. Great wine list.... their Wine list is mostly PNW wines, but their prices were very reasonable. Dinner will set you back $135 pp and the Wine Pairing is a bit pricey so we opted to order a bottle of Buty.

We also took the Nettles farm tour which was a lot of fun and I recommend that.

Breakfast was just perfect and I recommend taking advantage of that.

All in all, something you should do if you love food and unique dining experiences as well as some nice quiet with spectacular views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Willows Inn has smiling, friendly staff and well-maintained grounds. Stayed in the small "sunset" room above the lobby and stared out at the beautiful view of the Puget Sound. Pictures here: http://www.drawn2style.com/willows-inn/ Enjoyed an unforgettable meal at the restaurant, reviewed separately.

Room Tip: If you don't mind small rooms, "Sunset" was quiet and has a great view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetsettingNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We came here for New Yea'rs Eve, which is also our wedding anniversary. The dinner was out of this world amazing -- treat after treat with a beautiful presentation. It was a really special place to be on such an evening. Afterwards, they kept the bar open late for a champagne toast at midnight. The lobby bar is also well appointed with a nice fireplace and tasty cocktails. The room we stayed in was beautiful, but considering that we had to drive from our room to the Inn, I thought it was quite overpriced. Especially on New Year's Eve, I think they should have provided a ride back to the rooms that are not on the main property. Also, if you are staying at the off property rooms, you can use the hot tub but you'll have to bring all your clothes and change in the small lobby bathroom.

Room Tip: The High Tide, Low Tide, and Beach House are right on the beach which is beautiful. However, they're about a mile drive down the road on a dark windy road without sidewalks from the Inn.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews