We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super place for breakfast on Lummi Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Store Cafe

Beach Store Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super place for breakfast on Lummi Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

While staying at the Willows Inn, we had two breakfasts at the Beach Store Cafe. Both were terrific -- fresh tasty food, great "bottomless cup" coffee and a lovely location. I wish we'd had a chance to have a lunch or dinner there as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sweet Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped in for a beer and snack -- they were out of the yummy clam chowder (a real shame), so I opted for a simple, handmade, delicious pizza! Very clean, simple, well prepared and priced food! Staff was excellent! Don't miss this on your next visit to Lummi Island!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mint427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne VIC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was out from Australia visiting my brother and his family in Seattle when by chance we found Lummi Island on our way back from Vancouver. We had an early dinner at the beach Store Cafe and could not believe how great the food and service was. The Pork and Beef meatloaf was absolutely delicious and I cannot stop thinking about it. On Tess's recommendation, we tried the Roasted Brussel Sprouts (even though we usually do not like them) as they are a specialty of the cafe. They are roasted with garlic, chili, lemon,coriander and fish sauce - sooo yummy. I would definitely go out of my way to visit the Lummi Island Beach Store cafe again. The ferry trip is quick and regular and well worth the reward of food on the other side. Apart from the food, it is a beautiful island to visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank didi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This cafe is just one of the best. Though it is on an island, it is easy and fast to get here. A mere 6 minute trip on a tiny ferry puts you quite close to the cafe. Walk in and enjoy the clean and nicely appointed interior. The menu is good and the food is prepared and presented well . But, it is the service that excels. The wait staff is friendly, attentive, and prompt. They give this place a friendly and fun atmosphere. And, there is live music that draws a crowd changing the atmosphere to one of revelry and enthusiasm. Lost of experience along with this good meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
168 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good 2nd choice from The Willow Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a typical hippie type restaurant that has above average food. If you are staying at the Willlows Inn and don't want to spend the $ to eat well this is definitely the best alternative.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Store Cafe also viewed

Lummi Island, San Juan Islands
Lummi Island, San Juan Islands
 

Been to Beach Store Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing